We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sylvan Lake Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sylvan Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 325: English reviews
Wadsworth, Ohio
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins. They were very nice. There was lots of room. They even include a box fan so you can enjoy the outside air when it is cool enough. With the maturing of trees you can't see the lake from the lodge. That is the only disappointment. It is a great location in Custer State...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J M
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Joanne M, its great hearing from you how much you loved your cabin! Unfortunetly there isn’t much that we can do about the pine trees but I do have to say they really add to the beauty of the Black Hills. We’re thrilled to read your response and we can’t wait to host you here in Custer State Park again!!

New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Big shout out to Ramsey at the Front Desk who came to the rescue of a cross-country traveling mother and two young kids. We had a major hiccup in our itinerary the night before (a scary one actually) and we called Ramsey from the road and he was able to get us checked in early and took such good care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UpUpAwayLog
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

GigglesnHappy, we are so happy to hear that Ramsey did such a good job taking care of you! We encourage our staff to take care of our guests as if they were family and we are thrilled to hear that is just what he did. We thank you for your review and hope to see you again very soon!!

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Sylvan Lodge sits in the middle of Custer State Park, the center of the Black Hills and our destination for hiking Harney Peak, the highest mountain east of the Rockies at more than 7,200 feet. The trail begins almost within walking distance of the lodge. With architecture influenced by Frank Lloyd Wright and public rooms -- lounge, patio and dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andi E
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Andi E, you couldn’t be more spot on with your review. This area is completely surreal and is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature. We couldn’t be happier knowing that you loved your stay here and are thrilled to hopefully have such wonderful guests as yourselves return to us and enjoy this amazing area once again! Thanks so...

Jackson, MS
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed two nites at the Lodge. Our first morning,(three women and a 7 yr old girl) we had very cold showers! When we complained, the desk clerk assured us the problem would be fixed..no worries! We enjoyed our day sightseeing and when we returned to Lodge, called the desk and were assured the water problem had been repaired! Decided...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Irish44
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Irish44, thank you for your feedback about your stay here at Sylvan Lake Lodge. We’re sorry that it wasn’t up to your expectations. We did send our maintenance to investigate your hot water issue but they were unable to find a problem with it. In addition, we did not have any other complaints about hot water that day so we...

Arvada, Colorado
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We wondered how our lunch would turn out when we were very slow to be seated, and there were no diners in the lodge dining room, but were pleasantly surprised. A large tour group had just exited, so that may have been the explanation for the slow attention to our arrival. I would have preferred dining out on the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ehsincolo
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Ehsincolo, thank you so much for your review. We couldn’t be happier knowing you had a fabulous time here for lunch. We love delivering great service just as much as our guests love receiving it. We’re glad you loved that salad and just to let you know it’s a personal favorite of mine as well. Thanks again for your response...

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 2 August 2013

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bearturtle
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Capital region NYS
Reviewed 1 August 2013

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colleslaw
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 31 July 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Gering, Nebraska
Reviewed 31 July 2013

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hittentheroad
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewed 27 July 2013

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacki1950
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this review

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
9.6 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
174 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This accommodation is located on Custer State Park's Sylvan Lake. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sylvan Lake Lodge

Address: 24572 Sd Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730-5201
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvan Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Sylvan Lake Hotel Custer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sylvan Lake Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sylvan Lake Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a lake view, if wanted. They also have a limited number of suites (with a sofa).”
 of 5 bubbles DNvisitors, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if you stay in the lounge ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Lindak1221, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a balcony room.”
 of 5 bubbles Popeyebird, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with recent mattress replacement”
 of 5 bubbles LJScar, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from room 121”
 of 5 bubbles TampaNugget29, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5