We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

663 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 607: English reviews
Start your review of Te Waonui Forest Retreat
 Click to rate
Dubai
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was so nice and great shame was we didn't manage to stay longer. We were greeted by one of the management in traditional Maori dress who gave us a briefing of the hotel facilities in a lovely lounge area. Room was beautiful set in a forest location. To make visit special there was even champagne on offer at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CummingDubai
Sackets Harbor, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well designed, comfortable rooms with magnificent rain forest surroundings, including walking/running trail. Excellent food and dining room service. Deserves an extended stay if you have the time and resources.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmelita B
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Carmelita Thank you for your review and pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us at TW. Yours sincerely Richard

Green Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was fantastic. The view out of our room looked like we were in the middle of a tropical rain forest. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It is also right on the edge of town so you can walk around to the different pubs and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erwin G
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Erwin Thank you for this feedback and glad that you enjoyed our convenient location within Franz Josef Glacier. Yours sincerely Richard

Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Doesn't get any better then this, open your drapes and look right in the forest. Had a beautiful room, clean and big. The setting of this hotel was amazing. Had small trails that were fun to walk just to see what was at the end. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for taking the time to give us your post-stay feedback. Much appreciated. Yours sincerely Richard

United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our overall experience was good. The hotel accommodation was very comfortable and the rooms were large with balconies overlooking the gardens. We experienced the tasting menu which we thought was uninspiring and overpriced. There was a pianist which to us is an acquired taste. The staff were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruceurban
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Bruceurban Thank you for visiting us at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. Apologies for falling short of your restaurant expectations however I am pleased that your overall stay at Te Waonui was a good one. Yours sincerely Richard

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As we were on a Scenic touring holiday of Australia & New Zealand all our hotels are booked by Scenic, this one was one of the better ones, we were upgraded here and how happy we were. Loved the Maori welcome, and the kiwi juice, after a long journey from Christchurch we were made to feel most welcome. Although the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smiler52
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear smiler52 Thank you for taking the time to give us this comprehensive feedback. Yours sincerely Richard

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights, great hotel . Novelty reception by locals dressed up in national costume , great gimmick. Rooms were well equipped as expected and comfy. Shower etc all first class. Restaurant was great first night service by attentive staff brilliant, 5course meal excellent. Breakfast great too. Second night spoilt by Chef who sent out very well done ribeye...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andyjbale
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Te Waonui for one night in December as part of a pit-stop to see the glaciers. The hotel is very well equipped, comfy and clean. The staff are super helpful and will happily help where necessary. We had a 5 course meal the night of our stay and it was very very good. You certainly won't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJOswald
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear DJOswald Thank you for visiting us and we treasure this feedback. Yours sincerely Richard

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Much to our surprise, we we're upgraded to this hotel. Wonderful! We haven't actually checked out yet but I don't think I'll be able to get out of this heavenly bed! Service is excellent, hotel looks clean and staff very attentive. Great piano player which added to the ambiance of the lounge area. Its pricey but one has to maintain...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M M
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear MM Thank you for your review and pleased that we exceeded your overall expectations. Yours sincerely Richard

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Great hotel and super service. Slight problem with one course at our first dinner, this was overcome by a splendid second dinner. Very comfortable room with excellent service. Unfortunately we live a long way away and it is unlikely that we will be ale to repeat a wonderful experience.

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Richard B, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Robert C It was great to welcome you both to Te Waonui Forest Retreat and thank you for your valued post-stay feedback. Enjoy the rest of your time in Aotearoa, New Zealand. Yours sincerely Richard

237 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franz Josef
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
301 reviews
24.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Waonui Forest Retreat

Address: 3 Wallace Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: £355 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Waonui Forest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Te Waonui Forest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Waonui Forest Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Franz Josef
#1 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Te Waonui Forest Retreat staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Queensland, Australia
Cornelius, North Carolina
over a year ago
San Francisco
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Te Waonui Forest Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think all rooms have views over the forest”
CummingDubai, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Any room would be great”
suep688, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay more than one night!”
craigt319, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“From what I could see they are all of equally very good standard.”
CrookieLondon, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Getting upgraded is very helpful”
michaelnW1133CZ, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates