We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
#28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,316: English reviews
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the valet to the check in staff, the housekeeping or anyone associated with the Luana, everyone was pleasant and knew their stuff! elevators felt like it was the 12th of never before it got to your floor (The Luana is undergoing replacing the elevators), perfect views for fireworks from neighboring hotels, and able to walk to the Zoo end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiona s
Rosemead, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room was very clean, nice and big, a mini kitchen, great pool. Enjoyed our one night stay. Appreciate the min fridge, microwave oven, and dishes. We checked in tired from a long flight and had a nice rest. Rooms are very noisy as they are downtown. Couldn't sleep with the window open. My daughter really liked the pool. Beach is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dkzapopan
California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location to gas station, stores, and some restaurants. This hotel is within Wakini where you can walk to explore Wakiki. Rooms are clean and spacious. Comes with TV, PS3 for games and DVD, AC, kitchen with all the utensils and plates and mini fridge. Place is not noisy at all. Also comes with iHome docker to use as alarm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathan N
Management response:

Aloha Nathan N. Mahalo for posting at Tripadvisor.com. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at the Luana Waikiki. We are always improving the facilities for our guests and providing friendly and helpful service delivered with Aloha. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Regards, Clem

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on the 8th floor facing south east (Partial Ocean view Upgrade) which offered us a view of the beach, the park and the street as well as a fairly central location. The wine tasting that is held three times per week is great. The room was clean, bright, airy and comfortable with a decent sized kitchenette. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve and Trine W
Management response:

Aloha Steve and Trine W, Thank you for posting on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad you enjoyed the bright, airy, comfortable and clean rooms. The staff enjoy caring for our guests as if they are guests in our home. We appreciate your patience with the elevator modernization. Our first brand new modernized elevator is operating flawlessly and had already made a...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this hotel via Costco travel and stayed in room 1409. This hotel is a condominium hotel and each room owned by different owners. The staff maintaining the facility is friendly and helpful. Parking is $35.- per day. Parking is only valet parking to avoid accidents the staff explained. There are 3 elevators, only 2 are working and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NCguest2015
Management response:

Aloha NCguest2015, Thank you for posting on tripadvisor.com. Am sorry your overall experience of Waikiki was not what you were expecting. But am glad that you enjoyed exploring the island of Oahu. There are many activities to experience and sights to see. We appreciate your patience while we complete the elevator modernization. A second elevator will complete modernization soon, which...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lots of things to like about the hotel: friendly staff, free happy hour twice a week, beach towel service, nice pool deck, free movie rentals, great location with easy access to beach and bus lines. Physically, however, this hotel is a bit run down. Our bathroom shower was very difficult to adjust, our balcony was a bit dirty with strange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank junior1112
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never been to Oahu before, so when we planned this trip, I bought a package through Costco. I did this when I traveled to Florida several years ago, and the property was beautiful. I expected the same here, but my expectations were not met. After staying here, I can honestly say that I am disappointed that Costco even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DrBrightside2010
Management response:

Aloha DrBrightside2010, Thank you for posting on Tripadvisor.com, We are sorry you did not have a positive experience and that the noises of Waikiki disturbed your stay. I am also a light sleeper and am not used to city/high rise noises. We did our best to provide you with a complimentary upgrade to a room away from Kalakaua Avenue. We...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a condo at Luana Waikiki that we rented through Homeaway/VRBO. All the staff were friendly and eager to please. The layout of our 1 bedroom condo worked great for the two of us and it was nice having a lanai to drink our coffee on each morning. Luana Waikiki is in a great location to explore the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuvY0ga
Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel through a package with Costco. We had spent 10 days in Maui, and wanted to visit Pearl Harbor and spend a couple of days in Oahu. We didn't know anything about Waikiki, and booked the Luana based upon the Costco recommendation. Aside from being overwhelmed about how crowded Waikiki is, this hotel was very nice. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glo3S
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The right place to stay in Honolulu/Waikiki: - Perfect localization. 1 block from the touristic area of restaurants and shops, still without the noise if you want to rest; - Very good quality vs. price; - 1 block from a car rental company if you want to rent a car for a day on the other side of the island;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMAJR

900 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (696)
Viewed
Room/Suite (176)
Viewed
View from Room (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (233)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Grill area (5)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (38)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette (29)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
480 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
473 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
989 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,228 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking serene Fort DeRussy Park, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites is a boutique hotel located just a short stroll to Waikiki Beach, world-class shopping, and international dining at the Waikiki Gateway. Choose from a variety of exceptionally comfortable accommodations with Hawaiian style decor, including studios with kitchenettes and spacious ocean view suites with full kitchens. Take advantage of our yoga classes on Tues, Thur, Sat & Sun, cool folding & cruise bikes to explore Oahu, and beach chairs & towels. Come see what sets the Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites apart from other Waikiki hotels! With our daily hospitality fee, Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle (complimentary Waikiki shuttle service), daily newspaper, in room coffee, in room safe, local & toll-free calls, and water in lobby. Enjoy the manager's reception on Mon, Wed & Friday from 5p-6p which features wine, cheese, and craft beer service, and live Hawaiian entertainment. You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, BBQ area & fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

Address: 2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: £141 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Luana Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Luana Waikiki
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
54 questions
Ask a question
Mandan, North Dakota
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (54)

Questions? Get answers from Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“facing any direction, you will get a great view”
 of 5 bubbles fionas990, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“South east rooms are fairly quiet and offer a decent view”
 of 5 bubbles SteveandTrineW, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a partial-ocean view”
  • View from 12th room floor city view
  • Bed
  • View Straight out Partial Ocean View Room
  • Room 1014 - One Queen, One Hideabed
 of 5 bubbles DrBrightside2010, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from the first floor. The elevators are turned off at night. If it doesn't come in five minutes, call the desk.”
  • View from the back stairs. Great place to watch the sunrise!
 of 5 bubbles 890susanl, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher the room, the better room you get.”
 of 5 bubbles therman1936, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay