We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Sportsman's Arms Hotel

    P.O. Box 3, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality 10400, Kenya
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    03/12/2017 04/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanyuki TownSee available hotels in Nanyuki Town
    Traveller (25)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
    945 reviews
    #1 of 8 hotels in Nanyuki Town
    4.7 mi
     
    Aberdare Country Club
    321 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Aberdare National Park
    25.7 mi
     
    The Ark
    483 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Aberdare National Park
    31.3 mi
     
    Alba Hotel Meru
    136 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Meru Town
    38.8 mi
     
    Overview
    • Excellent7%
    • Very good19%
    • Average35%
    • Poor25%
    • Terrible14%
    7 Mar 2017
    “A night in Nanyuki”
    22 Feb 2017
    “Mountain Bliss........”
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Meeting Rooms
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (77)
    There are newer reviews for The Sportsman's Arms Hotel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    21 - 25 of 76 reviews

    Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

    We stayed at this hotel for a weekend away. I was skeptical of the place after listening to many negative reviews. I found the place affordable and the room was clean. The management seem to be trying to improve standards but not quite hitting the...More

    2  Thank Terry N
    Response from Sportsmans Arms H, Front Office Manager at The Sportsman's Arms HotelResponded 2 September 2016

    Dear Terry, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I appreciate your candidness in the review of the various aspects of our service. I have duly noted the concern in the food production, quality of towel and the bathroom area....More

    Reviewed 4 July 2016

    Arranged for a team to stay here in June for a work thing, they all checked out after the first night; old rooms, some without hot water in the biting Nanyuki chill, very slow service, poor internet connectivity, unappetizing meals, and the bar only cares...More

    3  Thank ndanua
    Response from Sportsmans Arms H, Front Office Manager at The Sportsman's Arms HotelResponded 2 September 2016

    Dear Ndanua, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. Your review, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. First and fore most I would like...More

    Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

    I stayed at Sportie for 5 days in April while in Nanyuki for work. It was a blind selection as the other hotel we had wanted was fully booked during that period. It's a decent facility with expansive grounds that also seem popular with weddings....More

    1  Thank Poiśon I
    Response from Sportsmans Arms H, Front Office Manager at The Sportsman's Arms HotelResponded 2 September 2016

    Dear Poiśon I Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you got to experience quite a number of the facilities and services the hotel has to offer. I am sincerely sorry about the experience at the restaurant....More

    Reviewed 31 May 2016

    Was there for a 2 day workshop and really enjoyed the stay, especially in the new building, it is well organized. You should upgrade all the buildings though....my colleagues who came earlier were given the old buildings and they had a bad experience. Otherwise Keep...More

    1  Thank hillarykorir
    Response from Sportsmans Arms H, Front Office Manager at The Sportsman's Arms HotelResponded 2 September 2016

    Dear Korir, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading some of our older rooms. Next time you visit us, you sure will have a great experience...More

    Reviewed 28 May 2016

    Stuck in Nanyuki for the night and we required gated parking. We chose the Sportsman based on colleague's experiences in the past. We didn't have very good internet so we called and were quoted 6750 KSH for a double. When we got there we realized...More

    1  Thank Jim F
    Response from Sportsmans Arms H, Front Office Manager at The Sportsman's Arms HotelResponded 2 September 2016

    Dear Jim, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. It is regretful to read the unpleasant service you experienced at our hotel. This is indeed contrary to the excellent standard of customer care that we endeavor to achieve. This matter was addressed...More

    Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
    945 reviews
    #1 of 8 hotels in Nanyuki Town
    4.7 mi
     
    Aberdare Country Club
    321 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Aberdare National Park
    25.7 mi
     
    The Ark
    483 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Aberdare National Park
    31.3 mi
     
    Alba Hotel Meru
    136 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Meru Town
    38.8 mi
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Room Service
    • Free Internet
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Room Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Room types
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 23
    • Location
    • Kenya >
    • Rift Valley Province >
    • Laikipia County >
    • Nanyuki Municipality >
    • Nanyuki Town
    • Also Known As
    • The Sportsman's Arms Hotel Kenya/Nanyuki Town
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (25)
    Pool & Beach (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Dining (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (18)
    Nearby
    Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
    945 reviews
    4.71 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    LE RUSTIQUE LTD
    143 reviews
    .49 miles away
    Kongoni Camp
    96 reviews
    .56 miles away
    Cape Chestnut Laikipia Sip & Dine Nanyuki
    72 reviews
    .95 miles away
    Carol's Cafe
    19 reviews
    .41 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Ol Pejeta Conservancy
    328 reviews
    8.32 miles away
    Mount Kenya
    345 reviews
    19.97 miles away
    Thomson Falls
    53 reviews
    49.37 miles away
    Thomson's Falls
    168 reviews
    49.46 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from The Sportsman's Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "The 700 series rooms are the best overlooking Mt Kenya."
    Read review
    "Ask for the rooms in the new wing that is near the swimming pool."
    Read review
    "if staying here kindly go for the new wings as they are tastefully furnished.best views are the rooms facing..."
    Read review
    "Choose the newer blocks of rooms. Older sections are dated and may be uncomfortable for those with allergies..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing