We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is located at the corner of the Main Road and the Cook Flat Road. If you go to Fox Glacier by Intercity Bus, tell the driver the name of the hotel and he would drop you exactly at the entrance of the hotel. I stayed for one night and found the staff friendly and helpful. The standard room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I read a lot of mixed reviews of the hotel and was little skeptical at first for the booking but now I believe I made the right choice. The hotel and its management was generous enough to upgrade our room as we are on Honeymoon trip....and ofcourse...thanks for the complimentary bottle of wine. The bar (white pub) is the most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pswetaagarwal
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I was 7 month pregnant when I visited New Zealand this past Christmas with my husband and 5 year old daughter. What a beautiful country, until I had to spend 2 nights in this hole hotel. The beds are 20 years old and broken, when I said that I wouldn't mind changing room even if it meant paying extra, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great - a few minutes to the trail to go see Fox Glacier, and right by restaurants and stores. Staffs I interacted with were very nice and friendly. This hotel was very pricy for what they offer - we paid about $210NZD (~$150 USD), and it didn't even come with breakfast or anything. The room/bathroom was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HM1212
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning HM1212, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fox Glacier in the future. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The quality of the rooms was grand (i.e. Ok)... but at $180 room only, it was by no means cheap. We didn't book in advance and rocked up... they did let us see the room before we chose to stay and they were OK, but quite a walk from reception (in an outbuilding in fact!). Didn't eat or use any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnny C
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Johnny C, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier. Our accommodation rooms have been recently refurbished and we are extremely proud of the level of accommodation we have available to our guests. As a recommendation for future I would advise it is a good...

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Unfortunately accommodation is limited and, therefore expensive, in Fox Glacier and we left our booking too late and Heartland Hotel was our only option. The hotel is old and, although our room was renovated it was still disappointing. We had an end room and had workmen walking around on the fire escape outside our window smoking. There was a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sallyjanep
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Sallyjanep, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us. It is a shame to hear you were unable to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep due to the noise coming from the neighbouring room. We have taken your comments into consideration to ensure this does not occur in the future. I hope you...

London
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This is a lodge style establishment set in a back woods location similar to many in the USA. But whilst the American motels/hotels can be a little rustic and run down, this place is not back woods in any way. The rooms are clean and well laid out. The beds comfortable and the bathrooms modern. The free wifi is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AddickMark
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning AddickMark, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay in Fox Glacier. Our town certainly has a unique charm to it - I am pleased to hear this was well received on your trip. Don't be a stranger - we would love to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Melissa...

Reviewed 2 December 2016

I personally found this property to be conveniently located at a distance of about 5Km from the popular tourist attraction of Lake Matheson, and also did not have any bad experience with hotel rooms or staff. The breakfast offered a good variety, and the rooms offered more than what I expected to get when I choose to stay in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noobellar
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Noobellar, Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Fox Glacier, it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are fortunate to have a number of walks and attractions very close to the hotel - we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I would have assessed the Hotel as GOOD if there is this option. I didn't realize the photos are on the web are those old ones. The refurbished rooms are fantastic, very clean, resort style. We stayed at the ground floor which is very easily accessible to hotel reception and restaurant. It was raining all the time in Fox Glacier,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripKnowFun
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning TripKnowFun, We hope you had a excellent time on your trip in New Zealand - it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished hotel rooms. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Nice old hotel with beautiful scenery. We arrived after our glacier helicopter ride, and checked-in for a night. We had our dinner at the hotel and departed the next morning. Actually, there are other activities we would like to do. Anyway, there’s always a next time. About the hotel – Room – regular size, clean & comfortable. Dinner – good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phils00n
Melissa-A-Alexander, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Good morning Phils00n, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your stay with us - it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fox Glacier in the future so you can work on completing your list of activities. Kind regards, Melissa Alexander General Manager

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
155 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: £88 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check your TV is working.”
 of 5 bubbles AddickMark, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid main floor rooms. Ask for a room with a king bed.”
 of 5 bubbles l0vet0travelCalgary, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“not sure there is a "good" room”
 of 5 bubbles carmenwtx, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that opens on to the balcony. They seemed to be more spacious & had baths; and the balcony area adds to the appeal.”
 of 5 bubbles tlm999, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the pub/café are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles R0bynb, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay