We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Weligama Bay Resort

Agoda.comUS$115*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$128*
US$115*
Great Deal
US$128*
US$128*
US$115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Weligama Bay Resort
Weligama Bay Resort
Panoramas (31)
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 256: English reviews
Start your review of Weligama Bay Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is spacious and tidy overall. It is close to the beach and suit for surfing. Yet the staff is unfriendly and unhelpful. The only smile we get is when the manager trying to ask us to leave a positive comment on tripadvisor. But after that he used a bad and unhelpful attitude towards us when we seek for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
Reviewed 1 week ago

I along with my wife and two kids spent a night last april. The room was spacious. \very clean. It had basically everything we would asked for. The hotel is along the beach so it was really nice. The staff was very nice. The lady at the reception, ?charika was very friendly. Almost all the guests were foreigners and i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liyanage P
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spend 2 night at Weligama bay resort. Is a nice resort, they have everything you need, good breakfast, nice people, friendly service. Is a good place for surfing also, if u love to surf. They have good security, the lock the front gate after 11pm. Overall we are satisfied with stay. They only thing need to watch out those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthiaxyw
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 4th hotel we stayed in during our first Sri Lanka trip, and we stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, feel so insecure and the service is terrible. Asked for toothbrush on the first night arrival and been told no more toothbrush and shop is closed so wont able to provide and instruct me to ask again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denisechan2015
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Denisechan2015 We are sorry you didn´t enjoy last part of your Sri Lanka trip. However, we have a strong feeling that your comments about Weligama Bay Resort were influenced by your bad experience with your trip to whale watching in Mirissa. From your words it´s clear you liked our room size and its tidiness. The thing we would like...

Jaipur, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were spacious ,neat & comfortable with a balcony facing the beach. The breakfast provided had a widespread. The beach is shallow so we relaxed and enjoyed viewing the surfers. Staff was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarojhooja
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

.Perfect place. The rooms are spacious clean and very nice. Location is great,it's on the beach and great for surfing. The staff is very nice and helpful. Very good breakfast and big variety of food. In one word it's HEAVEN

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy N
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Judy N. It is pleasure for us and our staff to read such a positive review. We are always happy when our efforts meet the expectations of guests as the guests and their satisfaction are always our main concern. Thank you for choosing Weligama Bay Resort for your stay as well as for your kind review. We would be...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall great stay in a garden villa for a family with small children not looking for any greater activities or adventures every day. Close to pool, beach, surf and restaurant in this nice bay area. Very friendly staff, sincere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nils B
Rockland, Maine
Reviewed 22 April 2017

I don't need fancy to be happy and this place was the perfect balance of beautiful, tasteful, thorough and thoughtful. The hotel is by the beach, a beautiful beach with lots of incredible fishing boats nearby. They have a nice, well-kept pool near the beach. All of the staff was wonderful. The rooms were very nice and kept well. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 44stones-Jenny
Dinesh K, Manager at Weligama Bay Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jenny Thank you for your lovely words addressed to Weligama Bay Resort. You definitely had a plenty of time to know our hotel and service during your 2 weeks stay. Therefore, we feel proud while reading your kind review. Since beginning we designed the hotel as a nice and tranquil place which was built with respect to surrounding nature....

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Beachside location with fantastic views of the ocean, extremely welcoming staff, excellent food and very clean rooms. We stayed for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pksalvesen
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We had a really nice time here; staff were very friendly and helpful; food was delicious. Try the club sandwich. We shared it was so big!! Nice to lounge a whole day on PADDED sun beds. Expensive but worth it. It was a treat for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiaOrafromABS

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (116)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Family Suite (70)
Viewed
Junior Suite (48)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weligama
2.3 mi away
Cape Weligama
Cape Weligama
#1 of 12 in Weligama
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
W15
W15
#3 of 12 in Weligama
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Surfer
The Surfer
#2 of 12 in Weligama
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
We Escape
We Escape
#6 of 12 in Weligama
42 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
Fisherman's Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Weligama
131 reviews
14.0 mi away
Thaproban Pavilion Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Weligama Bay Resort is 4**** property with 24 rooms and suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weligama Bay Resort

Address: Matara Road | Pelena, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Matara > Weligama
Price Range: £78 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Weligama Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Weligama Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weligama Bay Hotel Weligama
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Weligama
#3 Luxury Hotel in Weligama
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Weligama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Weligama Bay Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Paris, France
4 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Weligama Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try one facing the pool.”
liyanagep2015, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“I think all the rooms look out toward the beach, which is very close!”
44stones-Jenny, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bungalows are nearer the beach Although rooms in hotel have a nice view of the beach”
francisv492, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try a different hotel”
Rickdees23, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All good with sea views”
M3556SWjasonp, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$115* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$128
TripAdvisorUS$115
PricelineUS$119
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates