We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Manor House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Manor House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Manor House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Just one night. But a lovely stay. Chalet room was immaculate. Parking outside the door as a bonus. Lovely fresh cooked breakfast. Thank you guys for a great stay we will he back if we are Penarth again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robv12
Sandra C, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much that's lovely to know! I will pass your comments on to the staff and we shall look forward to your next visit to the Manor House!

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We booked through Bookings.com we arrived at 13:10 on Sunday. We met Pietro the proprietor who knew of our bookings and showed us to our rooms straight away even though the hotel was busy serving Sunday Lunch. We were in the Chalet rooms which were built behind the hotel. The rooms were excellent and spacious with underfloor heating. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razor2020
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Comfortable, quiet room. Nice breakfast and evening meals. Attentive service at all times by hotel staff. Hotel is set in pleasant grounds on the edge of Penarth. Taxi from Penarth station cost about £6.00

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bryan406
Sandra C, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sir, Thank you very much. I am so glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and hope you pay us another visit one day.

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We booked one night here through Booking.com .On arrival the hotel looked empty, we wandered around until a man appeared to advise that due to a number of wedding functions the hotel was closed that night but our booking would be honoured . We were shown to one of their chalets which he said was the best they had, if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wilson015
Sandiliz, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

Very Suspicious review ! First of all if we did have wedding functions then how would the hotel be empty and not full of wedding guests ? I could and will also mention that the only day we scale operations down here is on a Sunday and we ALWAYS close Sundays off on booking.com and let guests book directly where...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
29 reviews
42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This has to be the worst place we have ever had the misfortune of experiencing,,,,,, ran by total ignorant imbeciles with no customer Manners whatsoever,,,,,, the place looked like a run down place of squalor,,,,, carpet looked putrid and well past it,,,,,,, NO WAY would I endure staying at that place, let alone a romantic stay with my wife!?,,,,,,,, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sandiliz, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

I think your wife's horror was in your state of putrefaction as our carpets are clearly in a healthier state than yourself. You not so much turned and left as it was more of a zombie like shuffle out of the door ! Maybe romance is dead in your case but each to their own. Have you considered a role...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I chose this hotel purely due to it being close to a venue in which I was attending an engagement. Prior to arriving I had booked a twin room. I was so impressed on arrival that we had been given a chalet that was so spacious and full of all amenities that we required. The staff were brilliant attended to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pakchoi111
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I chose The Manor House Hotel after viewing and exhausting all other venues in Cardiff, which for various reasons just didn't suit our particular and exacting needs. From the outset at our first visit to assess their wedding packages the owner Pietro put us both at ease and talked us through their product, which I have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LancashireBoyo
Sandra C, Owner at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review

Well what can I reply to such a lovely and thoughtful review? Just reading it makes me excited to be getting on with our next wedding! It's such appreciation that keeps us all going here at the Manor House as we enter our 26th year! All the very best of everything to you and your bride for your future together...

Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of a wedding party celebration with my partner. Check in was very easy and the room felt spacious and clean. Shower was a nice surprise with just how powerful it was, there are many hotels I've stayed at that have horrible showers and this certainly wasn't one of them. Great evening for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpursAsh
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Only stayed for 1 night but room was great (chalet) with good shower and comfy bed. Man on reception was very helpful with directions and info. Breakfast was A1 couldn't have asked for better in the very nice conservatory. My only gripe was that I had to wait until 8am on the dot to get into the reception as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithkilvo1
Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We travelled down from Lancashire at 6 am for my brother's wedding, as we were unable to stay the night before. A previous review mentioning our experience is not entirely accurate. I rang the day before, as I'd been instructed to do so when I originally booked, to ask for a 12 o'clock check in so we could get changed,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chushpie

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penarth
0.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Glendale Hotel
Glendale Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penarth
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
3,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
3.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Manor House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Manor House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The chalets in the annex are spacious”
zico2000, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 was very quiet”
Bryan406, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard lodges are ideal.”
WilfSurrey, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try a chalet- large bedroom/ sitting area, tv, bathroom with bath and shower, patio doors to rear with private area to sit outside.”
christophers686, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The chalets are great but you can hear the showers/toilets in the other rooms.”
moosmommy, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5