We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Thornybank

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thornybank
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 168: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good warm welcome and first class breakfast food. We stayed in the Annex, just would add more comfy chairs when 4 are staying. Large wet room and good standard of facilities with modern kitchen. Well done Ronnie.

Helpful?
Thank etypepat
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set in a rural setting the accommodation is superb. The room was very large and had views to both the front and rear gardens. The en-suite was very big with excellent shower etc, and all was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was 1st class with fresh fruit cereals and a great full english breakfast that almost stumped me, which is very unusual.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank chris v
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

After a long day walking we received a warm welcome, luckily for us we were given the family room - a large clean spacious room with an ensuite containing a jacuzzi style bath. There were tea/coffee facilities and a range of toiletries available including feminine hygiene products showing how thoughtful the owner is. The animals who live at Thornybank are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thisisour0pinion
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday evening after a long drive to be greeted by Ronica! A very friendly welcome! A warm sweet smelling arrival in to the building we quickly felt at ease as our host made a fuss of our dogs! We were shown to our rooms and asked what time we would like breakfast, not told when it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dixie4470
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We came from Cambridgeshire in search of quality, luxury accommodation, wonderful breakfasts, peace and quiet and friendly hosts. And my goodness we hit the jackpot! Ronica is a lovely honest lady ( cannot stress the LADY too much) who welcomed us into her beautiful comfortable HOME ....not a run-of-the-mill guest accommodation. The lady and her gorgeous dog Jennifer see to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMorticia67
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Another great stay with Ronnie and her wonderful menagerie! Lovely accommodation, the best breakfast imaginable which sets you up for the whole day and, again, so very welcoming. Already looking forward to our next visit! :-)

Helpful?
Thank Mary Elizabeth Parker
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We recently had a lovely weekend break at Thornybank, we had the Poppy Room, which was very clean and comfortable. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a great choice, I went for the fresh fruit and yogurt, followed by a full English, all cooked in front of your very own eyes. All in all a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca A
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This is the third year we have stayed at thornybank two times each year and it gets better each time home from home brillent breakfast ,Ronica is a brill host makes you very wellcome nothing is to much trouble john and isabel

Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
Thornybank, Owner at Thornybank, responded to this review

Thank you Isabel, always a lovely pleasure when you and John come. Enjoy listening to your adventures, and hopefully get a new calendar again for Christmas, with the wonderful photo's John took around Norfolk. xx More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I am absolutely appalled how I was spoken to on the phone when I was phoning to ask if they had any availability for our friends to stay!!! This woman does NOT even deserve 1 star for those bad manners 😠

Helpful?
Thank NMW1990
Thornybank, Owner at Thornybank, responded to this review

I don't know who you spoke to when you phoned, unless it was one of my staff who are very respectful. None of us are very happy to take calls after 8pm as this is the owners only time off or during breakfast when we are trying to get everyone fed on time. More 

Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Best B & B we have stayed in so for very friendly host breakfast very good, our dog got on well with the hosts dog and cat. And we were given the odd sausage for our dog it was a pleasure to stay here

Helpful?
Thank Tony B
Thornybank, Owner at Thornybank, responded to this review

You were both very welcome, missed you when you left, sort of got used to you being around xx More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cromer hotels
1.0 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
320 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
628 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury B&B residence nestled in an acre of National Trust woodland and within walking distance of the town and seafront of Cromer, North Norfolk. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thornybank

Address: Thornybank Hall Road, Cromer NR27 9JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Price Range: £73 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thornybank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornybank Cromer, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornybank staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Thornybank staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“very pet friendly”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles alantmm, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Balcony Rom has a lovely woodland view”
 of 5 bubbles natandandy2016, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try the balcony room, large & spacious with a floating balcony”
  • Outside view of Thorny Cottage at Thornybank B&B
  • Outside deck area to sit and have early morning coffee, relax or enjoy a glass of wine in the ev
  • View of sitting area and Woodburner from kitchen area
  • Wide open plan hallway into dining, living and kitchen area
  • Large bedroom with small toilet and sink facilities
  • Double bedroom on a level with living space and bathroom, most suitable for disabled persons too
  • Large spacious wet room
  • Open plan kitchen, dining and living area with woodburner
 of 5 bubbles darylm817, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“woodland room has a double room with bunk beds for kids. Lots of room with a clean spacious modern en-suite”
 of 5 bubbles gtl21, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay