We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hanging Gardens of Bali

Booking.comUS$554*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hanging Gardens of Bali
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hanging Gardens of Bali
See the most recent reviews
Showing 985: English reviews
Orange, California
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The resort itself is fantastic. We had a bungalow at the top with a private plunge pool. As others have said, it's a distance from Ubud but we never had trouble getting a shuttle. We were only there three nights and between visiting Ubud and another day seeing the island, we wished we had more time to explore the resort...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samndjsdad
Leeds UK
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights unexpectedly after a disaster of a hotel in Seminyak ( we left soon after booking in). Our stay here with some friends was very good. The staff, the surroundings, the food and the day trip with Baggi, the driver were all beyond expectations. All in all a wonderful stay and consequent upon this we booked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaxUK49
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Recently we spent 3 wonderful nights at Ubud Hanging Garden. We loved it there;the views are breathtaking with stunning temple we could enjoy to see from the restaurant and the famous 2-tiered main pool which is spectacular...out of this world. Our room is very comfortable with our own plunge pool. The cuisine was delicious and presented beautifully, we were very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ExpatOnTheBlock
San Diego, California
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had an amazing 4 night stay at Ubud Hanging Gardens. We arrived late afternoon and decided to stay at the hotel for dinner our first night - a great decision as our mushroom veloute with truffle oil, lamb kebabs and Australian steak were way more than expected. My medium steak was cooked to perfection and the presentation of all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald S
Melbourne
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at Hanging Gardens for 3 nights, it was my partners gift to me for my 40th birthday. Given this, I came with no expectations. There are so many wonderful things about this resort such as the large infinity pools, the picturesque environment, the river, and the mountains, the monkeys but unfortunately this is where the five stars stop....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tez99
hotelmanagement_8, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review

Dear Tez99, Thank you for your honest comments which both highlight areas that can be improved as well as areas in which we excel. Your balanced review is highly appreciated and will be instrumental in a change of focus for our property. Kind regards

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I always choose staying at Orient-express hotels when I am traveling. It's my 3rd night stay and I would say I have had the worst experience here. Though the hotel has the great view over the river and jungle and the amazing infinity pool, I will NOT come back here again. 1. The Wifi in the room did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wenjing_GWJ
Paris, France
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We are actually staying on this hôtel so i CAN tell That besides ils breathtaking view, the hotel is not worth neither its price, nor its 5 stars. As Many other travellers have experienced before me staying in this hotel, thé heated pool was never heated, the air conditioning was not working inside the room and the worse of all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mya S
hotelmanagement_8, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review

Dear Mya S Thank you for your kind words about the employees at Ubud Hanging Gardens, however I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We endeavor to offer excellent service to all our guests but seemed to have failed you. As mentioned in a previous comment, all our private pools are heated to 29deg C...

Burley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have to say that we were very excited about going to the Hanging Gardens. My partner and I are in Bali researching hotels for our wedding in January. Our friends in Bali told us about the hotel so we set off in high spirits for a late lunch. The hotel was quite hard to find so we arrived a...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Jupityjupe
hotelmanagement_8, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review

Dear Jupityjupe I am sorry that I did not meet you during your short visit on Sunday afternoon. Our chef and I discussed the issues you had with your meal and the miscommunication with our service staff and have addressed it accordingly. I trust that you will enjoy the rest of your stay in Bali and that you may still...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I couldn't dream of a better place for a honeymoon or special vacation. This place is INCREDIBLE. Our villa was the most beautiful room I've ever stayed in. The deck had our own warmed plunge pool. My hubby and I spent our evenings just looking at the stars and listening to the sounds of the jungle while swimming in our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tmo111
los angeles, ca
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The grounds at Ubud Hanging Gardens are stunning – one of the most beautiful places I stayed in Bali. But since the price tag is astronomical, especially for Bali, each minor detail is important, and when enough little things go wrong, a bad taste can be left in your mouth. One would expect a place like this to get the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sleepkak
hotelmanagement_8, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review

Dear Sleepkak Thank you for taking the time to review your recent one night stay at Ubud Hanging Gardens. Thank you for your kind comment about our grounds and the general beauty of our property. You are right, our two main swimming pools are not heated and when we have a lot of rain, (like we did in May) the...

1,997 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1758)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (241)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (193)
Viewed
Room/Suite (329)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from Room (97)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:45
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (741)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Panoramic Suite (42)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Dining (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
983 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
1,004 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
792 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hanging Gardens of Bali staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Hanging Gardens of Bali staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are amazing!”
inesc875, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All villas seem to be the same, but Panoramic have a more extensive and breathtaking view”
chrisfQ5774DN, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the best view facing the river valley gorge.”
756rickyl, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy everything that is offered in this hotel... you won't regret it!”
rgazzaz, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay longer than 2 nights because you will not want to leave!”
oanhl2014, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$554* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$642
Hotels.comUS$642
TravelocityUS$642
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates