HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop

Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 12 inns in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Willkommen im Hotel Heitzmann im Zentrum von Zell am See, im Herzen der Alpen, zwischen der Schmittenhöhe und dem glasklaren Zeller See! Wir begrüßen Sie an der neuen Rezeption in Ihrem 4-Sterne-Aktiv- und Wohlfühlurlaub mit vielen Neuigkeiten! Draußen und doch drinnen sind Sie im renovierten Wintergarten, über den Dächern von Zell am See wartet die einzigartige Rooftopbar im stylischem Ambiente auf Sie. Frischer Wind bläst durch die Panoramasuiten, wobei auch die Doppelzimmer weiterhin mit Komfort und Gemütlichkeit punkten. Die Showküche am Frühstücksbuffet lässt Sie gestärkt in den Tag starten. Die Lifte auf den Gipfel der Schmittenhöhe, die Fußgängerzone, Bars, Restaurants und Shops, genauso wie den See, erreichen Sie in 5 Minuten zu Fuß. Entspannen Sie alle Sinne in der Sauna und im Dampfbad. Kommen Sie an und lassen Sie los. Das Hotel Heitzmann Team freut sich auf Sie!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Horseback riding
Ski school
Skiing
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Weissgerbergasse 1, Zell am See 5700 Austria
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
W. A. Mozart Airport
33.9 mi
See all flights
Vienna Intl Airport
183.8 mi
See all flights
270Reviews16Q+A73Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 149
  • 71
  • 26
  • 15
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Pat M wrote a review Mar 2020
Neasham
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying here as a Crystal Ski guest and cannot fault the place. ALL the staff are just so cheerful and helpful, from the cleaners, the waiters and bar staff in the most genuine way. Our group includes one vegetarian and one gluten free, the meals have all been superb.

The rooms have all clearly been updated in the last year or so and these were to a very good standard, there is a little bit of road noise but nothing major. The bar and dining areas are comfortable with plenty of seating for everyone.

Yes the boot room is a little small, but it is well laid out and heated boot racks ensure dry ski boots every morning. It's a five minute walk to the ski lifts.

Will happily recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heitzmann11, Manager at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Dear guest, thank you very much for your stay and your nice comments. We would be very pleased to welcome you again. Best regards Rudi Heitzmann (manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alistair F wrote a review Mar 2022
Ellmau, Austria
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is wonderful and has nearly everything that we could have wished for.
We stayed here for a week of skiing 5th to 12th March and were particularly impressed by the quality of the food and service.
The staff were efficient friendly and helpful.
Each evening dinner was a five course meal of a quality that any top restaurant would be proud of. The main course was selected from the menu card at breakfast. This hotel benefited from having a cosy and relaxing guest lounge where you could compare notes with the other skiers.
The bedroom was very clean and comfortable. We particularly liked the powerful modern shower and the memory foam mattresses on the Austrian twin bed.
The location of the hotel is very central for walking around the town.
We did not try the sauna so can not comment on it.
There were one or two minor negative points to consider. The ski and boot room is small and only one bench is provided in the corridor outside to sit on while changing your boots. The bedroom was quite small and there was no storage space for our cases so we worked around them all week. I suppose we could have put them on the balcony.
The street that the hotel is located on is small and narrow so we had to drag our skis and cases from the bus stop a couple of street away.
All together we had a very good stay and may consider returning for a summer visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel was always very warm so have light clothing for wearing indoors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michiela B wrote a review Mar 2020
Bath, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited this resort for our week skiing holiday & so glad we chose this hotel. The hotel lobby & bar are inviting & have a vast array of drinks, modern decor with a cosy seating area- lovely after a day on the slopes. The restaurant area is light & airy with comfortable seating, modern touches and rustic decor. The breakfast buffet was fully stocked & we were asked every morning for our choice of eggs or omelette. The dinner menu was five courses which you choose at breakfast & this was of a la carte standard- fabulous variety & well received every evening. The bedrooms are spacious and modern, robes and slippers provided with shower gel & hand wash. The staff here were professional and friendly & could give us information about the resort which was really helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone & if we came back to this resort we would all choose this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan wrote a review Mar 2020
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is close to the ski lift and town. The staff and food were amazing. We had a suite on the fourth floor which was spacious and very clean. The boot room was a little small but you can rent a locker at the ski lift if this bothers you. There’s a steam room and sauna. We would definitely return to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CarolineIrel wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my husband stayed here for a ski holiday. It’s the nicest ski hotel we have stayed in - extremely clean and so modern.

The rooms were nice with plenty of storage space and the bar is cosy! We chose half board and it was such good value for the quality of the food with great choices.

The staff here are incredible-all so friendly and a credit to the hotel.

The hotel is a 5 min walk to the CityExpress gondola which was ideal. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heitzmann11, Manager at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear guests, it´s a great pleasure for us to have such nice guests. We will forward your nice words to our team. Hope to see you again soon. best regards Rudi Heitzmann
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KKIRKP wrote a review Aug 2023
Glasgow
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a specific room at Hotel Heitzmann for a relaxing break in Zell Am See, an area new to us although we have visited Austria often. We were sceptical right from the start as the hotel is on a really busy main road and just feels dirty. The reception is not welcoming at all. We were provided with the keys to Room 100. This is reached via a shabby unwelcoming hallway with random picture hung randomly and at all angles. No modern keycard entry to the room, just a key which felt strange. On entry, we were horrified as this was not only not the room we had booked, but I would suggest it is the most basic room in the whole hotel if not Zell Am See. There is a balcony which is above the hotel entrance and right next to the busy road. The noise in this room is horrific! There are traffic lights a few metres away and the room is totally filled with the noise from revving engines and cars blasting horns because the lights have changed. It feels as if the cars/lorries/buses/motorbikes/tractors are literally in the room. The noise and the fumes which you could taste were a total nightmare. The room itself consisted of a bed with the thinest 1 pillow each imaginable and 1 random, thin red cushion each (I was forced to stay for one night and I had to put the bath robe under both). The bathroom had a cracked floor tile and the soap had run out. There was no attempt at decorating the room. Our welcome pack consisted of 2 Earl Grey teabags, 2 coffee sachets and 2 UHT milk portions. Wow - thanks!
Breakfast was chaotic, with too many tables squeezed into the breakfast area which was too small. The staff were rushed off their feet and the whole experience was stressful. The food was unappealing although I did have a yoghurt pot which was nice. The breakfast problem was exacerbated by a lack of seating arrangements. This resulted in Arab men choosing to occupy tables to themselves while they scrolled through their phones. Their families were at different tables. We managed to find perhaps the last table and stayed in the room as little time as it took to eat my yoghurt.
The rooftop bar is shabby and feels dirty, not at all a place you would want to spend any time.
We did see other rooms in the hotel and they looked like the ones in the photo's but ours most definitely did not. The hotel told us that you can never open the windows in these rooms at night because of the road noise.

We complained and were moved on Day 2 to a different hotel by our tour operator.

If you are looking for a sleepless, soulless, chaotic hotel experience - this is the hotel for you. I give this hotel one star, only because there is not an option for zero star.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rudolf Heitzmann, Inhaber at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop
Responded 31 Aug 2023
Dear Guest! Thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear that you did not like our location in the center of Zell am See. We would just like to briefly mention that the travel agency did not rebook you because of a defect in the hotel, but because they could no longer hear your incomprehensible complaints. The in-room coffee was not a gift to you, but a standard amenity that all our guests receive daily. Your TEAM from HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alwayslooking wrote a review Feb 2022
West Sussex
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with Crystal Ski and it was OK. It is listed as Crystal Finest. I think it's fine but to describe it as "finest" is stretching the definition a bit! On the plus side, the staff are absolutely excellent. The location is superb, 4 minutes walk to CityExpress Gondola and 5 minutes to the lake. Wifi was good except in the dining area.

When we were there the food started off promisingly (4 star quality) but tailed off as the week went on to the sort of meals we've experienced in 2 star hotels, adequate but simply not "finest". The room was OK, big enough but the beds terrible. Sunken memory foam, remembering the previous guests! Plus a waterproof mattres cover meant both of us suffered the worst night sweating ever. The Jacuzzi bath was nice though.

Now to the eco policy. In the room the sheets and towels were changed every day. While that's nice, and we appreciated new sheets after our hot nights we were not given the choice to keep even unused towels.
The whole hotel was unnecesarily hot. On arrival we turned our radiator off and the window remained open 24/7. I never wore more than the thinnest t-shirt day and night. Other guests commented on this too.
Finally they refused to let us drink tap water at meals. The best tap water in the world and it wasn't allowed. I know this is an Austrian thing but to cart single use glass bottles up and down the alps in polluting lorries, is just so so wrong in so many ways. It's not about the money, I offered to pay them €5 for a 750ml caraffe of tap water, the same as I was charged for a bottle but alas my offer was refused.

Finally the bar was lifeless. Illogical Covid rules and a 2200 curfew didn't help but the selection of drinks was paltry. Plenty of bars close by in other hotels seemed to have worked it out better and were both busy and lively despite the rules.
So overall, not bad, not brilliant. Just fine. Good enough, no more.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vics S wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here on a Crystal Ski holiday in March 22. Rudi and the team at Hotel Heitzmann could not have made us feel more welcome. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and we had a lovely jacuzzi bath to relax in at the end of a hard days skiing. The restaurant served a fabulous 4 course meal every night and there was a cosy bar to have a pre dinner drink in. The buffet breakfast was equally good and a great way to start the day. There was a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the lake - the bar is closed in the winter but I can imagine it would be a wonderful place to enjoy a drink in the summer.
The hotel was centrally located and only a 5 min walk to the ski bus or ski lifts. There were many apres ski bars within staggering distance of the hotel. All in all I would heartily recommend Hotel Heitzmann and Zell am See.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WGWilsons wrote a review Mar 2024
london
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed on a half board basis. The food was plentiful. Nice buffet breakfast spread. With cooked to order eggs option

The half board option we added to our booking and was well worth it . Five courses each night we didn’t go hungry.

Close to the bus station for getting the ski bus to Kaprun and Saalbach .
Just check the bus timetable only one bus an hour to Saalbach.

Rooftop bar not open in the winter.

Comfortable rooms with Kettles and a fridge.

The Two Timez hotel next door was also booked by our party and just as comfortable but the Gin bar out the front could get noisy.

Take the half board option at both hotels if offered it’s well worth it
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Get the early bus to Saalbach. Right in the heart of the old town
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dan b wrote a review Feb 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was lovely, with a big bath and comfortabke for the 3 of us.
The food was interesting and sometimes good, but could be variable. Nice to hAve more selection in the kids menu, as pasta was default option! The salad bar was nice.
There was a notable staff shortage with frantic waitresses trying their best in very challenging circumstances. Sometimes the service was slow because of this.
The staff were very friendly and did get us extra pillows.
The main issue we had (ironic considering the energy crisis!) is the hotel is heated to tropical levels! We had out windows open all the time and after a winter with the heating down, could not believe how hot it was!
The only orher downside was slow wifi speeds in the rooms so I struggled a little to do any work. Probably not a bad thing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Open the windows on arrival
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Adam B
Venice, Italy1 contribution
Hi, contact your travel agency.
Answer from Heitzmann11
Zell am See, Salzburg, Austria
Dear guests. In our Suites and Junior Suites are iron and ironing board standart. For other room categories, just ask at the reception and they will brind it to your room. Best regards Rudi Heitzmann (manager)
Answer from Heitzmann11
Zell am See, Salzburg, Austria
The photos showing a bathroom with a corner jacuzzi are our Double Room VIP (Deluxe rooms). All other room categories have the grey and white theme in the bathrooms and they all have been refurbished. Best regards, HOTEL HEITZMANN****
Markthereviewer06 asked a question Mar 2017
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Why can't they open up the rooftop bar during the week
Answer from Heitzmann11
Zell am See, Salzburg, Austria
Dear Mark, the rooftop is open every day. Only the bar is open in winter once a week.
Markthereviewer06 asked a question Mar 2017
Dublin, Ireland2 contributions2 helpful votes
Why can't they open up the rooftop bar during the week
Brianandlucy wrote a tip Mar 2024
Hailsham, United Kingdom16 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Think about carrying all luggage and distance to buses and gondola if skiing "
Read full review
WGWilsons wrote a tip Mar 2024
london49 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the early bus to Saalbach. Right in the heart of the old town"
Read full review
Richard B wrote a tip Feb 2024
Portsmouth, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book this hotel if you are going to Zell am See"
Read full review
Lynne T wrote a tip Jan 2024
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom178 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Junior mini suites are worth the extra"
Read full review
dan b wrote a tip Feb 2023
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Open the windows on arrival"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zell am See area.
PRICE RANGE
£119 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsSalzburg RegionZell am See
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HEITZMANN - HOTEL & ROOFTOP - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop
Which popular attractions are close to HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
Nearby attractions include Lake Zell (0.2 miles), Zell Am See Kaprun (0.09 miles), and Ginhouse (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
Conveniently located restaurants include Deins & Meins, Brasserie Traube, and The Burger Factory.
Are there opportunities to exercise at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the centre of Zell am See.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Filialkirche Gerling - Kath. Pfarrkirche hl. Gotthard (4.6 miles).
Does HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Zell am See HotelsZell am See Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Zell am SeeHotels near HEITZMANN - Hotel & Rooftop
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire