We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunflower Hotel

Traveller (431)
Room & Suite (147)
Pool & Beach (65)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
76Somewhat walkable
Grade: 76 out of 100
212Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
16Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
984Reviews
556Photos
90Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 208
  • 359
  • 266
  • 104
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nice hotel with friendly staff, clean rooms and good breakfast. The pool is small but cozy. The centre with bars and restaurants is only 10 minutes walk away. The bar is open 24 hours a day, but it may require some patience for someone to show up to take your order. If in Malta
Read more
Response from JohnB16268, Front Office Manager at Sunflower Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 348simonv, Thank you for you review and we have noted your comments regarding the service at the bar. Regards,
Read more
Hotel and rooms spotless clean and well maintained. Check in was hassle free,room spacious with basic amenities but enough to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with unlimited tea, cofee,cold cuts,cooked section and delicious croissants. Also a cosy 24 hour
Read more
Response from JohnB16268, Front Office Manager at Sunflower Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Emanuel, Thank you for you review, it was a pleasure to meet you in person. Regards,
Read more
Great little hotel, friendly staff and good location just off the Main Street! Food OK would be better if a little warmer but apart from that all good and if we make a revisit to St Paul’s we would all stay again. Loved the late night debates with the nite barman the interaction
Read more
Response from JohnB16268, Front Office Manager at Sunflower Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear lorrainet321, thank you for you review and we are pleased to note that the sunflower meet your expectations and we have noted your comment regarding the food being served warmer. Regards,
Read more
Extremely bad hotel. Give one star as i can’t give less. General manager Jean Pierre when i complained alcohol is put in the kids pool said i will tell them bot to and you can take a pictire to see it is not true. If you want to complain write a complain I will answer you. This
Read more
Response from JohnB16268, Front Office Manager at Sunflower Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear DessiC, Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments but to get facts correct , when you went to reception to complain, reception was checking in a group of hearing impaired guests, you might not have been aware that these guests had hearing difficulties and you started shouting in reception in front of other guests because reception told you he will be with you in a few minutes as he was checking in the special needs group. as you where becoming hysterical he called the GM Jean Pierre and he came to speak to you but you where in such a state that you where not listing to what he and other staff members where telling you. We are a hotel and if guests wish to drink by the pool they may do so as long as no glass items are used, guests may drink from cans , plastic cups keeping in mind the safety policies of the hotel. Nowhere on our hotel information do we state that guests are not permitted to drink whilst they are by the pools. Regards,
Read more
Hotel was clean but towels not changed in 4 days. Reception staff looked disinterested and frosty. Receptionist and Manager had a heated row whilst we were stood at the desk awaiting attention, unprofessional! Parking limited, drove round 25 mins one evening looking for a place.
Read more
Response from JohnB16268, Front Office Manager at Sunflower Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Gillian, Thank you for your review, towels are changed on a daily basis when placed on the floor, if towels are left on the towel racks these are not changed as per Eco Certification requirements. We are looking into the incident you mentioned between the reception and manager. we offer limited parking free of charge which is on a first come first served basis. Our restaurant aims at trying to please the various different nationalities we cater for and is a matter of one's tastes buds. The area around the hotel is the responsibility of the Local Council which we keep contacting in order to try and improve the general area. Regards,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSunflower Hotel
The Superior Room at the Sunflower Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSunflower Hotel
The Standard Room at the Sunflower Hotel
view
notre chambre pas si mal
VISTA DESDE EL BALCON DE LA HABITACION
PreviousNext
12345630
There are several restaurants and bars down by the waterfront or the main street which runs in front of the church in front of the hotel.
0 votes
How much do things cost in Malta? Like eating out and drinks,?
Much cheaper than in the UK (well london and the south east for sure)
0 votes
Show all answers
No they don't.
2 votes
Show all answers
Can you hire fridges from here and if so how much do they cost. Thanks.
The electricity is connected to your room key which you take out when you leave your room so their is no electricity when out your room so no fridges
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345618
"avoid the 5th floors wi -fi poor"
"Book a superior room"
"Up grade room for small extra payment and get two balconies and tea and coffee facilities"
"Have breakfast a bit later to avoid the crowd."
"Upgrade to a superior room and purchase 3 meals together. Rooms at the front have a better view."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunflower hotel qawrasunflower hotel maltasunflower malta
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaQawra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing