We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

Visit hotel website
Traveller (4203)
Room & Suite (1195)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, a Waikiki Beach resort in Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. We offer a beautiful and amenity-filled oceanfront setting right on Waikiki Beach.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Airport Transportation
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Green
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
252Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
78Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
5,928Reviews
4,864Photos
105Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,956
  • 1,668
  • 684
  • 318
  • 302
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A stay at this hotel will ruin your vacation. My partner has platinum status with SPG and we travel together extensively. We've never been so disgusted by a hotel in our lives! Upon check-in we were informed that we wouldn't have platinum privileges during our stay. This is
Read more
Response from MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded yesterday
Aloha stazytravels, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Thank you also for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy member. At the Moana, our associates take pride in providing the traditions of providing Hawaiian hospitality to our guests. It is their passion to personalize experiences, exceed expectations, and share the aloha spirit. As such we are disappointed to hear when we have failed to provide this to our guests. Please know that we will be sharing your comments with our team so this not occur and we can make improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again so you may see improvements. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team
Read more
Stayed here as a splurge for part of a recent trip. The grounds and courtyard dining options all make you feel so relaxed and appreciative of the history that the property oozes. The rooms in the main building are understandably a bit dated for the price, but considering the
Read more
Response from MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha Dave S, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear you had a memorable stay with us. From relaxing under the banyan tree with views of the Waikiki's beautiful sunset to taking strolls through the grounds of the Moana, I hope the Moana memories of your stay will be fondly remembered. We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha), Karen W. Guest Experience Team
Read more
+1
I have always wanted to stay here and so happy I finally did. It is such a special place. Aloha from the moment I arrived. All the staff was nice throughout my visit. View was the best! Can hear the waves an fun as well. Yes, bathroom and tv are small - seriously? I prefer
Read more
Response from MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Aloha sjkoen, Thank you for staying with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. It is delightful to hear you had enjoyed your stay and had found the Moana to be a special place. Opening in 1901, we have continued on a tradition of providing Hawaiian hospitality and unforgettable Moana memories with each of our guests. And we are truly happy when guest feel the genuine aloha and create some fond memories with us. We hope the memories of this stay will be fondly remembered until your next visit. Me Ke Aloha Pumehana (with warm aloha), Karen W. Guest Experience Team
Read more
Upgraded to an ocean front suite, which was the best decision of the trip. Room was perfect with large balcony overlooking the beach. Great sunsets and access to the Beach Club was very cost effective. Sun, sand and surf at the bback door made this a perfect location. So much
Read more
Response from MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha Matthew P, Mahalo for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear you had enjoyed your time. Thank you also for taking the time to share your experience. As the first hotel on Waikiki Beach in 1901, the Moana began a rich tradition of Hawaiian hospitality. Today, we aim to effortlessly blend the old-world charm and natural surroundings with modern comforts and amenities for our guests to unwind, relax, and rejuvenate. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the offerings of the Beach Club Lounge overlooking the shores of beautiful Waikiki Beach, as well as enjoyed relaxing moments at the balcony of your room – what a wonderful way to spend a day in paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana for another perfect stay. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team
Read more
This Hotel is very nostalgic and romantic a perfect place to create everlasting Hawaiian memories. Is not only a perfect place for a wedding reception, but also a perfect place for families with children. Everything is within walking distance to the Hotel. It is also Ocean
Read more
Response from MarriottWaikiki4, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 4 days ago
Aloha HulaGirls123, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear we were able to create some everlasting Hawaiian memories with you. From the beautiful oceanfront views of Waikiki Beach, the grandeur of the Moana, to the heavenly lavender scent we hope the Moana memories of your stay will be fondly remembered. Mahalo, Karen W. Guest Experience Team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
View from my room
Balcony in my room
My room had twin beds with 2 rocking chairs facing the Ocean. It was such an experience to sit there and watch the sunsets.
Photo provided by managementMoana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Guest room
Photo provided by managementMoana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Guest room
PreviousNext
123456239
Yes, they charge for beach chairs and umbrellas. They also have cabanas at the pool that are extra in you like. We just used what was available for all guests at the pool and it was fine. The cabanas are not a good idea for anyone sitting behind them as the totally block the view of the beach.
0 votes
Show all answers
The cost is $60.00 from 7:30am-1:00pm to rent a beach umbrella and it is done at the pool desk. If you wait until after 1 o’clock you can rent the beach umbrella for $40 until 5:30pm. To get a pool towel you must show your room key. Hope this helps. Aloha! 🤙🏼
1 vote
Show all answers
I would agree. We have only stayed in the Tower Wing which, depending on the room and price, has partial beach views, city views or diamond head views. If the strike is still on ( it was 10 days ago) I would not want a city view room as they were picketing on the street below from 7am with chanting and megaphones.
1 vote
Show all answers
I saw yoga class going on when I was there, but you might want to double check with the hotel staff. The gym was available, and they still offered the program where guests can borrow workout wear, including shoes. I’ve done this for several years, and it’s helpful to not have to pack my bulky shoes. Enjoy your trip!
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345621
"rooms towards the street side are a bit on the noisy side"
"Upgrade to an ocean suite. Beach Club access is included"
"Rooms on the courtyard/ocean side are much quieter than the street"
"Rooms on the city side can be noisy."
"The original bunyan rooms are really magical!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$293 - US$660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moana surfrider, a westin hotel honolulumoana surfrider, a westin resort and spawestin moana surfridermoana surfrider westin resortwestin honoluluhonolulu westin
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
791
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing