We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mnarani Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Mnarani Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 478: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrible service and management at this place. No appetizers allowed in the bar area which is adjacent to the dining hall.... seriously?? It was like we were children. Are you trying to lose money??? Rooms are decent and clean, but we had difficulty getting hot water. Food was absolutely atrocious at breakfast every day. Most people in our group of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J C
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

..and so we decided to check out this spot esp. for its water sports and Ofcourse some decent lunch for the Kids and old folks. The service was pathetic with no apologies. That food was not good either. Worse, you pay for all activities in advance, get to the beach and it's a whole different story...what they market isn't there...that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nduati
henkmnarani, General Manager at Mnarani Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Nduati, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that the day at Mnarani was not to your liking. We strive to give good service to all our guests. As i investigated your claims, it came to light that you were informed about the fact that the day pass you paid for include a buffet lunch...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were served awful lunch at the beach restaurant at mnarani club that departed in quality from that at the main restaurant. Terrible grilled fish n chips served cold, semi cold drinks charged at a premium price!!! From a party of 11 people we said never again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
henkmnarani, General Manager at Mnarani Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Nduati, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that the day at Mnarani was not to your liking. We strive to give good service to all our guests. As i investigated your claims, it came to light that you were informed about the fact that the day pass you paid for include a buffet lunch...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful diamond in the rough in Kenya. Everything you could want in a magical getaway. Wonderful management team - thank you Henk and Elma. Friendly, funny staff who become friends before you know it. Turquoise water for all those aqua bunnies. An earthy spa with delightful therapists - thank you Caroline and Lucy! A beach bar to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TracyDan102013
henkmnarani, General Manager at Mnarani Hotel, responded to this review

Hallo Tracy, Thank you for taking the time to write such a awesome review. It was a real pleasure to have you here. We hope that we will see you in the near future again for sum more "Sun, sea, infinity pool, real people, best relaxation"

Timau, Rift Valley, Kenya
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Henk and Elma are one of the nicest couples around and look after this place really well! Such good value for money - not expensive so don't expect much, but the rooms are nice and simple, they have one of the nicest pools on the coast! Food is average but acceptable! We come here every year and will keep doing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
Thionville, France
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We've just got back after a month in Mnarani, a very good stress free holiday right from the point of being picked up at Mombasa airport by the hotel transport. Most of the staff is the same, and its nice to be remembered from last year ( for good reasons I hope ). The food has always been good, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyP90
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I attended a cocktail party. We were received well. They have good facilities with access to the beach. it's located at the Kilifi creek, the beach is not good for swimming, but if you would like to have a cool breeze; it's a nice place to go. I liked the pool though- very calming

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tabiii
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We first visited about 10 to 15 years ago and it was very nice. I was a little reluctant about coming back as I usually find the 2nd time isn't as good. However this visit has changed that completely. This place has gone from very nice to excellent. We had a creek room which was really nice and serviced by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beaubleep
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 19 November 2016

I still love this place. Its location overlooking the creek gives me such peace. The space to do anything and everything is hard to find in coast hotels these days. You can jog within the hotel complex and have a good sweat, swim all day long the infinity pool, do water sports or take a boat ride to wherever -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abiria
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Clean, welcoming and safe place with kind well trained people trying to accomadte you well. Also certainly worthwhile to mention is the food which was tasty, had a good variation and turned out to be safe. I only missed a TV in the room to watch sport (there is one in the bar); WIFI is a bit unstable if not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franciscus S
henkmnarani, General Manager at Mnarani Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Franciscus, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Mnarani Club, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your feedback on the meals. We are planning on install TV’s in the rooms early next year and we are also working on getting a Fiber internet connection onto the...

493 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (485)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
19.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
5.4 mi away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#4 of 5 in Kilifi
24 reviews
18.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 25 in Watamu
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
694 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
4.9 mi away
Baobab Sea Lodge
Baobab Sea Lodge
#3 of 5 in Kilifi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the cliffs of Kilifi Creek, just where the creek meets and merges with the Indian Ocean, Mnarani provides perfectly for the beach and turquoise ocean under one foot and the activity and adventure of creek-life under the other. Kilifi lives and breathes the gentle sea breeze, at the edge of the ocean, between Malindi and Mombasa. Set in 40 acres of landscaped tropical garden, fragranced by Frangipani blossoms and balmy ocean breezes, Mnarani is an idyllic retreat and holiday destination. Mnarani offers you the true African experience with excellent service always offered with a smile. Explore the coast north of Mombasa and take advantage of the brilliant diving and sailing opportunities. Daily entertainment and fine cuisine complete your fun filled days and make for an excellent holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mnarani Hotel

Address: B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Price Range: £90 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mnarani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Mnarani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Hotel Kilifi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mnarani Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Mnarani Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The sea view room is great for sunrise pictures and close to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles TracyDan102013, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra and have a creek room”
 of 5 bubbles pinkdiva66, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors offer the best view to the beach side and the sunrise on early mornings”
 of 5 bubbles PatrickA49, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second floor, Best view room# 32,33.34”
 of 5 bubbles DavidZ640, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Creek view is nice - also quieter because you don't have others' aircons to listen to”
 of 5 bubbles mcwcBaku, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay