We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We stayed in a room with a double bed. That was about it in the room. Just the double bed, a window and a chair. It was clean and the bed was comfy. Common area was spacious and clean. It was quiet and we had no trouble falling asleep. Bathrooms were clean. Reception actually gave each of us the $.50...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
Moers, Germany
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived with my friend in the afternoon. No problems with checking-in. We booked a tent site for 18$ which included the use of the kitchen and toilet. You had to pay for the shower which is kind of unfair because we paid already for sleeping in our own tent. Anyway. Friendly staff, no issues at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreddyNZ_2015
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I have nothing but praise for this accommodation. The owner has done an excellent job ensuring the basics ( and then some ) are all covered for an overnight or week-long stay in the wilderness. Highly recommended. Those that complain about a .50 shower, it's a brilliant idea to manage costs. Fantastic. Showers were hot and plenty of time, if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C Neil L
Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Booked a powered site for our motorhome, amazed to find after paying $60 for the site we then needed to pay $0.50 each for a shower. When we questioned this at reception, we were told by the very helpful lady that it was her boss who made the rules and that was what he charged even if you were paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pssd
haastlodge, Manager at Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park, responded to this review

To Clarify the rate was $50.00 not $60.00 for 4 persons. Showers work on 0.50c coins for a good hot 7 min. shower, and that is correct the price of the showers are not included in the price, others charge $2.00 for 3min. other Motorpark down the road from us charges $68.00 for 4 persons with unlimited showers still much...

Reviewed 15 January 2016

We stayed here in a large camper truck while returning to Central Otago from Westland. This site was closen as it was less expensive than the Top 10 up the road. The facility appears to be an old Ministry of Works site. The communal facilities have a 1970s government vibe about them. The bathrooms were pretty clean, and showers are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed the only one night in haast. A receptionist is very kind and described about hostel very well. The room was a dorm which I stayed. Very clean with an awesome warm heater!! The kitchen is massive and well equipped !! The car park is also cool as and good view !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Red0826
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Staff were friendly and we got a nice enough room allocated to us. Nothing too spectacular about the motor park - but the wider setting is very green and forested and we woke up to tuis singing in the trees, with lots of atmospheric mist around. Easy walk to the Hard Antler (or similar name) pub - which served great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoiBertwick
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Common facilities very comfortable including wood fire lounges and television. . Kitchen and showers clean and seven minutes for 50 cents plenty with good water pressure. Enjoyed our stay before heading over the pass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
London
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

The lodge is clean and the staff are friendly. However, the facilities are outdated and overpriced. WiFi is charged out at the extortionate price of $5 an hour, after the first free hour. Hot water and lighting for the showers are also expensive - 50c for seven minutes! The kitchen facilities are poor. Overall, disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Modbridge
haastlodge, Manager at Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review, we do believe we are priced fairly, 0.50 cent for the shower is given to you on check-in for convenience and operates the showers for a good 7 min, this offers a very good shower with lots of water pressure. No sure what your complaint of 0.50 being expensive was about as it was given...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Haast Lodge Motor Park. A basic area to park up your caravan or Motor home on a shingle area, which is necessary when they have very heavy rain in this area. Amenities are across a car park a little way from camp sites, but are adequate.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IansTrippings

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
3.4 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
1.5 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Aspiring Court Motel
#2 of 2 in Haast
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
25 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
16 reviews
66.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideal stop over located halfway between the Glaciers and Queenstown. We offer quality accommodation for every budget. Our range consist of self-contained studio rooms, buget double, twin, dorms rooms all with shared facilities, powered van site and tent sites. We are an easy walk from iconic Hard Antler Bar and Restaurant and shops. Activities in the area consist of River Safaries on either the Waiatoto or the Haast, helicopter flights, bush and beach walks, scenic Jackson Bay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Address: Marks Road | Haast, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 0000, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Price Range: £15 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park New Zealand/South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Motel rooms are excellent quality. Backpacker rooms are away from Motel - are excellent quality, clean, and amenities very good.”
 of 5 bubbles cneill2015, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Take plenty of food and fuel with you”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrO7155PS, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ground rooms were near the communal kitchen and lounge which we liked”
 of 5 bubbles Crestwood, 10 Apr 2013 | Read review
3 of 3