We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Orchard Street Manor

Traveller (20)
Dining (6)
Room & Suite (6)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"#1 B&B, New Bedford" Standard-Times reader poll. Exceptional, historic, globetrotter-run lodging with elegant public areas and individually decorated rooms. Experience New Bedford's past in Whaling Captain Benjamin Clark's 1840s home expanded in 1903 by Cotton Baron Henry Tiffany. Harbor views, private baths, AC, cable, WiFi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint

Location

Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
57Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
27Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
38Reviews
22Photos
2Q+A
10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Don't let the photo's the Orchard Street Manor website deceive you, I DO NOT believe it is a good representation of the actual condition. Upon arriving, we waited about 30 minutes in our car for the owners to arrive who live off site. As we looked around the exterior of the
Read more
Response from Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor
Responded 19 Nov 2018
We’re sorry about your experience at the Orchard Street Manor. We found you waiting when we arrived back from food shopping. We had made sure to be on site about 45 minutes before your scheduled arrival, however, you came much earlier than expected. Our return had nothing to do with living off site, since we live in the carriage house on the other side of the driveway. We had just gone shopping for the freshest fruit for our guests. The “dimly lit hallway” merely meant no one was home. In the interest of reducing our carbon footprint, the hall’s two LED wall sconce lights are turned off when the building is empty. The carpet on the stairs and upper hall was gray when it was installed and still retains that color. After being informed of your physical disabilities due to a bad back, Suzanne offered you a choice of beds. After trying all six available beds, you chose the room with a bed that best suited you. That room and all other rooms had clean private baths. There is no “main bathroom” – all are private. We note that you made no mention of those physical issues nor of your need for an ultra-soft mattress at the time of reservation. Had you indicated that you required an ultra-soft mattress, we would have suggested that you look elsewhere. All our mattresses are firm and chiropractor approved. When Suzanne arrived the following morning to prepare breakfast about 90 minutes before you had set a time that you preferred to eat, you told her that the car was packed and you would be leaving immediately. She offered breakfast and you accepted, but were in such a rush to leave that you did not allow her the time to prepare any of our elaborate fruit dishes shown on TripAdvisor by our other guests. Instead, boxed cereal accompanied by home-made muffins, whole fruit and coffee were the only alternative to give you something to eat before that rapid and unanticipated departure. You did tell Suzanne that it was the first time that one of you had traveled since 1994 due to the severe back problems. You stressed that coming to New Bedford was a trial to see if you could travel in the future. When she offered to refund one night’s stay, you refused and said the cost was part of your initial travel effort. She took you at your word. We wish you well in your continued physical recovery to the point that both of you can easily travel in the future.
Read more
Whaling was one of the hardest ways to earn a living, and a risky venture for its investors. But as this grand home shows, the reward could be great wealth and an unexpectedly sophisticated lifestyle. Al and Suzanne have preserved one of the great homes of this unique city. If
Read more
Response from Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor
Responded 13 Aug 2018
Thanks for taking the time from your busy schedule to write some kind words about our B&B. We truly appreciate the feedback. We were pleased to present useful restaurant options for dinner. We'd love to welcome you to stay with us again at a less stressful time to calmly present the marvels of New Bedford.
Read more
Our brief stay in New Bedford was turned into a remarkable holiday experience at this B&B. Al and Suzanne were world travellers and avid historians of New Bedford and we were eager listeners. The home was period appropriate and well appointed. Thank you for an unforgettable
Read more
Response from Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor
Responded 22 Oct 2017
Thank you for your thoughtful words about your recent experience at our B&B. We appreciate your taking the time to record your thoughts. You hit the nail on the head in noting that after many years in other countries, we have settled in New Bedford. Here, we are continually learning about different facets of New Bedford’s incredible history and sharing them with others through books and breakfast conversations. When you return to the area, we’ll have a whole new set of stories. Come back soon!
Read more
We were two couples and only spent one night there. Would have liked to have stayed longer. The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast that consisted of homemade muffins and fresh fruit, some of which I'd never had. There were other options as well. The coffee was good! I
Read more
Response from Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor
Responded 11 Oct 2017
Thank you for taking the time and effort to write this great review. We really appreciated having you four guests who were full of questions about New Bedford, among other things. Suzanne reinforced your conversation in her mind by repeating to me some of the things you talked about at lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and rest assured that the welcome mat is always there when you want to take up the conversation again by returning to The Orchard Street Manor!
Read more
+1
Every year I return at least twice to this B and B, and it's always a joy to step over the threshold and into the lovingly restored whaling captain's home. Al and Suzanne have become like family and the welcome is always warm. Al has co-authored volume one on the history of New
Read more
Response from Al S, Owner at Orchard Street Manor
Responded 30 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking time from your busy activities to write such positive words about us. You truly are part of our extended family! On your visits this year, we spent hours updating each other on immediate personal issues, punctuated with changes in the lives of our children and grandchildren. We always look forward to your arrivals and hope to see you for many years in the future. Let me explain your cryptic ending words that you put in parentheses: we try to protect young children from a potentially traumatic exposure to a 10-year old girl who died in the house in 1908. Louise still remains present. Moreover, she is curious about any youngsters who spend the night here. Older children are better able to handle her visits in the night. That's why we suggest it's more appropriate for families with older children.
Read more
Previous
1234568
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & Suite
Whirlpool tub
Two room suite, second floor
The Blue Bedroom with private bath
Bedroom with sitting area
PreviousNext
12
Green or Blue Room available at $125 per night Two-Room Suite available at $165 per night
0 votes
Thank you for your interest in The Orchard Street Manor. We have no rooms remaining. Please accept our condolences.
0 votes
"NONE, but that's my opinion"
"Rooms spacious, clean, bright, valuable antiques, Baths, A/C dated. Traffic not a problem. Parking, handicapped access limited."
"The images I've posted are of the room with a sitting area and a whirlpool tub. All the rooms I have stayed in are charming."
"There are only a few rooms, but all are quite charming."
"The b&b is in a residential area so and the room is single glazed so not as quiet as you would normally experience, but didn't put me off."
PreviousNext
12
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNew Bedford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing