We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

10 Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
10 Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our Cottage was very clean comfortable and well presented, but had thin walls and ceiling which accentuated the noise of the constant rain we had for our 3 day stay. It is close to the main town and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kentman
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed a couple of nights, it was good to have a self contained unit, not linked to other rooms. Parking was easy, right outside our cabin. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful with local advice. Franz is a pretty small place, so it's only a short walk to the local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackydu7
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Jackydu7, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you are able to come back and stay with us – our best rates are always on our own website. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Regards, Logan

Sydney
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed overnight on our visit to the glaciers. The unit was very roomy and clean. Beds were comfortable. Heating meant that it was nice and cozy. Bathroom had all the toiletries that we needed and a hair dryer. Had a little kitchenette which we didn't make use of but would if we were staying longer. Quick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D_R_SydneyAU
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you found the cottage, clean and the beds comfortable and enjoyed our location. We hope the rest of your holiday went well and you are able to stay with us again. Regards, Logan

Reviewed 25 October 2016

I stayed with my sister in one of the cottages with a kitchenette for 5 nights. Great value accommodation, lovely clean utilities. GREAT shower! :D Free wifi and sky available. The beds were super comfortable and rooms were serviced daily. Friendly, helpful staff at the check in desk. A great, central location in Frans Josef within walking distance to most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
Tom S, Manager at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Katie Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team and I are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you both are able to come back to Franz Joseph - for our best rates please book on our website or by calling us. We hope the rest of your trip went well....

Jerrabomberra, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Just stayed one night. Really well located close the the glacier and town, spotless and with THE most comfy bed yet on our travels. Free wifi. Cabins are pretty close together but we slept like the dead.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerraquaffers
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Jerraquaffers, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you have are travelling this way again we hope you are able to stay with us again (for our best rates please look at our own website). We hope the rest of your holiday went well. Regards,...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Odd little unit. Clean and warm but in a pretty ordinary area. No telephone but good free wifi. Ventilation in bathroom quite poor although the unit very clean. Advertised views a little exaggerated. Television reception poor. Within walking distance of local food shop.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry H
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Gary, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found your room very clean. The Cottages are designed by my father to be a modern version of the traditional accommodation for early visitors to Franz Josef, I am sorry it was not fully to your liking. All our bathrooms have frosted opening windows...

cheshire
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We only stayed one night at Ten Cottages, but we were very impressed at the size, cleanliness and comfort of the accommodation. Good beds, fresh toiletries and a great shower. Very happy to recommend for longer stays also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Myself and the team were thrilled to read your comments as we put a lot of effort into making sure guests enjoy their stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and are able to stay with us again. Regards, Logan

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Didn't expect to be staying in an on- site pre fab, but they are great. Spacious with all you need, smallish bathroom but fine. Fridge and small kitchen area. Beds were excellent. Nice patio attached. Short walk to the main street where you could get a meal. Also walking distance to the Kiwi breeding center. All in all very comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank famwood
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Farmwood, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Myself and the team are happy to read you enjoyed your stay. The Cottages were designed by my father to be a modern version of the traditional accommodation early guests to this region stayed in. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our quiet central location and hope...

Reviewed 21 September 2016

Loved this little cottage that we spent 2 nights. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was huge enough for 3 people. Plenty of space for the 2 of us. We got a queen and a single bed. Comes with a kitchen whereby wee can do some light cooking. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YuannieFishie
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi YuannieFishie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our studio cottages. We hope the rest of your holiday went well. Regards, Logan

Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely staff, lovely cottages! We loved our stay here and would definitely stay here again :) The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were full of recommendations and were lovely to talk to. Thankyou!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashlaughton
Tom S, Owner at 10 Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Ashlaughton, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you loved your stay and would stay again, the team puts a lot of effort in so feedback like this is great. Regards, Logan

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
949 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 14 in Franz Josef
257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 14 in Franz Josef
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.2 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#2 of 14 in Franz Josef
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backing onto peaceful greenery, 10 Cottages offers self-contained Cottages with individual balconies. Located just 2 minutes walk from the centre of Franz Josef Village and 3 minutes walk to the Glacier Hot Pools, 10 Cottages is the ideal stop for a holiday in Franz Josef. Guests can enjoy Unlimited Free WiFi and free off-street parking. The 10 Cottages offers views from snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from most rooms and its grounds. All rooms contain a kitchenette with microwave and breakfast making facilities, flat-screen-televisions with satellite channels, hairdryer, electric heating and blankets. There is an onsite launderette and the nearest restaurant is within 100 metres. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks. The 10 Cottages has also arranged discounts for guests with some restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 10 Cottages

Address: 8 Graham Place, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: £62 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 10 Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your 10 Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 10 Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All 10 cottages are very similar and quite close together. Parking is a little tight when full, but enough room for one car per unit.”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere !”
 of 5 bubbles 685garryh, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a 10% discount card at the restaurant next door”
 of 5 bubbles YuannieFishie, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra for the mountain view cottages, the view is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles Rhiannon177, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The WIFI signal is not very strong at least in the unit we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles 283kenh, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay