We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Isibindi Zulu Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of Isibindi Zulu Lodge
 Click to rate
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a gem! Everything about this beautiful lodge was perfect, from the beehive -shaped individual lodges, to the picnic on the reserve watched by giraffe and zebra. Plenty to do on site plus the opportunity to spend evocative day seeing the sheer scale of Isandlwana and Rorke's Drift made this an excellent introduction to Africa. Nicole, Marnus and team could...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateOD_10
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. The Battlefield area is very special steeped in history and what better way than to spend it at Isibindi Zulu Lodge. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite tucked away, but the directions provided were excellent. The actual game drive was disappointing with a lack of game to find. All staff really friendly and helpful and the accommodation was well kept. The Zulu evening was excellent with the local children putting on a great display.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 671barryg
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the cultural experiences. Isibindi Zulu Lodge has Plains Game, so unfortunately you will not find the big 5 there. We suggest you visit Rhino Ridge Safari Lodge in Hluhluwe iMfolozi, perhaps this will give you the game experience you are after. Best Regards, Dee Wilson

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

6 secluded Zulu styled huts set in a lovely location Food was first class We were taken on a game drive and walk and were thrilled to see many giraffes close up Good location to visit the Rorkes Drift battlefield All the staff were helpful

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive C
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thilled you had such a fabulous time and got to see Giraffe close up like that.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had the most wonderful two night stay. The first night after a safari it became very cold and we were made to feel very special with dinner inside and a log fire. Nicole and her husband spent lots of time talking with us and answering all our question. The staff were a delight. We spent the second day with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickey39
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled you had such a fabulous time. Our staff do go out of their way to make guests feel special and its wonderful when guests recognise that. We hope to see you again in the not so distant future.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We were made so very welcome and every detail had been arranged as we had requested. Our room was perfect with wonderful views. The staff were helpful and answered all our questions. They made us feel very special. It was enjoyable to have the manager and her husband spend time talking to us they were able to answer all our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidrH2608QJ
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We would love to have you back. Maybe think about Christmas 2017?

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

In a superb location with outstanding views this lodge has luxurious individual accommodation, delicious meals, great facilities and attentive staff. Be warned about the battlefield tours though. Both Rorke's Drift and Isandlwana have self guided routes and museums, perfect for those who want an informed account of the events. Booking a tour cost over £50 each plus site admission cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trenorslf
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback and advise to future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your trip.

Berkshire
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Very friendly and welcoming manager, staff also very friendly and helpful. It is a wonderfully restful and tranquil spot. We had room no 3, which had great views over the valley. We were only there 24 hours, but felt very rested and unwound even in that short time. Good bush walk, excellent food. They also managed to make me some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoolsBerkshire
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff have a reputation for going out of their way and we are glad you appreciated it. Regards, Dee Wilson Marketing Assistant

Eshowe
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We had such a lovely stay. Staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. Bruce really goes the extra mile to ensure guests are comfortable and happy. Isibindi Zulu Lodge is the perfect place to relax and recharge :-)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JewaskiewitzM
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

It is a wonderful tranquil place to relax and recharge. Glad you enjoyed it. Please visit us again soon.

cheltenham
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. In the middle of nowhere but is in its own reserve. The design of the accommodation is very different and a change from the usual hotel room/suite. We enjoyed a game drive with Linda who seemed very knowledgable about the animals and flora & fauna. Bruce the manager was very helpful. The food was ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chickincheltenham
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

It is a unique experience and one that hopefully will remain in your memory for a long time. We are glad you enjoyed yourself.

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Very beautiful room, nice view, great food . We regret it was not possible to walk by our own in the reserve as it was written in the book in the bedroom. No possible to ride on MTB. The management didn't propose any activities ????

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevmar2015
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. Perhaps there was a miscommunication because there always is a host of activities for guests to partake in. We are sorry this wasn't communicated to you and going forward we will ensure that guests understand what their options are if they cannot walk or mountain bike for specific reasons. Regards Dee Wilson

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rorke's Drift
9.1 mi away
Isandlwana Lodge
Isandlwana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Isandlwana
200 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fugitive's Drift Lodge and Guest House
4.6 mi away
Rorke's Drift Lodge
Rorke's Drift Lodge
#2 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rorke's Drift Hotel
Rorke's Drift Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rorke's Drift
201 reviews
3.8 mi away
Elandsheim Retreat
Elandsheim Retreat
#1 of 1 in Elandskraal
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Battlefields Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Isibindi Zulu Lodge

Address: C/- Isibindi Africa Lodges, 52 Osborn Road | Isibindi Game Reserve, Rorke's Drift, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Rorke's Drift
Price Range: £263 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Isibindi Zulu Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Isibindi Zulu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isibindi Zulu Lodge South Africa/KwaZulu-Natal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Isibindi Zulu Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Isibindi Zulu Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“After 45 years of marriage we finally got the honeymoon suite! It give gorgeous views, especially at sunset, over the terrain and was very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles KateOD_10, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Open the doors in the morning, sit in bed with a cup of tea and enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles davidrH2608QJ, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely with private settings.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyOLeisure, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Each room has incredible views”
 of 5 bubbles HillyBull, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't go you will be dissapy”
 of 5 bubbles Sally537977, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5