We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The San Anton Hotel

Traveller (298)
Room & Suite (385)
Dining (64)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel now has free high-speed WiFi in each room and public areas. The San Anton Hotel is located in the quiet seaside town of Bugibba and just minutes from the beach ensures you will enjoy your stay. The quality of the hotel and its amenities will allow you to relax and discover all of the attractions that Malta has to offer as one of the most beautiful islands in the Mediterranean. The San Anton Hotel is located in the municipality of Saint Paul's Bay. Visitors will love this little coastal town with its wonderful beaches and streets full with restaurants, shops and bars. The capital, Valletta, is just 15 miles away. The rooms at the The San Anton are comfortable and well equipped to make your holiday as relaxing as possible. They are spacious and each one has a private bathroom, TV, safe-deposit box and telephone. Most rooms have a balcony. To make your stay a great one the hotel has a restaurant, outdoor pool, sun terrace and gardens in which to relax and wind away the hours.
Read more
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Restaurant
Free Internet
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
81Good for walkers
Grade: 81 out of 100
39Restaurantswithin 0.25 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.25 miles
Contact
Triq Ir-Ramel San Pawel Il-Bahar San Pawel Il-Bahar, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 3033 Malta
Getting there
Luqa Airport7 mi
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
450Reviews
764Photos
164Q+A
78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 84
  • 97
  • 71
  • 159
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hotel is not nice as it’s looked , food is so awful, had to eat out every night, no entertainment on , nothing to do outside hotel during the day , bedrooms needs updated as well s bathroom as didn’t have bath tap for you to have a bath , shower head did not reach the hook on
Read more
Response from AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest Please note that our hotel is being refurbished. Strange to read such comments, knowing the fact that these guests where in The San Anton hotel during this period of upgrading the property. If you would have brought to our attention your dissatisfaction, all our staff including us (management), would have been so glad to assist you and find solutions towards the issues you raised in this review. Best regards Aldo Schembri Adami Guest Relation Manager
Read more
2nd trip to this hotel First trip in 2017 was brilliant it’s a cheap and cheerful hotel don’t expect the ritz with that in mind we do expect clean rooms and food that we can eat. Unfortunately we got neither the food is shocking I wouldn’t feed to to my dog.i have personally
Read more
Response from AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest We regret to hear that these guests stay was not satisfactory. Management have spoken to these guests who raised the situation about the coffee and the issue of the cockroach. The guests complained that they ordered 2 coffees and in one of them it was full of ants. Management went to the bar and asked for a coffee in order to check if it has ants in it.We checked the cup of coffee in front of the guests by means of pouring the coffee into another cup an their were no ants at all. Strange to hear that only one of their coffees was invaded by ants. Not even one guest from the whole hotel ever complained about having a coffee with ants swimming inside the cup. We regret to hear that the food was not to your liking. Very funny that this issue was never mentioned when these guests had a meeting with 2 managers, however your comments will be forwarded to the restaurant management. Certainly we would have found a solution for you had you informed us on site, then rather mentioning this matter when you returned back home. Unfortunately while the hotel management sprays the hotel area against cockroaches, these insects crawl and fly , thus making it difficult to fully control them due to the Mediterranean climate.We do apologise on behalf of this insect for the inconvenience caused to our mutual clients. We are sure you understand that it is never our intention to provide bad service to our guests, however we never wanted to be disrespectful. We all do our best to provide the best service possible. Kindly note that we have spend a good amount of money in our refurbishment in order to improve and give better quality to our guests.We are surprised to hear that guests complained when going home and not brought to our attention regarding their dissatisfaction concerning the standard of the hotel as it is now, when compared to when they were here in 2017. We are sorry that this time our hotel did not reach your expectations ,however we surely work hard to provide the best we can in order to have happy guests in our hotel. Best Regards Aldo Schembri Adami Guest Relation Manager
Read more
We stayed from 30th December to 6th of January and it was fantastic! The hotel staff were all lovely, helpful and friendly. Housekeeping came daily to clean the rooms and replace towels. The restaurant provides a variety of different food although it wasn’t always to our taste
Read more
Response from AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest We would like to thank you for time sending us your fair, balanced feedback regarding your recent stay in The San Anton Hotel. Management is pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and will be returning back to us in the coming future. We assure you that management and our staff and looking forward to welcome you again in our friendliest atmosphere. We really appreciate your appraisal of our staff, and assure you that your lovely comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned. Our engaged housekeeping team will always do their utmost to satisfy the guests, Glad that these guests noticed that our cleaners provide a very good service, regarding cleaning and towels. Pertaining to the food in our restaurant, management provide a varied and daily ,fresh menu to satisfy multiple nationalities. We are sure you may understand that it is not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes. The San Anton Hotel is located in a very practical and comfortable area, ideal for locals and tourists. We are happy that the location met your expectations, such as when it comes to various restaurant of different cuisines, cinema, pub, loads of different types of shops and last but not least having public transport to explore around the island. Thanks for mentioning that the locals (Maltese) are lovely, welcoming people. That is a comment that I, the under signed happened to be Maltese, therefore I do appreciate that the Maltese (according to your honest opinion) made you feel at home,near in Malta. Pleased to hear that you noticed that the pool was clean. We hose and clean the pool and the area at least twice a day. We are happy that your children enjoyed the pool, however the weather is something that we could not control. At least you were lucky to have had a few nice sunny days in this period of time, but did not last all through your stay due cold, and rainy days that followed while you were here in Malta. Good to hear that your children enjoyed making use of our games room using vending machines next to our Molly Malones Irish Pub. We are glad that you had a splendid holiday, staying in our hotel and enjoyed the atmosphere at The San Anton Hotel. We would like to inform you that all our staff look forward to welcome you for another stay in our hotel. Management and our staff would like to send our greetings regarding a happy new year full of lovely things you wish to achieve all year round. All the very best ! Best regards Aldo Schembri Adami Guest Relation Manager
Read more
The Hotel is clean , could do with some updating . Having said that we were comfortable clean room & bedding , Plenty of hot water . Staff were always pleasant and helpful .We are fairly fit and could get out and about , but not ideal for any one who is disabled .Ten minutes to
Read more
Response from AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest First of all we would like to thank you for your time sending your feedback regarding your stay with us in The San Anton Hotel, Our engaged housekeeping team do their utmost in order to provide the best service possible, however as regards dog poo in the local area, unfortunately, this issue is not under our control. We totally agree with you that such dirty people taking their dog for a walk should clean and not leave the dog poo were dog littered outside in the street or pavement. We are sorry for this situation that such selfish people cause due to being stupid enough not picking up the poo of their pet, when in the area there are bins were one could throw it in. Pertaining to the the meals, our restaurant management provide a varied and daily menu to satisfy multiple nationalities. Where they strive to do so, I am sure you may understand that it is not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes. Food is freshly prepared daily and cooked on site. Best Regards Aldo Schembri Adami Guest Relation Manager
Read more
2nd time at this hotel, was not happy with the room we were allocated, reception changed the room with in ten minutes of my asking😁, room was abit chilly so we were given a heater, staff were so friendly and helpful, food was absolutely fine, especially the beef stir fry and
Read more
Response from AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest We are very pleased to read your honest opinion, that you expressed in this review, about The San Anton Hotel. Happy to hear that this was your second time in our hotel. Thank you for appreciating our staffs effort when you requested to change your room. Glad that we provided good service and this was noted. Our aim is to provide the best service possible in order to have satisfied guests in our hotel during their stay with the friendliest atmosphere possible. Management appreciate your appraisal regarding our service provided. We look forward to welcome you again should you return for your third time in the future. May you have a wonderful new year full of health and happiness. Best Regards Aldo Schembri Adami Guest Relation Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe San Anton Hotel
The Two-Bedroom Suite with Terrace at the Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe San Anton Hotel
The Two-Bedroom Apartment Pool View at the Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe San Anton Hotel
The Two-Bedroom Apartment at the Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe San Anton Hotel
The Twin Standard Room at the Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorThe San Anton Hotel
The 3-Pax Standard Room with Terrace at the Blue Sea San Anton Hotel & Apartments
PreviousNext
12345677
Paid with cash and it was returned in the sealed envelope that they had put it in
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, the bus stop is a good 5 minutes walk away, and run regularly. There is a small mini market just across the road, but if you want eateries and a decent coffee, St Paul’s Square is a good 15 minutes walk, I suggest if you have a better budget to avoid the hotel, but the staff are friendly, it’s the managers that let it down, we are just whining Brits as our friends were told. Hope this helps, Malta is a beautiful island, but our holiday was blighted by the arrogance of the hotel managers.
5 votes
Show all answers
Waste of time complaining. They are not interested at all. Spoilt my holiday and even thinking about returning to Malta
1 vote
Show all answers
Where is Gail??
We still don’t know? I hope she has found a better hotel to perform in! Who knows she may even be on the next X factor ! #prayforgail
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Future Guest The only money you will have to pay when doing check in, is €50 towards and damage which can be caused during your stay, however the €50 is refundable at the end of your stay when doing check out. There is a government tax called ECO tax which is on any adult staying in the hotel.The charge is 50 cents per person, per night. Looking forward to welcome you on board. Best Regards Guest Relation Manager Aldo Schembri Adami
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345633
"4th floor overlooking the pool"
"overlooking the pool / courtyard"
"We were allocated a suite at no extra cost"
"room on the pool side are nicer"
"Best views are at the top"
PreviousNext
12345616
PRICE RANGE
US$31 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaBugibba
NUMBER OF ROOMS
262
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing