The Manor House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Manor House Hotel

Traveller (36)
Dining (7)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 4 hotels in Penarth
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Manor House is a family run business we pride ourselves on our friendly service and comfortable facilities. As well as accommodation we also cater for Weddings, parties of any kind, conferences and all family occasions. We have beautiful grounds and plenty of parking space.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Horseback riding
Meeting rooms
Sun terrace
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
211Reviews4Q+A43Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 64
  • 16
  • 7
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Siobhan3401 wrote a review Jul 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived and were pleasantly surprised, the chalets are big, spacious and bright. While the decor is a little dated it's very well maintained and we thought it was very clean. We were travelling with a newborn and the space was great for the cot and all our things, plus we could park right outside to carry everything in.

The only BIG issue is there is a velux sky light in the room which is completely uncovered meaning the room is daylight bright until the sun goes down - and bright again as soon as it rises (5am at this time of year!). With a newborn we needed dark to get the baby to sleep so this would rule out staying here again. I did message the property directly before posting this review, but haven't had a response. And looking at the reviews in more detail now I see they responded back in 2016 acknowledging this was an issue - but it doesn't seem to have been addressed. It's a shame because otherwise we would consider this place regularly for visits to our family who live locally. I thought it's only fair people should know about this before booking - particularly if you are travelling with babies or children who need to go to sleep early.

(They dealt with covid very well with keys in the door on arrival, automatic checkin/out and a substitute continental breakfast left at our door which was sweet)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Room Tip: Chalets are not suitable for babies/children as the velux window lets the light in
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma wrote a review Aug 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve just returned from a 2 night stay here with my mum and children, what a gem it was.

Although the chalet itself was a bit dated it was spacious, clean and in a lovely quiet setting, it was a fantastic base to use in order to see some of South Wales.

The gardens to the property were really beautiful and very well maintained.

Breakfast was included in our booking and it didn’t disappoint, quiet a variety on the breakfast menu and all cooked to perfection. We also had an evening meal here, which again was lovely, one of the best steaks I’ve had in a long time.

Great hospitality and well ran. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble. I will definitely be booking a return visit!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul W wrote a review Mar 2020
West Sussex, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the room was basic, it was very clean and warm. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We had two evening meals during our stay and both were excellent. We had an extremely deaf neighbour unfortunately the first night And insisted his tv was on full volume, the next morning we mentioned it to the manager, and after an apology, were moved to another the next day. We requested slight changes to our meal to what was on the menu and were always accommodated. Neither my wife nor myself could fault this hotel in any way and would certainly return should the need arise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sandydanny wrote a review Aug 2021
essex
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely setting owners lovely people.

However cleaning standards in the chalets leave a lot to be desired.

Mould all over the bath & shower head fitting ,mastic,door etc…

Skylight dirty & no blind hence light floods in at Dawn.

Skip in courtyard & landscaping unfinished

Could have been so much more pleasurable experience but for the lack of attention to detail.

Such a shame
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Huw D wrote a review Nov 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Only giving it a 1 rating because you have to give something. I booked a night away for my partners birthday. On we booking we were specifically giving the choice of a hotel room or chalet room. We choose the hotel room as we wanted a hotel stay and not a holiday camp. On arrival we found we had been giving a chalet room.. after informing the owner of this mistake we were told there was nothing that could be done due to hotel being full due to a wedding. The chalet room itself although large in size was very inadequate. None of the ceiling lights worked and only 2 wall lights out of 4. The room was uncomfortably hot and there was a sign saying do not adjust heating !!! It was raining on the night we stayed and we couldn't even open a door to cool the room down as it opened straight out onto a courtyard with other guests walking past. I braved the rain to walk across the courtyard to inform staff about the lights and heating only to be rudely told there was nothing that could be done as there were busy with a wedding. NEVER STAY IN THIS JOKE OF A HOTEL. would never recommend. Ever sent an email informing the owners of all this and never had a reply. SHOCKING SERVICE. Should never be in this business.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason H wrote a review Sept 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Over the past holiday weekend, my wife and I made a booking to stay at this hotel. As they have a restaurant, we also planned on eating dinner the night we arrived. We received an e-mail a few days prior to the trip stating that because of an event at the hotel, we could not eat dinner there, but to still come along with a check-in time up until 12:00am. Fine with us, we ate elsewhere. We arrived at the hotel at 9:30pm, after dinner, to find it completely dark and locked. We tried calling the hotel several times with no answer. About an hour later with no success of getting a hold of the hotel, we called booking.com, where we made the reservation. They were able to get in touch with the hotel owner and told us we could go find him near the entrance. We found him, and he yelled at us, very angrily, saying this was not a "24 hour business" and how dare we wake him up and that we should have arrived earlier. This is for arriving at a hotel at 9:30pm with a check in time up until 12:00am, and supposedly a restaurant on site that was hosting an event that evening (there wasn't one that we could see). In a loud, angry voice he told us to leave, which we did. We found another hotel, and checked into that one well before midnight. Booking.com was very apologetic, so no complaints against them. But the Manor House Hotel and its owner are not oriented towards taking care of customers!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: go elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Canuck475 wrote a review Jun 2015
Ontario, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we were greeted with a very curt "Name?...number 4 Chalet" and given the keys. Being put into a chalet was a surprise as we thought that we would be in the main building. The chalet was across a dingy courtyard. The reception desk was a disgrace. The room was spacious and clean but the furnishings were dated and worn. We read the menu for the evening meal and went to the restaurant only to be told that the menu was out of date and the price of the meals had more than doubled. Breakfast was just adequate but with very poor choice of cereals, etc. The whole atmosphere was gloomy and unfriendly but the server in the morning made an attempt to be pleasant. We will not be able to recommend this hotel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be prepared for a chalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sandiliz, Manager at The Manor House Hotel
Responded 15 Jun 2015
Alas, the anonymous one from booking.com has decided that they cannot contain their disdain for us to just one website and have predictably spread their critical tentacles to booking.com. At least you have not hidden behind the cowardly veil of anonymity here so kudos for that. Lets start with your arrival shall we. As I recall I greeted you as I always greet our guests with a greeting which goes above and beyond what conventional manners dictate. If anything it was your gruff reply which was curtly and laconic but I guess that is fine because you're the customer - wrong i'm afraid. I also find it irksome that you would call our courtyard 'dingy' even though it is cleaned and maintained regularly and it is quite a wide open space usually the word dingy is indicative of a more enclosed area. How our reception area is a disgrace is beyond my ken as it serves its function - to check guests into their respective rooms. The menu - well where else can you get a two course meal all using fresh ingredients for 14.00. The menu you mentioned in the room has a Sirloin steak for 14.95. How is that double the price ? You have grossly distorted things here in fact straight out lied. If there were a way which I know there is not , I would recommend that no other hotel take you as a customer.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lizwoodfin_1 wrote a review Dec 2014
Barry South Wales
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at The Manor House on 19th Deember, although we live locally, we were attending a Christmas do there, first impressions are important, so when we were shown to our room and the stair carpet looked like it hadn't seen a vacuum cleaner in a week or more! The room itself left a lot to be desired - laminate flooring when you walked on it stuck up on the edges, it had been nailed down, therefor I stood on the nail head. I can honestly say I've stayed in better travel lodges at a quarter of the price! This room was £85 we had this discounted to £70 because we were at the Christmas party! No bath and the room lighting was atrocious - the bathroom was so dimly lite you which made it hard when applying make up!
The breakfast I have to say was lovely, although it was more like a child's portion. The Motown Chrismas party was also a big let down, we were a party of 30 who had paid £29 each for a ticket. We were in a marquee that had no PA system pipped into it, therefore no music and no one knew had was going on the whole night. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don't let them give you room 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenys C wrote a review Sept 2014
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are thinking of staying here,don't. I booked here for a night's stay after travelling from Liverpool for my brothers funeral. I looked on booking.com and was quoted £65 for a twin room, I then rang the hotel direct and was quoted £85 for the same twin room so booked through booking.com. The first thing that happened was I was told payment would be taken during my stay there, but it was actually taken from my account the day before. Our room was a chalet in a courtyard, which didn't look too bad till we got in the room. We had booked a twin room, yes there were two beds, one of which was a sofa bed and was rock hard, as I have a spinal injury my daughter took that one, my bed creaked like hell and the bedding on the bed left a lot to be desired, a thin sheet and think blanket, the room was freezing, so we spent a very cold night, finally came the television, my laptop monitor was bigger than the TV and trying to watch it was totally usless, the picture kept going negative. We decided to go to the restuarant for something to eat as we hadn't eaten much all day with the upset of the funeral, only to find one choice on the menu of a set 2-course meal for £19.50 each, as a pensioner I couldn't afford that for 2 of us so we went hungry and decided to have an early night. As the manager was less than polite about us not having anything we decided to leave at first light and not even stay for our breakfast which we had been told by a fellow guest was less than appetising anyway, so at 6.30 the following morning we left this hell-hole and headed home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JCDBirmingham wrote a review Oct 2015
Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel over a year ago because I was successful in buying tickets to watch a rugby match at the Milleniuim Stadium. We arrived at approximately 1pm and our room was not ready - not a problem - so I went to the bar to get us drinks while we waited.
I was greeted by a man who was very casually dressed and I asked for some drinks. He told me that the hotel wasn't open, which wasn't the reaction I was expecting as I assumed that this hotel - like most - was a 24-hour operation. When I told him there were people outside drinking he said it was because they were residents. I explained that I was waiting to check in and he then served me. I found him rude. Just after 2pm we put our bags in the room but weren't given the key as the room still wasn't quite ready. Upon our return again I found the owner's manner rude because we wanted our room key. He was in the kitchen and seemed annoyed that a member of his staff had asked him a question in the middle of service.
When we were ready to check out the next day we could have easily left without paying. I waited at the reception desk to pay and all bills had been made up ready for the guests but there wasn't one for us. The lady who served me asked what price I was quoted from booking.com and I was unable to remember as I had booked last October. She looked through all paperwork and my name wasn't anywhere so she had to ask the owner how much to charge me. The experience cemented what I had first thought when I met the owner.
The room we stayed in was fine, nothing special and the same with breakfast. Good customer service and a warm welcome is what keeps people coming back.... needless to say we won't return.
When we were ready to leave the next day
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan H asked a question Apr 2019
Barry, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
What time is breakfast served on weekends?
Answer from Sandra C
Cardiff, United Kingdom57 contributions17 helpful votes
Hi There, Breakfast is 8am till 10am on the weekends, hope this helps. Kind regards, Sandra at the Manor House Hotel, Penarth
Toxic L asked a question Feb 2018
Portsmouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
Does anyone know how much it costs in a taxi to principality stadium?
Answer from RhodriT1
Brussels, Belgium160 contributions111 helpful votes
I took a taxi in the opposite direction last summer, but can't remember exactly how much it cost. A tenner maybe.
Answer from Sandra C
Cardiff, United Kingdom57 contributions17 helpful votes
Hello and thanks for getting in touch, I'm so happy to know that you enjoyed the Wedding that you attended at the Manor House. Also thanks so much for having a sense of humour concerning some of our responses on here, particularly as the reviewer in question didn't even stay at the hotel as he didn't like the carpet in reception....apparently. We have to keep our spirits up in the face of adversity and your message has helped us to do just that, All the best to you, Kind regards, Sandra at the Manor House Hotel, Penarth. :-)
robv12 wrote a tip Dec 2021
Eyemouth, United Kingdom669 contributions299 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"book eleswhere"
Read full review
Siobhan3401 wrote a tip Jul 2020
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chalets are not suitable for babies/children as the velux window lets the light in"
Read full review
May D wrote a tip Jul 2019
Coventry, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chalet rooms were very nice."
Read full review
Pat P wrote a tip Apr 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Chalets at the back of hotel"
Read full review
Sonia D wrote a tip Aug 2018
24 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bridal suite wow xxx"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Penarth area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
manor hotel penarth
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesVale of GlamorganPenarth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MANOR HOUSE HOTEL - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Manor House Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at The Manor House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Manor House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Manor House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does The Manor House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Manor House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Is The Manor House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Penarth HotelsPenarth Hotel DealsHotels near The Manor House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire