We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Water Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue Water Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Ahipara, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in Tairua to attend a friend's funeral and as bookings were heavy in general I grabbed the available "chalet" for $189 per night. Firstly the booking via phone and the reception were excellent , the hosts especially polite and friendly, The room itself was immaculately clean and the sheets and bedding crisp and clean. The actual buildings are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YJ8DAVE
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review, we do work hard on our cleaning and service as we know we are not a modern motel. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

The family unit is tailor made for families who love to stay very close to beach. Very neat and clean with extremely friendly hosts- Sue and Barry are lovely. Would be my first choice if you a visiting coromandel and make this the centre as it is very close to cathedral cove, hot water beaches, Waihi, etc.,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Satishpushpa
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Coromandel is a lovely spot and we are lucky to be able to host guests in a corner of paradise. Kind regards Barry

Wamuran, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We grabbed a place here just for the night as it was getting late. I don't know if it was the time of year (16th December) but we paid NZD139 and the room was pokey and small. We had to move some of the furniture out on the balcony so we had room to move. Hardly enough soap or shampoo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi I am sorry that you found the room small but it is a studio and advertised as such. Soap and shampoo are standard motel size so am not sure what the problem was there. Prices are shoulder season. Kind regards Barry

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

This would have to be an oldie but a goodie it is the cleanest tidiest place we have stayed at the finish on the stainless steel bench and shower is absolutely amazing thank you both for your hospitality and good luck with your fishing Barry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thistledoons
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. We love hosting people in our little slice of paradise. Thank you ofr your fishing thoughts too, hopefully a good summer of fishing. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

The owners Barry and Sue were very friendly and welcoming. The motel is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The spa room was relaxing and enjoyable.The room was clean but quite small. We were touring on a package deal, so didn't have a choice of accommodation. The bed felt a little lumpy and uncomfortable. We didn't use the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fran1712
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We noted your comment about the bed and will attend to that, thank you for pointing it out. We are pleased you enjoyed our little town which is part of the paradise of the coromandel. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

A great little motel - clean, convenient and welcoming. Shops and several dining options just a short walk away. On the main road, but traffic noise not an issue. Beautiful views from most units. Next time, we'll stay for a few more days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our little slice of paradise and we would be very happy to have you stay again. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a great, clean and tidy motel at a very reasonable price in a pretty coastal town. The owners are really friendly, helpful and full of local information. it's close to shops, a lookout and entertainment. Unfortunately we could only stay one night. You will not be disappointed in choosing this well run motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril N
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We think we live in a little slice of paradise and love to share that with guests. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Hamilton
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We had the pleasure of this wee place last weekend. There was a group of us and we were welcomed by our hosts Barry and Sue. Nothing was too much for them. We were shown where the towels were if we needed more, ie after a spa and treated like royalty. The rooms are comfortable and homely and had everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank morriesmumHamilton
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi So pleased you enjoyed your weekend, hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards Barry and Sue

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here recently and had a great time. Our welcome was warm and friendly and we were given great advice concerning our visit. We had a front room and the main road didn't bother us. The sun had welcome light and warmth in the main room in the morning. The unit had a good little kitchen, table and chairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MountainsHelen
Barry R, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful area. Kind regards Barry

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Really lovely motel in Tairua! We had one of the front cabins which was great! Onsite parking and a very short stroll to the pub and some lovely dinner places. The owners are lovely and let us take some spades to hot water beach! Would love to stay there again:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callieb1
BarryLR100, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this review

Hi Callie We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be great to see you again sometime. Kind regards Barry and Sue

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
139 reviews
14.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
461 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
172 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, New Zealand, South Pacific
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Water Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“suggest chalet away from road”
 of 5 bubbles YJ8DAVE, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The family unit (7) is directly below the owner's accommodation and there's a fair bit of noise leakage between floors”
 of 5 bubbles KentandMichelle, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the right hand side seem to be more spacious and more recent.”
 of 5 bubbles patricktkindt2016, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“Chalets are close to the highway, rooms further back are probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 530viviennep, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a 2 bedroom as a family of 4 and it's perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles brookemayo, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5