We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Custer

Show Prices
#8 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Custer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 128: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by how nice this little motel was given how expensive others in the town were. Nice and clean room with comfortable beds, microwave and fridge. Everything functioned well, and we'd definitely stay again if we were in the area. The only problem was we'd asked for a quiet upper floor room, we did get an upper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellerstwo2016
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am so sorry to hear about the noise from the A/C next door at the forest service building. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We do hope you get back to the Custer area again and we will definitely give you a different room and an upgrade if possible. We are...

Fairmont
Reviewed 8 October 2016

The hotel has an excellent location In Custer. Have a simple breakfast that the folks at the hotel offer or head out the door on foot and chow down at one of the many establishments just a block or 2 away. Then head out N-S-E-W and explore the Southern Hills or Custer State Park or go long it is only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience. Our goal is for our guests to have a great stay and a wonderful time in the hills. Custer is centrally located in the Black Hills. We do hope we see you again, and ask us about our rooms with the hot tub! Thank you again.

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We spent three night here & were pretty pleased, especially with the price. The location is on the main street in Custer, & was handy for getting to Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Wind Cave National Park, etc. The room was comfortable, & had a refrigerator, which we hadn't expected. The indoor heated pool looked nice, although we didn't use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasClaire
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate your business and you staying with us. We are so happy you had a good stay and the location is so convenient to all the sights and activities in the Black Hills. I appreciate your feedback on breakfast. It is only a continental breakfast and we do offer fresh fruit and...

Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Centrally located, clean and relatively modern. Pleasant staff and indoor pool. My only tiny complaint is the somewhat mediocre complimentary continental breakfast. This was easily corrected at "Our Place" (see review).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Underpaid62
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate you staying with us and your comments and feedback. I am happy that you had a great breakfast at Our Place - the locals eat there also. We do try and offer fresh fruit and yogurt besides the usually continental breakfast items. We hope you had a wonderful...

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Nice little motel in downtown Custer run by a delightful couple whose welcome was both warm and friendly. Rooms were a good size, very clean and the motel itself was quiet. Prices are a little high but so is everything in the Black Hills area so that's to be expected. Nice cafe virtually next door who did a good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elevenfiftysix
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

We thank you for staying with us and are so happy to hear you had a good stay! We are in a located in a central location for all the attractions and walking distance to eating and shopping in Custer. We hope you had a wonderful time in the hills and that we see you again in the future.

pittsburgh, pa
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights (9/9 and checked out 9/13). It is in a perfect location for Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, etc. The room was very clean and comfortable - it has a refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave and hair dryer and the beds were comfy. And it has an indoor pool - small but good for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steelergirl87
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

We appreciate you staying with us! We always love to hear that our guests had a great stay. Custer and the Econolodge are centrally located in the hills to all the attractions. Thank you for sharing your experience and perhaps we will see you again in the future. We hope you had a great time in the Black Hills.

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Extremely clean rooms. Great value. Very friendly staff. Comfortable beds, but next time I will bring my own pillows. However, my teenager loved the pillows. Shower was really hot, which I liked. The breakfast that was included was good, but mostly carbs. Would have liked to see a bit more protein.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tlh1025g
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you for the great review. We are so happy you had a great stay. Enough our breakfast is a continental breakfast, we will look into some healthy, protein items that we could add. We hope you had a wonderful time in the Custer area and we look forward to seeing you again in...

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We went there for 4th of July. The room was clean and neat, very good service, friendly stuff. The Crazy Horse is very close from the hotel, Mount Rushmore is not very far either.Me and my family had a good time. I highly recommend going there, we had a lot of fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriana A
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

So glad you had a fun time while visiting the Black Hills area. We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post a review. I have shown my stay your review and we love hearing that our guests have had a good stay. The 4th of July is such a special time in the hills and Custer...

Lincoln
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I don't usually book the EconoLodge in the Choice Hotel chain, but based on reviews, I decided to take a chance. I was NOT disappointed as the hotel is very clean and updated. The staff is friendly and efficient upon check in, and helpful with suggestions for places to eat as well. This is so affordable for a really comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmk67
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. I wish we had more space in our breakfast area also! We just haven't come up with a way to enlarge it due to construction of the building. I am happy our staff was helpful and my housekeeping staff this summer has been the best. We do appreciate your business and so...

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Econolodge for one night on August 12th., 2016. Gerald checked us in and was very nice! We were very tired from a long day of travel, and he assured us our King room was the quietest one in the hotel. It was! Also, the room was SPOTLESS! I am pretty particular about cleanliness. This was one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hikerchik13
Glenda K, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great view and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate your kind words and I have shown your review with my staff. We take pride in our hotel. The front desk staff all live in custer and love the hills. It makes our job easy and fun. We do hope you...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.5 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#17 of 17 in Custer
225 reviews
11.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Custer

Address: 342 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1928
Region: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Custer 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custer Econo Lodge
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Custer
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Custer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the south are more off street and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 758bradw, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on the bottom floor, by the parking lot, and street, but heard nothing; very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles bmk67, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Seemed quiet except for bathroom creaking wall.”
  • Motel
 of 5 bubbles Phoenix52, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just tell Debra what you need and she will get it for you!”
 of 5 bubbles michaelrP5733LP, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 104 close to pool, front desk and breakfast...and it was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles kfs1919, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay