We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pension Margarete Hotel Garni

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pension Margarete Hotel Garni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of Pension Margarete Hotel Garni
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with small babies, especially if you trip by train and don't rent a car! We rested in this hotel for 9 nights and counted days to go home. The breakfast is the same day after day and not for little kids, our baby is 2,4 years , so he can't eat muesli, sausages....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel and are sorry that you did not like our pillows. We understand that you were not happy with the possibilities around the hotel. However, we would advise guests not to book a bed&breakfast-accomodation if you prefer half-board or apartment. Please also talk...

oman-sohar
Reviewed 5 October 2016

I Love Pension Margaret hotel too much.we enjoyed 4 nights with my cute wife. Really it was great and fantastic location.our room was at the top right corner. We thanks alot to Mr George and his family too. They are helpful, respected,Honesty and hospitality . The food is simple and fantastic for us. The room cleaning every day it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 201,554
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon in Zell am See so much and that we were a part of that! Maybe see you again next year! George

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed the stay with them , so friendly and helpful. Gorge is so nice and english speaker. Parking is free , breakfast is ok with good view. It give you a good privacy. I will back again soon to it..... Hope to enjoy so......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdulaziz A
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you, I hope we see each other again next year!

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel location was amazing and the balcony view was beautiful if you have a car , the place is recommended for you . You will get the summer card for free , Take a room at the valley side , to have a nice view .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank capitano 2
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the wonderful view on the valley side!

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great 2 days here. The owners were very kind and helpful. Good breakfast. Good location. A steep uphill walk from the town but here are regular buses and enough parking spaces too. We enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelenB60
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Rhe rooms are clean and nice, we had a spacious balcony. The staff was helpful and the service was excellent and very available for a smaller place like this. Location is good if you want to go up with the lifts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik A
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you, we are glad that you enjoyed our services in our family-run hotel!

Crediton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I'm so glad we decided to visit Austria and that we chose to stay at Pension Margarete. The whole holiday from start to finish was fantastic. Pension Margarete was very comfortable, clean and the room had a lovely view down to the lake. Everyone was very friendly and happy to help. There was a good selection for breakfast and (being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MightyVister
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, even if you had some "English weather" in between. Would be happy to have you back in wintertime! Kind regards, George

Zilina, Slovakia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Pension Margarete is situated only several meters from the ski cable car.This location is perfectly suitable for skiing.Pension has very pleasant staff (owner), breakfast is good, rooms are clean, parking is in front of the pension. I spent in this pension several days during the Easter,it was a good choice. Jaroslav M.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaro M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We are a young couple who are regular travellers and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, It was exactly what we were looking for. Excellently situated at the bottom of a great lift which takes you to the highest point of the mountain for a great mix of blue, red and black runs. It had a nice authentic feel, the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate that you enjoyed your stay so much!

Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 8 February 2016

excellent location- Pension is located next to the lift ,the rooms are clean, we had overlooking the lake, good breakfast, quite varied, very friendly and helpful staff. In conclusion, good price quality ratio

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela D
GJD83, Inhaber at Pension Margarete Hotel Garni, responded to this review

Thank you, Gabriela for your review! We are glad that you liked the view from your room, our breakfast and our service. We would be happy to have you back someday for another "Happy Holiday" :) George

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 45 in Zell am See
925 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 45 in Zell am See
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gartenhotel  Daxer
Gartenhotel Daxer
#5 of 45 in Zell am See
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 45 in Zell am See
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
AlpineResort
AlpineResort
#32 of 45 in Zell am See
133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 45 in Zell am See
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cosy 3-star pension directly next to the cable cars of Schmittenhöhebahn, trassXpress and Sonnenalmbahn in Zell am See! Ideal for skiers - no car/ski bus needed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pension Margarete Hotel Garni

Address: Schmittenstrasse 123, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Price Range: £69 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Margarete Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension Margarete Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pension Margarete Hotel Garni staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pension Margarete Hotel Garni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i love up rooms in corner.”
 of 5 bubbles 201554, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views”
 of 5 bubbles W7355JTmichaelh, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go for room with balcony and the valey view”
 of 5 bubbles AdamB547, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get a Zell am See summer card so you can explore the surroundings”
 of 5 bubbles peterkJ2122PD, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We love the rooms to the front of the hotel with balconies overlooking the ski lifts and view down the valley to the town.”
 of 5 bubbles R5928NMsteveg, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5