We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Misty Mountain Villas

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Misty Mountain Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Unfortunately we did not have the chance to enjoy the visit. Leo and his family tried really hard in very disastrous weather. We booked and prepaid 2 nights, due to the other reviews, and I have to be honest and say it was not what we thought we were getting. It was definitely overpriced for what we got. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

Your comments have been noted . Yes, Nuwara Eliya is not the best place to visit during the rainy season. Misty, foggy, windy and above all - freezing. The rooms could get mouldy and damp and this happens in the Top No 1 hotel's as well. We have made arrangements to rectify these shortcomings. Reyal & Tarnia

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Wether was not good to us in nuwera eliya so at least we were lucky to stay here when it rained nonstop. rooms are nice, some with a fireplace and great views(when not misty) but the highlight is Leo and the staff- the food, the hospitalty and all the arragments u need to do like a ride to the train...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dotke
Tarnia J, Manager at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas. We also note that our Manager Leo treated you well . Thanks for visiting Misty Mountain Villas. Reyal & Tarnia

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights but wished we had come in a better weather it was rainy and cold. On arrival, we got a warm welcome from Leo & his family hot pot of tea, cookies and fire. Location : Ok.The main town is 20 mins from the place downhill. We had a driver and a car but he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank n s
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

Your comments have been noted . Yes, Nuwara Eliya is not the best place to visit during the rainy season. Misty, foggy, windy and above all - freezing. The rooms could get mouldy and damp and this happens in the Top No 1 hotel's as well. We are glad that Leo and staff treated you well with all the good...

Perth
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We loved being a part of this family guesthouse although we had to cut our visit short due to the terrible weather. Leo and his wife and children work hard to provide a good, friendly service, even though for us it meant they had to run in and out of the rain as it barely stopped at all during our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellight_8
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

Whilst noting your comments, we regret the cost incurred by you with regards to transport to the hotel Seems that there appears to be misunderstanding Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard As for TV, we have requested for installation but still a waiting a response from the company. Arrangements have been made to rectify these shortcomings....

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Although the weather was horrible (2 days non-stop rain), fluently Dutch-speaking(!!) Leo and his family gave us a warm welcome including a hot pot of tea, lovely ginger cookies and a fire. We were unlucky the weather wasn't on our side... Rooms got really cold (you do get good quality blankets) + some drips of water coming through the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maarten V
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

Whilst noting your comments, we regret to note that you did not enjoy your stay at Misty Mountain Villas due to the bad weather We note that our Manager Leo treated you well . Arrangements have been made to rectify shortcomings experienced during the rainy season. Reyal & Tarnia

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in Mountain Villa for a night in August 2013 and enjoyed it a lot. The Hotel is new and made with great care and style, the bathroom in the room is the best we had seen during our 2 weeks trip through Sri Lanka. Leo and his family are great hosts, though we had our own driver, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ProstoA
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas. Reyal & Tarnia

London
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was one of the best evenings we spent during our holiday in Sri Lanka. The owner Leo , is perhaps one of the nicest people we met on our travels. He offered us a warm cosy fire (needed that high up the mountain side) and one of the best home cooked dinners....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heyyouburgs
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas. We are also happy that our Manager Leo treated you well . Reyal & Tarnia

Reviewed 19 August 2013

remember to ask leo to arrange pickup (train station is around 10 km away). it was freezing cold in August. the warm tea and blanket leo provided (and the reggae music, and the free wifi) when we arrived immediately won our heart. :) and the view from the room is amazing, we almost decided to spend the whole afternoon sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vinci T
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and that our Manager Leo treated you well. Reyal & Tarnia

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and i recently stayed in Misty Mountain Villas.. What can I say...unbeleivable views of the entire town, Amazing food served up by the the chef/manager Leo... Leo is an amazing guy, he cooks, cleans, maintains the grounds and can organise pritty much anything you can throw at him, you name it he can do it. We stayed 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DavidDat
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and that our Manager Leo treated you well. Reyal & Tarnia

London
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the misty mountain villas near the end of April for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms are built within a cute, very well maintained garden and each room overlooks the nuwara eliya valley. It got chilly on a couple of the evenings and Leo lit a wood fire for us. Leo's English is excellent and he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank henster29
Tarnia J, Owner at Misty Mountain Villas, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Misty Mountain Villas and enjoyed the view as well. We are happy to note that our Manager, Leo made your stay enjoyable as well. Reyal & Tarnia

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#9 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nidwalden Resort
Nidwalden Resort
#2 of 165 in Nuwara Eliya
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Trevene Hotel
The Trevene Hotel
#6 of 165 in Nuwara Eliya
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hill Cottage
Hill Cottage
#13 of 165 in Nuwara Eliya
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the foot of the highest mountain of Sri Lanka Piduurutalagala. Sitting at the peak of this mountain lays a beautifully crafted property with stunning views. This marvelous retreat features very welcoming, comfortable and rooms with open log fires & modern facilities throughout. Luxury suite on top of the property has a spacious bedroom and bathroom with a spa bath and private balcony. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Villas

Address: No. 13 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £42 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Misty Mountain Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Misty Mountain Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floor deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles Queen_of_Beaches, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Look for a room overlooking the hills. Room no. 1 i think”
 of 5 bubbles AmeyaGanu, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Wifi isn't great here.”
 of 5 bubbles HopeV_12, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Second floor room for the family with 02 double beds had a very good bathroom and a common living room area with Tv”
 of 5 bubbles Roshie31, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“From Standard rooms, Room #03 gives great views.”
 of 5 bubbles ceylonerana, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5