We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Topaz Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Topaz Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 902: English reviews
Start your review of Topaz Hotel
 Click to rate
Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Malta is a beautiful island and worth visiting. This hotel is nice if you make many trips around the country and eat elsewhere. The pool area is ok but the rooms were dated. I would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenni L
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

👍

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was impressed by all the staff of the Hotel who were so helpful and gentle with us. Even the maids every day made sure that our room was immaculate. The waiters at the restaurant were always so friendly with our toddler :-) Our balcony overlooked the pool and the surroundings which made the view and our stay even more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank namacu
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Correct view and appreciated by the whole topaz team

St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just checked out today from the Topaz Hotel where we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay enjoying the hotel's amenities and very good breakfasts and dinners. The hotel was clean and staff were very friendly and offered very good service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phcmt
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much The topaz staff deserves it I would like to thank the clients, some even repeater clients, that informed us of their deleted reviews. Its good information for the topaz. Cheers

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have been staying here for 3 nights and I have not had one nights sleep . Noise from the nightclub across the road is impossible to sleep. The noise is so loud it is impossible to sleep . Our room is very clean and service every day . Room attendants are very lovely to talk to . Breakfast lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on the nice staff. The club/bar in question is not part of the topaz hotel. It is a licensed place and opens 2 times a week plus sunday morning. On local feast it may open. For the avid reviewers The topaz is a huge hotel and only 2% of the rooms may overlook this zeta bar....

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very large hotel, but staff extremely friendly and helpful.good indoor and outdoor pools, Buffet breakfast very well organised considering they cater for up to 500 guests. Facilities fine, hotel seems fine for adults , or for families with children. A very good value and friendly hotel , with especially noticable how friendly helpful and cheerful the staff all were.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enuf
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff, i thank you for saying the truth on our staff. Quite unlike a nasty false review below saying staff seem unhappy.! The topaz endeavours to make your stay value for money, with a smile. My staff is our core Many thanks again

Caerdydd
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been only for 3 night. Bed was very confi and hot water. Can not find free coffee in the morning in the room. Breakfast lots of choice. Internet very slow does not worked always. Clean hotel rooms....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vfeher_205706
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you To all reviewers and to be precise We offer free kettle free wifi that works, Fridge as per description We do not say free coffee in room!

malta
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took my family for a weekend break at the Topaz hotel Qawra Malta. The hotel is close to all emnities and location is in the centre. We found a very welcoming staff which seems to be very well trained andveducated. Food was excilent with a nice variety to choose from. Big rooms and very clean. The owner of hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ianmic
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Real nice to see people appreciate and not look for the minute details to criticize Cheers The topaz team

San Gwann Malta
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have booked a weekend break for me and all my family at Topaz Hotel Malta and was a fantastic place to be. The staff at the front desk and all the others were so kind and helpful. The workers at the restaurant been so kind to us, they even reserved a table in a quite place for us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you The staff at topaz makes it! The staff gets , at times, unduly criticized. Unfortunate , but intended to harm employees I stand behind my topaz team Cheers and see you again

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have used the topaz for the last three years. Sadly each year it it deteriorating more... we had to move room three times and even then the shower was barely functioning - would not have used the bath as bathroom was dirty/run down. Staff are fine but not exactly happy. Needs a refurb quickly and we will not be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sylvieford1
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

My trip advisor management response was taken off due to the phone number i gave. We have documented proof that this client booked her stay directly with us, without leaving a deposit, and finally did not show up!' Amazing to write a critical review when you never stepped in the hotel. What reason ? Well easy meat for sherlock Holmes!...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good value for money - had a great time. The food was great. Staff is friendly and offer a very good service. Can't wait to stay again. Rooms were very clean and the general atmosphere of the hotel is a positive one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
Robert A, Manager at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Thank u Our maltese market is ever growing. Our black friday offer of 88 euro for 4 nights on halfboard is valid for stays in febuary and march 2017. Just call us With thanks

714 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (481)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (177)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Apartment (42)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.9 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#6 of 16 in Qawra
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Topaz Hotel is a 326 room non-smoking 3 star hotel (as classified by the Malta Tourism Authority) that first opened its doors to customers in 1987. Situated in a quiet part of St. Paul's Bay (Geographical co-ordinates: 35.9469, 14.41209), 700 metres from Bugibba's main square and 800 meters from Bugibba's sea front promenade and its rocky beach. The Malta National Aquarium, the Empire Cinemas as well as the Bird Park are also in the vicinity of the hotel. The accommodation is split over 5 floors in three buildings (with an underpass linking two buildings) having six lifts and has rooms with balcony with internal residential street views or views of the outdoor pool (subject to a paid upgrade) as well as rooms without a balcony. All rooms include a bath or shower and the use of a fridge. A safe is available at a charge of €1.50 per room per day. A flat screen TV with various channels completes the room amenities. The rooms are air-conditioned and heated (times may apply) and rooms may be checked in from 14:00 and all rooms have to be checked out by 11:00. The hotel operates a 24/7 reception desk as well as a pub (closed in the summer months) and a restaurant serving self service buffet meals, a hairdresser, a massage parlour a souvenir shop, hospitality desks, vending machines with hot and cold drinks. The topaz is a free wifi hotel. all areas including the rooms have free wi fi access via facebook entry. The hotel has a multi-use area, 2 small conference rooms and a large hall. The hotel also provides a free four day a week service to Mellieha Bay during the summer months, bookable at the reception desk. The large outdoor pool, which was re-constructed in 1995, has free sunbeds for in-house clients. Bus stop "Pijunieri" is around 300 metres away from the hotel and can take you further north or towards Valletta. The Topaz hotel team wishes you a good stay with a good/price relation service. Anything we can do to ensure this kindly contact our duty managers, head receptionist, housekeeper, maintenance team member. The Topaz Hotel staff shall see to your requirements whilst you are still in resort as nothing can be done after your departure.Kindly contact our duty managers whilst in resort. Any requests for anniversary, birthday, newlyweds, special occasion presents, food and drink can be quoted separately by our catering department. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: Triq Censu Tanti, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 3025, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: £23 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topaz Aparthotel Hotel St. Paul`s Bay
Topaz Aparthotel And Casino
Topaz Hotel Malta
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Topaz Hotel staff and other travellers.
80 questions
Ask a question
Ipswich, United Kingdom

See all questions (80)

Questions? Get answers from Topaz Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Breakfast was awful.”
 of 5 bubbles 363jennil, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are quite spacious and the ones overlooking the pool offer a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles phcmt, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are quite and nice.”
 of 5 bubbles AdrianM709, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our corner room had 2 balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles macca1965, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pool view is an extra 5 euro per night. we didn't have great views out of our balcony, but no matter.”
 of 5 bubbles L3275FOsarahh, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5