We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ikweta Safari Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ikweta Safari Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ikweta Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Kyoto, Japan
Reviewed 1 February 2017

great place . very close to the park so you can enjoy it until the last moment. luxurious tent/house food is great too. if you have a small budget for your trip, this is the right place and park to spend a little bit more than usual.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lacroix_marriage
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We value your rave review as much as we value your stay at iKWETA! We have made a deliberate effort from the start to offer an affordable safari luxury option at Meru Park, one of Kenya’s most beautiful national parks. Our tents are all customized in style each offering its own en suite bathroom and large veranda. The bedrooms in...

Pelham Manor, New York
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Our stay at the Ikweta safari camp was the long anticipated start to 2017 and the family trip of a lifetime. While the location is amazing, located very near Meru game reserve, we were overall disappointed in our stay in the camp. On the plus side the lodging was very lovely. The tents are very nicely appointed, the beds extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

As you were part of the group of the previous Reviewer, we appreciate your positive remarks concerning our “lovely” Camp with its convenient location - some minutes from the main gate of Meru Park, our “well-appointed tents and comfortable beds” and nice en suite bathrooms. As you have noted, we pride ourselves on our friendly staff that go the extra...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Very simple food nothing special even for new years eve. No Internet. Hardly any warm water. Cloudy pool. Rooms not very clean but roomy and good beds. Price good also safari arrangements. Very close to Meru park which is amazingly good but only take cash. Big problem and we weren't informed. Last 10 km of road to the camp the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joakimharlin
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We enjoyed your stay at iKWETA over the New Year. It is always a boost for us to host happy families and groups - seeing guests make the most of their stay at iKWETA. Your spotlight on our affordable rates is much appreciated. iKWETA Safari Camp offers affordable rates throughout the year. You can easily see this from our regular...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We liked Ikweta Safari Camp because, although designed for tourists it wasn't in anyway touristy. Situated just outside the reserve it gives an authentic experience of living in a tented camp without roughing it. The food is excellent, the staff friendly as are the owners. Just be aware that the camp is in a totally different part of the world...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

iKWETA Safari Camp has been conceived and designed just as you say with simple elegance, safari luxury and convenience in mind. We have worked hard to nurture our natural environment so as to offer an authentic safari experience. Our tents are set on elevated stone foundations, they are spacious and airy and commune with nature. Each tent has its own...

San Diego
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Wonderful facility very close to national park entrance. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable and well-appointed. Pool for cooling off after game drives. Meals well prepared and tasty. No nearby access to cash. Rains can result in insect proliferation. Frogs help but charming croaking may bother some. Confirm add-on prices up front (game drives, etc.).

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebbysdad
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

It was great having you at iKWETA, we had been looking forward to your stay. Your review and kudos are most appreciated. As part of our corporate social responsibility, we collaborate fully with other key stakeholders in fostering sustainable private-public partnerships. Included is sharing the benefits of tourism within the local community. Although most of our guests come through tour...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Ikweta was the perfect base to explore Meru. The staff were really friendly and food delicious! Meru is stunning, it's not as crowded as other parks but has all the animals and a fantastic rhino sanctuary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hindacrosbie
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Thrilled that you found iKWETA a “perfect base to explore” Meru Park and its striking natural beauty and abundant wildlife. As you observed Meru Park is still off the beaten track. Safari-goers like yourself appreciate exploring the wilderness and siting amazing wildlife. The Rhino sanctuary is vast and home to a large number of black and white rhinos. Hope you...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We visited Ikweta Safari Camp for two nights in October 2016. The drive from Nairobi was long and bumpy and I was not feeling well after a bad stomach infection. The relief on finally arriving over 7 hours later was big and real. The welcome was warm though and the room lovely. the staff could not have been more helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmn5
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

We were all concerned upon your arrival at iKWETA and eager to get you back on your feet. We were happy to see you perking up and beginning to enjoy your stay at iKWETA and Meru Park. By choice we are a small camp and this offers opportunity for us to personalize our service. We would have loved for you...

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 15 November 2016

After the check-in, where the whole place seemed extremely unorganized, I was positively surprised by the place. It was a nice and friendly place to go for a weekend. The food (apart from dessert) was also a very positive experience. I would definitely recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonna79Nairobi
ikweta1, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Your recommendation and positive experience at iKWETA means a lot to us. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and relaxed camp. We apologize for the check-in procedure. As part of our social responsibility, we try as best we can to offer employment opportunities to young Kenyans who have been trained in hospitality. Unfortunately, after your visit we had to...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 October 2016

First the good - Nice value safari camp, well set up for kids, groups and familes. Nice swimming pool and hang out area. Very comfortable tents, lots of thought put into making them stylish and fun. The food was very good, and the staff friendly and helpful. Since we were a couple the staff worked hard to set up a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladyswashbuckler
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Your review resonates with iKWETA. Yes, indeed we are trying to offer affordable safari luxury and value for money. More and more guests like yourself are appreciating this. Concerning our meal offerings, since accommodations at iKWETA are on a Full-Board basis, all the menus are carefully planned and purposively varied. As a matter of practice, guests are always informed what...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Amazingly affordable luxury tented camp, minutes for Meru national park. The owners welcomed us with open arms, providing us with insight into the area and the camp itself. The "tents" were more like plush hotel rooms , with quality furnishings and bathroom suites. The pool provide the opportunity for much needed cooling off between game drives, whilst the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank askltk
Ikweta-Safari, Owner at Ikweta Safari Camp, responded to this review

Most appreciate your review recommending iKWETA as an affordable and convenient base for discovering the amazing wilderness of Meru National Park, one of Kenya’s most beautiful and truly pristine national parks. Since opening our camp in November 2011, we have been welcoming guests like yourselves who value our efforts to offer safari luxury accommodation and services at affordable rates. Many...

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (59)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meru National Park
35.5 mi away
Alba Hotel Meru
Alba Hotel Meru
#1 of 5 in Meru Town
126 reviews
7.0 mi away
Rhino River Camp
Rhino River Camp
#3 of 6 in Meru National Park
135 reviews
10.2 mi away
Elsa's Kopje
Elsa's Kopje
#1 of 6 in Meru National Park
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
Murera Springs Eco Lodge
#4 of 6 in Meru National Park
38 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ikweta Country Inn
Ikweta Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Maua
13 reviews
8.7 mi away
Leopard Rock Lodge
Leopard Rock Lodge
#5 of 6 in Meru National Park
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Ikweta Safari Camp

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
iKWETA Safari Camp is by choice a small owner-operated intimate camp offering personalized service and safari luxury accommodation. Located just 2 km from the Murera Gate of Meru National Park, iKWETA is a year-round destination and a convenient base for exploring both Meru and Kora, two of Kenya's national parks to offer a complete wilderness safari experience. iKWETA offers ten spacious canvas tents on elevated permanent foundations with thatch roof overlay of doum palm (Hyphaene thebaica) indigenous to the area. Tents are tastefully decorated in safari-style with high quality furnishings. Each tent is designed with an airy-by-day and cozy-by-night bedroom area separated by a natural stone wall from the bathroom en-suite, with walk-in shower and toilet. There is a writing table and safe box in every tent. All tents face East for guests to enjoy the spectacular sunrise over Meru National Park from the comfort of their beds. Each tent has a private verandah. There is free WiFi at all tents. You can sip your early morning steamy hot Kenya coffee or Kenya tea on your private veranda, while you Facebook or Tweet as the sun rises over Meru National Park. Tents are amply fitted with electric power sockets for guests to be able to power their laptops or charge their electronic devices and camera batteries. Our large Swimming Pool is delightfully warmed year round by glorious sunshine. Our "Two Zebras Restaurant" serves all meals to order using fresh produce grown in the Camp's own Greenhouse and on iKWETA Farms. We offer international and vegetarian cuisines as well as children's menus. No night time blackouts or '10:00 o'clock night-curfews": There is mains electricity backed-up by a high-capacity generator. If you are awaked by the sounds of nature you can snuggle under your duvet and read or watch movies on your iPad or DVD. Your main attraction will be spectacular game drives through Meru National Park, one of Kenya's most beautiful and truly pristine national parks and the land of the "Big-Five" - elephant, rhino, lion, buffalo and leopard. With over 400 bird species reported, the park is also a birdwatchers' paradise. There are also interesting places in the vicinity of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area. Nature walks to the Gatwe ("Skull") Hill for panoramic and spectacular views of the Meru-Kora Conservation Area and the Nyambene Hills. Accommodations are on Full-Board basis (all meals included as well applicable taxes). Since opening for business in October 2011, iKWETA Safari Camp has hosted many foreign and domestic film crews. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ikweta Safari Camp

Address: Murera Gate, Meru National Park 60600, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Eastern Province > Meru National Park
Price Range: £96 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ikweta Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ikweta Safari Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ikweta Safari Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the tents are the same. So I have no tip.”
  • view
  • the tent
 of 5 bubbles schliek, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the tents are private and face east to watch the sun rise.”
  • Our tent with amazing morning view
 of 5 bubbles 484maried, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Zebra room.”
 of 5 bubbles ebbysdad, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring bug spray, no nets in the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ladyswashbuckler, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the far end of the reception provide a nice experience especially at night”
 of 5 bubbles Waithaka_Waley, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5