We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Paperbark Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Paperbark Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Paperbark Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 213: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 January 2017

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Paperbark Camp (PBC) with friends for New Year. My complaints with PBC stems from my view that for what it is, it is very overpriced. At $605 per night for the basic tent, I expect more than PBC offers. If it was half the price, I would probably give it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Micphilli
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review

Apologies for the delay in responding to the very comprehensive account of your recent stay which was very well considered, we very much appreciate the time you have taken. Obviously we are disappointed that you did not have the experience that you had hoped for. We have had one of the hottest summers on record, including nights that unusually for...

Ulladulla, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I planned this stay for my husbands Birthday Surprise. Even thou it rained for the 2 days we were there, it was Most Relaxing. We took up the Picnic Basket option and the massage in the tent which my husband said was Amazing. The tent setups are well done most comfortable and a leisurely soaking in the bath of an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
Sydney Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I stayed at Paperbark Camp for 3 nights in December 16. My family stayed in the main 'tent' which is really a hotel room with canvas walls etc ! Beautiful room, comfortable beds, outdoor protected shower and toilet (all good fun and nicely appointed). Tent/room seals up very well and well protected from insects/heat/rain. There is a main congregating area/reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelfromOz
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Paperbark Camp, we very much appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we might see you again one day! Kind regards, The Hutchings Family

Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed there for one night in November '16. The night with the wildlife around is great, the location close to Jervis Bay perfect for the day. Only downside is the price for the stay, but it is worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Das_Lange
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Paperbark Camp, we very much appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we might see you again one day! Kind regards, The Hutchings Family

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Tent has enough comfort. So glad there is no TV. Food was a very nice surprise. Sophisticated enough but not pretentious. Great breakfast which allowed us to keep going all day. Great service from the friendly staff. Tent was nice. If anything the lounge music in the morning was a tad too loud. But apart from that a great experience

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tiaogw
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Paperbark Camp, we very much appreciate it and are so glad you enjoyed your stay, hope we might see you again one day! Kind regards, The Hutchings Family

Reviewed 22 October 2016

I stayed here on a dirty weekend and found the tent experience a bit of a novelty, and is close to Huskisson and most of the South Coast. The tents get cold in the cooler months but the hotel provides hot water bottles and hot water is provided every morning. The shower/bathroom/toilet is fantastic. It's open to nature but is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bryce R
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Absolute heaven! The staff were brilliant! Welcoming, friendly, helpful and generally fantastic at making your stay special. The hot water bottles are a lovely touch as is the hot thermos delivered to your door in the morning. The tents are super comfortable and feel luxurious. The grounds beautiful. the restaurant was lovely, excellent wine list, delicious fresh produce we ate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natshedge
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Bring in the bulldozer. It's tired, run down, poorly staffed and unworthy of the high rates. To suggest this is so called "glamping" would be a stretch even for the highest markers. The tents are not "critter-proof" and we had a possum spend the night in our bathroom, crash..bang...wham for 2-3 hours. The only expectation exceeded was the food. Chef...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Denis R
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, though obviously we are disappointed that it was not what you had expected. Paperbark Camp has been open for many years now and we make a lot of effort to ensure the high standard is maintained despite this with constant maintenance, re-invention and updating, for example we take delivery...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed two nights in late September arriving during heavy rain and generally poor weather. The website is very clear in terms of facilities (no power or heating in the tents), however the spring weather meant that the entire camp was very cold - even the restaurant - the only warm spot was in front of the fire in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdsJones
Paperbark_Camp, Owner at Paperbark Camp, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a very measured and well considered review, unfortunately when the weather is inclement it does have an effect on the accommodation which, though very weather proof does require additional attention in wet conditions. We have remained open throughout most of the winter and generally it was very well received though we...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Wonderful time. They thought of everything! Delicious breakfast,very comfortable. A unique experience! Loved the outdoor bathroom that still managed to be glam. Loved the hot water thermos delivered at 7am to enjoy a tea in the peaceful bushland

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mona E

173 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollamia
4.1 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
221 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
7.1 mi away
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
By The Beach B & B Self-Containe...
#2 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
60 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dungowan Holiday Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combining unique luxury tented accommodation with wonderful food & warm hospitality, Paperbark Camp is a peaceful bush retreat in beautiful Jervis Bay - think camping for grown-ups! Just over two hours drive from Sydney on the unspoilt south coast of NSW, Jervis Bay is a nature lovers paradise with spectacular coastal scenery, clear and calm water for swimming and pristine white sand beaches for strolling and relaxing on... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Paperbark Camp

Address: 571 Woollamia Rd, Woollamia, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Woollamia
Price Range: £227 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paperbark Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Paperbark Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paperbark Camp Hotel Woollamia
Paperbark Camp Australia/Woollamia, New South Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Paperbark Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Paperbark Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“King Parrot for a family of 4 is perfect !!”
 of 5 bubbles 603maggiep, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Kookaburra was a good tent as no-one walks past.”
 of 5 bubbles 918PatriciaF, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the largest tent - it has the best facilities and a has double canvas tent for more protection against insects, rain etc”
 of 5 bubbles Love2travelfromOz, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try one without mosquitos,bugs and possums.”
 of 5 bubbles denisr436, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The luxury tents are a distance away from each other and afford privacy while surrounded by paperbark forest and bush.”
 of 5 bubbles landonoz, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5