We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunflower Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunflower Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

716 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunflower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 417: English reviews
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Whilst I enjoyed our stay at the Sunflower,some things could make it better.Malta is still a bit behind in standards.1 no mattress protectors or pillow protectors.2 Menu is weekly,so teeds to be a bit boring over 3 weeks.Still in their favour its clean,and serviced well.Sunloungers need upgrading most of them were broken. Malta is still our favorite place as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickyp44
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments about our hotel. I will be sharing your review with my colleagues on the management team in view of improving our product and services. I also take this opportunity to offer you our assistance with any future booking you may have to our hotels. Best regards...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I are due to visit The Sunflower for perhaps the 12th time on June 5th and we cannot wait. For such a reasonable price, the hotel is more than adequate and has such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. It has a lovely rooftop pool and the pool bar has beautiful snacks for ridiculously cheap prices. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevin j
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin J. Thank you for your repeat custom and for sharing your experience at the Sunflower Hotel with other reviewers on TripAdvisor. Your most favourable comments about our product and services are truly appreciated. Above all, we really look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and Marketing Manager Hotel Sunflower

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very pleasant staff at check-in. 6 floors of rooms. I was on the 6th. 7th has a sun deck and pool. 1 lift which always seemed to arrive within a minute of waiting. Pleasant room with balcony. Hot water at all times. Good choice of breakfast food and only 3 Euros for a cooked breakfast. I was in room 617...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophieni209
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sophieni209, Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments concerning our hotel. I will discuss the issue of the barking dogs with my colleagues on the management team so that we will take action on the matter (although, as you rightly mention) these dogs do not belong to the hotel. In the meantime...

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here with my partner from 24th March until the 1st of April. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome the moment we walked through the door and although we were almost 2 hours earlier than check in time they made sure they got us a room straight away. As we went to Malta out of season and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megansusie
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Megansusie, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, to share your recent experience with other reviewers and for your most favourable comments about our hotel and our staff. I will share your review with our staff as such reviews are constantly a source of encouragement for them. I the meantime I also hope that...

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Overall, this is a good hotel. The rooms are relatively spacious and clean. The staff are polite and always greeted us with a smile. The location is average, however the view is not great. The food was okay (approx 6/10). Also no one informed us prior to our booking that, even though we had paid for half board drinks were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AndreaBlackEvan
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing Hotel Sunflower on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to note that you find the hotel and its staff good. Your review will also be shared with the management team in view of improving our product and services. In the meantime Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and Marketing Manager Hotel Sunflower

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very pleased with hotel generally. Location was fine with a short walk to the sea. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our only gripe was the quality of food. Breakfast is poor with no hot food offered.(The Apple Café 5 mins walk from hotel did a great fry up breakfast cheaply) Evening meals were much better with more choice. We complained...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter W
SunrouteSantana, Manager at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter W, Thank you for your review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sunflower Hotel. Regards, John Bugeja

Valletta, Malta
Reviewed 4 March 2014

the hotel is good and clean ,the bar is not stocked, indoor pool was good and heated , the best member of staff is Jonathan at the front desk, its not in the best area but if you know your way round its good , the only thing we hated was the 2 single beds instead of a double but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jean S
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean S., Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. These will be shared with our management team in view of improving our product and services. In the meantime Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and marketing Manager Hotel Sunflower

Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I booked into here for Christmas, which was great. We went on to stay there three times as we liked it so much. Nothing fancy, which is fine as you are not paying a fancy price. It is quiet when you need it, but has enough facilities for a bit of pampering. Food is great, both night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank estherwarren
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esterwarren, Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your most favourable comments. I note, with much pleasure, that you will be returning to our hotel. In this regard do let us know if we can help you with your booking. Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and Marketing Manager Hotel Sunflower

Carlisle, England
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We booked for a cheap out of season week with B&B and a standard room. Most of the other guests were French and seemed to be there on a half board basis. Transfers from the airport were straightforward, and the reception staff efficient and welcoming. The hotel is in a quiet back street at the top of the town, 10...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GasMenace
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gas Menace, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your favourable comments. I do regret to note that you were disappointed with dinner and will be sharing your comments with our management team in view of improving the product and services. In the meantime Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and Marketing manager Hotel Sunflower

Qawra, Malta
Reviewed 20 February 2014

we had first floor room, bathroom very small cant even open all the door due the toilet ... bath not fixed well..rooms are not bad...Breakfast was cold breakfast no buffet as said... pool indoor was fine,and outside too.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank RoseAnne S
SunrouteSantana, Director of Sales at Sunflower Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RoseAnne S. Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced. However, concerning your comment regarding the breakfast, may I point out that what we offer is a continental buffet breakfast. This includes a variety of breads...

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (283)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (125)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (19)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.3 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#5 of 16 in Qawra
1,916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bugibba
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Lane Aparthotel
Park Lane Aparthotel
#1 of 16 in Qawra
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3-star Sunflower Hotel is located in Qawra, within the resort of St. Paul's Bay, in the north of Malta. It is just 800 meters away from its sister hotel, the 4-star Hotel Santana, and only a ten minute walk away from the picturesque 2.5 km promenade, a small man made sandy beach, various rocky beaches, public transport, shops, bars, restaurants, a Casino, a multiplex cinema, the national aquarium and various other recreational facilities. Despite its modern exterior, the hotel's interior design reflects traditional Maltese architectural characteristics through the use of Maltese limestone. The Sunflower Hotel is tastefully designed and offers most of the facilities found in a 4-star hotel. Since the hotel opened its doors in 2003, it has gained a reputation for personalized attention and enjoys a strong base of repeat customers. The resort of St. Paul's Bay is made up of Qawra, Bugibba and the village of St. Paul's Bay. The resort is linked through a 2.5km promenade which affords it with stunning coastal walks and plenty of small bays in which one can swim. The resort has numerous restaurants, cafés, bars and shops. In Qawra one also finds a casino, the national aquarium, a man made sandy beach and a bus station offering regular bus service to all parts of the Maltese islands. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception, buffet restaurant and outdoor terrace, 24 hour bar, an attractively designed roof top pool (May to October) and sunbathing terrace, both enjoying open sea and country views, a swim-up pool bar (May to October), an indoor pool which is heated in winter, a treatments/massage room and also a games room. Free Wi-Fi is also available throughout the hotel. The hotel is centrally heated during winter and air-conditioned during summer. Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the rooms. Laundry Services as well as Room Service are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel

Address: 22 Triq Garcia de Toledo, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 1061, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Price Range: £34 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunflower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel Qawra
Sunflower Hotel Malta/Qawra
Sunflower Malta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunflower Hotel staff and other travellers.
48 questions
Ask a question
newcastle
7 months ago
Melbourne, Australia
1 month ago
Penmaenmawr
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (48)

Questions? Get answers from Sunflower Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is not much to see but I would suggest a front facing room”
supersally, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seemed to be of same quality with small balconies.”
352junew, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would like a corner suite on 5th floor next time”
bdenise17, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Slightly noise at front of hotel with deliveries and taxis early morning.”
noiramtessib, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid the first floor, very noisy, especially beside the stairs. Monika is a credit to the hotel wasted talent there.”
sennaboy888, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5