We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,175: English reviews
Start your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel
 Click to rate
NYC
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I stayed here while visiting friends. Our last visit we stayed at the Royal Hawaiian. While I would contend the Queen Kapiolani isn't on the same level, the hotel is ideally situated and for the price can't be beat. The hotel could use a facelift as it's a bit dated. However, the staff is super pleasant, our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ghost11365
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed in this hotel before so when I returned to Honolulu, I decided to stay at this hotel again. However, I was disappointed with the stay this time as the room was small and requires renovation. The room also doesn't feel very clean especially the carpet. Bed wasn't very comfortable as well. Like what another reviewer mentioned, the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron O
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here during the week of my wedding along with most of my 70+ guests from all over the world. The Queen Kapiolani and their staff did such an amazing job welcoming me and my guests that we did not want to leave! The location is unbeatable and the views from my room of both Diamond Head and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey W
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a large group attending a wedding on the island. The location is great, everything you need is walking distance. Super view of Diamond Head & the Honolulu Zoo from some rooms, fabulous view of Waikiki Beach from others. All rooms were clean & well-equipped & prices were super reasonable for such a great location. The staff went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K N
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is good. Very close to the bodyboard beach and across from the Honolulu Zoo. The facility is old and the rooms are more 2.5 Star and 3 Star. The staff is solid. Expect a resort fee - which is typical of places in Honolulu, but still feels like an "extra profit" fee for no real benefits given. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JnDenver
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked on Hotwire and must have been given the worst room. Although there were 2 twin beds, there was only room for one suitcase. The other suitcase had to be placed on top of the in room safe. The room did not have room for a chair, so we had to sit on the beds and wifi was spotty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKY52
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KKY52, Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us on your recent visit to Honolulu. We appreciate your compliments on our convenient location to public transportation and all the local options for shopping, dining, and entertainment. However, we are surprised at your comments regarding the room you received and are curious if you had an opportunity...

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

the staffs are excellent . easy to street parking , espiecially from 6pm to 6 am all free.easy access to Waikiki beach. walk distance about 100 m. parking staffs are very very knowledgeable regarding the parking spaces. this hotel is beside the one of the famous burger houses, Teddy burger and ABC store which is famous convenience store in Hawaii...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harryhong67
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Hi harryhong67, Thank you for choosing Queen Kapiolani Hotel on your recent visit to Honolulu. We see that our close proximity to the beach, zoo, aquarium, and countless options for local entertainment were an added benefit to your stay and we appreciate this insight for our future guests. We've shared your compliments with the team and are excited for our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Am on my last day here after a week and have had the best time ever,staff are all very helpfull and very friendly,rooms bit dated but still very comfortable and cleaned every day.we stayed on 17th floor with fab ocean views ,loved every morning looking out our window right into the zoo and seeing flamingos .ideal location for sight seeing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce R
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel on your recent visit to Honolulu, Bruce R. It's a pleasure to read that our team contributed to your memorable experience and we're happy to hear that the breathtaking views from your guest room were a wonderful start to each day. Your comments on our convenient location are valuable to...

Kamuela, hawaii
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For $140 a night there are much better hotels in the Waikiki / Honolulu area.. my room my small, very out dated. The shower was small. I'm mean small. The shower head was shorter then me. I'm 5'10. I would not stay there again..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephsH6936VP
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Hi josephsH6936VP, We are surprised to read your comments regarding your recent experience with us in Waikiki. Your feedback is not typical to the usual follow up we receive and the team would be happy to discuss your stay in greater detail if you would like to share your contact information with us privately. We hope to have the opportunity...

Mequon, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at Waikiki Beach knowing where our hotel, the Queen Kapiolani, was located as we had seen it there when we visited three years ago. It is one block from the beach, and across from the Zoo. We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and chose a standard room first our two week stay. Photos showed desent size room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24trips
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 24trips, Thanks for choosing Queen Kapiolani Hotel on your recent visit to Honolulu. We're happy to hear that the team was able to promptly assist you with getting into a room of your liking. Please feel free to reach out to us if we can assist you with anything during the rest of your stay. Enjoy!

1,232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (783)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (62)
Viewed
View from Room (162)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (112)
Viewed
Other (284)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Diamond Head View Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (84)
Viewed
Jr Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool (41)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Standard Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (39)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (33)
Viewed
Standard Room with Ocean View (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#63 of 85 in Honolulu
477 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 85 in Honolulu
1,691 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#62 of 85 in Honolulu
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#33 of 85 in Honolulu
999 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 85 in Honolulu
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Kulana Restaurant
Kulana Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range: £126 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queen Kapiolani Hotel staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Queen Kapiolani Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a front corner for Waikiki Beach & Diamond Head views”
 of 5 bubbles 158kn, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor...”
 of 5 bubbles JnDenver, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Diamond Head view would be fine. 4th floor a little bit noisy because of swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles harryhong67, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room with view facing sea ,1715 was fab”
 of 5 bubbles BruceR184, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you want a view ask before booking. 'City views' the side street where all the smokers stood and the garbage and delivery trucks drove.”
 of 5 bubbles Spiderweb2719, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5