We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Blue Water Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blue Water Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This would have to be an oldie but a goodie it is the cleanest tidiest place we have stayed at the finish on the stainless steel bench and shower is absolutely amazing thank you both for your hospitality and good luck with your fishing Barry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thistledoons
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. We love hosting people in our little slice of paradise. Thank you ofr your fishing thoughts too, hopefully a good summer of fishing. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The owners Barry and Sue were very friendly and welcoming. The motel is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The spa room was relaxing and enjoyable.The room was clean but quite small. We were touring on a package deal, so didn't have a choice of accommodation. The bed felt a little lumpy and uncomfortable. We didn't use the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran1712
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We noted your comment about the bed and will attend to that, thank you for pointing it out. We are pleased you enjoyed our little town which is part of the paradise of the coromandel. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

A great little motel - clean, convenient and welcoming. Shops and several dining options just a short walk away. On the main road, but traffic noise not an issue. Beautiful views from most units. Next time, we'll stay for a few more days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise and we would be very happy to have you stay again. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a great, clean and tidy motel at a very reasonable price in a pretty coastal town. The owners are really friendly, helpful and full of local information. it's close to shops, a lookout and entertainment. Unfortunately we could only stay one night. You will not be disappointed in choosing this well run motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril N
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We think we live in a little slice of paradise and love to share that with guests. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Hamilton
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We had the pleasure of this wee place last weekend. There was a group of us and we were welcomed by our hosts Barry and Sue. Nothing was too much for them. We were shown where the towels were if we needed more, ie after a spa and treated like royalty. The rooms are comfortable and homely and had everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morriesmumHamilton
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi So pleased you enjoyed your weekend, hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here recently and had a great time. Our welcome was warm and friendly and we were given great advice concerning our visit. We had a front room and the main road didn't bother us. The sun had welcome light and warmth in the main room in the morning. The unit had a good little kitchen, table and chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MountainsHelen
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful area. Kind regards Barry

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Really lovely motel in Tairua! We had one of the front cabins which was great! Onsite parking and a very short stroll to the pub and some lovely dinner places. The owners are lovely and let us take some spades to hot water beach! Would love to stay there again:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callieb1
BarryLR100, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Callie We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be great to see you again sometime. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Waregem, Belgium
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I arrived on a day it had rained all day long cats and dogs. This continued until the next morning. I had no opportunity to try the BBQ or walk along the lake at the other side of the street. The kitchen and Sky TV are OK. There is enough space to park the car. You can easily hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricktkindt2016
BarryLR100, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, Many thanks for staying with us - sorry the weather was a bit crappy on the one day you were in town !!! Glad everything else was OK and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ. cheers, Barry & Sue

Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This must have been one of the best motels iv been to! Very welcoming owner that made us feel right at home. He made sure we had everything needed and answered all our questions happily. VERY clean spacious and well equipped rooms with everything you need! Highly recommend this lovely motel for a getaway or holiday! Wish we could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdb232016
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Wow ! Thanks heaps for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are so lucky to have such nice guests come and spend time with us on The Coromandel. Really glad you enjoyed Tairua and we hope to see you again soon ! cheers, Paul & Natasha

Aussie
Reviewed 17 April 2016

A well situated motel with all the amenities that one would need. Paul (owner) was very welcoming and we were extremely happy with our room. It was quite large, very clean and comfortable. We were in the front room nearest to the road but were not troubled by any roadside noises. My only wish was that we could have spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieSuzie53
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Wow !!! Thank you so much for your kind comments - we really do get some wonderful guests come and stay with us. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again another time. cheers, Paul & Natasha

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
133 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Pacific Harbour Lodge
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Price Range: £74 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Water Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The family unit (7) is directly below the owner's accommodation and there's a fair bit of noise leakage between floors”
 of 5 bubbles KentandMichelle, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the right hand side seem to be more spacious and more recent.”
 of 5 bubbles patricktkindt2016, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Chalets are close to the highway, rooms further back are probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 530viviennep, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a 2 bedroom as a family of 4 and it's perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles brookemayo, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“steps to some rooms”
 of 5 bubbles chrissK4134RD, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay