We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

896 reviews
Save
Traveller (197)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (33)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good29%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Special Offer: Breakfast for 2 Included
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (896)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
421
257
102
62
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
421
257
102
62
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelhouston restaurantrobert johnsonthe club loungethe river walkfront deskmajestic theaterlots of historyhouston streetstreet noisebeautiful lobbyan older hotelvalet parkingtwo blockslove this hotelmini fridgeper day
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
511 - 515 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

It didn't ring a bell when we booked the room, but we were ecstatic to learn that the hotel we unsuspectedly were to stay in was the hotel where Ralph Speer recorded the great Robert Johnson in room 411. Stefan at the desk could see...More

Thank Galewoodtraveler
Response from bbrooks2016, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San AntonioResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Galewoodtraveler, We appreciate you taking the time to share to your experience that you had with Stefan. Our associates strive to create a memorable experience for each and every guest that they will never forget. We take great pride in the rich history that...More

Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

My company keeps us here on longer overnights, and sometimes we get in pretty late. This time we arrived around 11:30 at night and our group was hoping to grab a drink and maybe a bite to eat before turning in for the night. After...More

Thank Matthew A
Response from bbrooks2016, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San AntonioResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Matthew A, Thank you for taking the time to share to your experience that you had with Barrett. That is truly the level of service that we strive for and we are very pleased that he went “above and beyond” to create a memorable...More

Reviewed 5 June 2016

If you are seeing a production at the Majestic, this hotel is the optimum location especially if it is raining. It is right across the street from the Majestic. The Gunter is a historic hotel. Sadly Starwood hotels, which include Sheratons, have been bought out...More

Thank Grandmimi
Response from bbrooks2016, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San AntonioResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Grandmimi, Thank you for your valued feedback. We greatly appreciate that you’ve noted our convenient proximity to the Majestic Theatre. Starwood Hotels & Resorts which includes Sheraton’s have been bought out by Marriott International which is an American company based out of Maryland. Thank...More

Reviewed 3 June 2016

This iconic hotel is a treasure for those who love historic hotels with character. Upon arrival, the desk clerk was very friendly and everything was in order. She gave us several recommendations for restaurants located nearby. We were in town to attend a play at...More

Thank Carol W
Response from bbrooks2016, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San AntonioResponded 6 June 2016

Dear Carol W, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and we are humbled to be your choice. We are very proud of the Sheraton Gunter and all of its’...More

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, and next to a parking garage that is only $5 per day. Downside is the rooms are very small. Felt cramped for a couple to get ready in. Air conditioner was extremely loud at night, and did not...More

2  Thank Nick L
Response from bbrooks2016, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San AntonioResponded 2 June 2016

Dear DVilleDave, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that our close proximity to all of the downtown attractions was convenient for you. Thank you for mentioning our Club Lounge of which we are very...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1101102103104105175
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$151 - US$391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$151 - US$391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (197)
Room & Suite (185)
Dining (33)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (15)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pcorpus
9 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Brandy71581 | Reviewed this property |
It wasn't "hot" nor clean when we were there last week, just another disappointment I forgot to post.
0
Votes
delightfuldiva
29 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Francisco G | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
tag302
8 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from vredfield2017 | Reviewed this property |
Valet parking for $34 per night. There is a parking garage across the street for $5-15 per night. If you are going to only be downtown everything is within walking distance.
2
Votes
PreviousNext
1234
Room Tips
"ask for a room with a view"
Read review
"Sorry, can't really help out on which room is quieter- I am a heavy sleeper so as long as the bed is..."
Read review
"Upper floors were quiet.. view rooms are available."
Read review
"6th floor is haunted!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing