We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glenfern Villas Franz Josef

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
See the most recent reviews
Showing 485: English reviews
Happywanderers
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

What an absolute hem here......,. Reception staff so friendly, informative and helpful. Telling us about things on site, laundry and. what's in town. Gave info of recommended restaurants -and who provides transport. Also told us about a portable BBQ that we could use (we had great fun) the villas themselves Are huge!! Two bedrooms, spacious double shower. Fab lounge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderers20
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Happywanderers20, Im glad that you seemed to enjoy your stay with us, the staff all work very hard to maintain the high standard for your enjoyable stay. Thanks Kevin

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

As a matter of fact I've not been there, but they let us cancel without a problem when booking.com said it would be to late. That saved us a lot of money and nerves and we're very thankful for that. That alone was reason enough for me to give them 5 Stars, Many places wouldnt give a 100% Refound on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johkhan
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Johkhan, We give a refund if you cancel outside your 48 hours policy. Im sorry that you never made it to Franz Josef in particular Glenfern Villas, maybe next time. Regards Kevin

Mangonui, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We arrived here after a long days driving. The man in reception was very friendly and welcoming. Check in was quick and easy and when we were shown our villa we were blown away by the view. The living room had sliding glass doors which looked straight up into the mountains and there was a small patio area with table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, thanks for the great comments, we try hard to keep the villa at a good standard

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This was the second destination of our honeymoon right after Christchurch. It's a wonderful six hour drive from Christchurch to Franz Josef via Arthur Pass. The route is filled up with scenery and natural beauty and it's a real retreat to the eyes. Just before 3 kilometres before reaching Franz Josef, on the left hand side, you will find these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srikanthbharadwaj
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review, on a fine day the scenery around here is pretty fantastic

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We arrived mid afternoon a greeted by a charming gentleman. Having booked in he showed us to our villa which was just across the road from the Reception Office. On entry we were met by a vast living area with two settees & occasional table together with a table a four chairs. An off shoot of the living area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 585Rodney585
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Rodney, thanks for posting your comments on here. I hope your extra trip back to Haast yesterday wasn't to tiring, and so far we haven't found anything left behind.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 February 2017

stayed for 1 night only as it was pouring and our scenic flights got cancelled so we surrendered the second night due to very average accommodations. No place to eat in there and nearest eating joints are 2-3 kms away . check in closes early so no help in getting any info too. Broken sofas and smelly carpets in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank puzzy28
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Puzzy28, I think that you have posted this on the wrong Motel. 1. We dont have portable heaters in our villas, they are all heated by way of heat pump. 2. All of our sofas have recently been recovered and definitely are not broken. 3. If you arrived after 8.00pm and the reception was closed all you had to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit which had a lovely feel with high ceilings and plenty of room in the main living areas. The weather was extremely cold and wet while we were there but the unit was comfy, warm and dry. The shower was hot and powerful. The car port enabled us to move from car to unit and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, thanks for the safety tip, we do have anther option that we offer families with small people to secure the window.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We booked two nights just in case of bad weather at Glenfern in a semi detached villa as we were going on the helicopter ride to the glacier. We were lucky with the weather for our ride but easily managed to fill the whole day with a walk to the glacier face (about one hour from the car park). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland_Pauline
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hello Roland, thanks for taking the time to post your comments on here.

Brighton
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Having been in hotels for weeks it was lovely to have a neat fully functional kitchen and do our own thing. The one bed villa was a good size and had a great view of snowy mountain tops around the glacier (clouds permitting). Nice lounge with opening glass wall to patio with small table and two chairs (Gas BBQ can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E8887TZmartinp
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for posting on here, we try hard to maintain a good standard.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Great concept, individual villas, we only had 1 night there but wished it could have been more. The large lounge and kitchenette were excellently furnished to a high standard. It was so nice to have a couple of sofas and a DVD a home from home. Lots of restaurants 5 minutes drive down the road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne R
Franzvillas, Manager at Glenfern Villas Franz Josef, responded to this review

Hi Dianne, Thanks for your review. We try hard to think of most things a person on holiday might need. Kevin

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.3 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.7 mi away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
331 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenfern Villas Franz Josef staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Booked through Booking.com Excellent deals and value for moey”
Lynneonekidney, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not having en suite upstairs would not stay with again.”
shirleeh2015, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a villa further away from the highway to reduce noise.”
pgsanjay, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for one not on the boundary with the state highway”
filligirl, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Each villa looked amazing - just enjoy!”
PaulofNottingham, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5