We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 252: English reviews
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We had an awesome experience during our stay at Mahoora Safari Camp. It was the first camp accomodation for our vacation trip in our life and I was afraid it would be a kind of a challenge. But our staying there was quite comfortable. We were upgraded and had all the necessary facilities and some elements of luxury comfort. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2sasha2016
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Thank you for writing in detail about your experience. Our staff are extremely happy to see the detailed descriptions. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay and hope to see you back again in your future travels.

Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We had a fantastic time at Mahoora Yala. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was very good. Our naturalist and driver for the safari's were both very friendly and obviously instrumental in our sighting of 4 leopards! The campsite has a smart layout that affords privacy without leaving you too far from the central area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laughing_Cabbage
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

We are delighted to see that you had great sightings and a fantastic stay with us . We are equally appreciative of your comments on the campsite set up, the staff etc. Thank you for taking time to write, We are truly glad to see your review!

Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Our expectations were most definitely exceeded here. We were looked after beautifully, even upgraded during our stay. From the second we arrived the staff were anticipating our needs, providing us with welcome drinks, people to carry our bags and give us a tour. It is exceptionally well managed from early wake up calls for yhe safari to dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

We are really glad to see the comments and the details of your review. Thank you for taking time and recommending us. We hope that you would be back to experience more of what we offer in your future travels.

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Initial welcome was lovely but short lived. Quickly felt on the back foot regarding how many safari's we had booked. They said 2, we said 4! We sorted it and it was 4! Not the best start. Our tent was clean and tidy but dated. Definitely not luxury. Holes in walls and I don't understand the tiny lock on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bron J
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write and share your expression in such details. We noted all the great remarks and understand that you had a fine stay, Thank you for bringing the areas that you had concern, We are happy that they were addressed and that your stay in general was delightful. We hope to see you...

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Mahoora location is next to Yala national park separated by barb wire the Mahoora side and electrically charged fences on national park side. The classic tent we booked for a day was comfortable and we had all three meals specially a nice candle light family dinner all dinner tables were surrounded to central bonfire. We preferred evening safari which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mbhoda
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

We are really happy to see that you had a great stay, Thank you very much for writing in details, Your comments on your stay including the appreciation for the Camp Manager and staff are invaluable for us. We hope that you would be back to enjoy more of what we offer

Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Great experience. Very well organized & comfortable. Lovely srilanka not lunch. Would have liked srilanka not food for dinner also but it was still nice. Safaris great. Our driver very good & keen to show us as much as possible. Seemed to be better at spotting & more enthusiastic than our naturalist.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haroldjohn
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the review . We are glad that you had a great stay ! Both the naturalist and the driver are delighted to see your comments. We hope that you would be back to savour more !

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We had a wonderful two days at Mahoora and would definitely recommend it. We were surprised with an upgrade and this applied not only to the tent but the whole package, with four private safaris, with the most experienced driver/guide and naturalist. Everything was excellent: service, food etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather I
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are truly glad that you had a great time with us!

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Lots of things to like about this place; close proximity to the Park, smiley staff, free-flow tea, coffee and alcoholic drinks, spectacular evening meal set-up under the Milky Way with a roaring camp fire burning away at the centre...But for the price, one kind of expects all the above, no? What we did not expect - and what is deeply...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LAURENCE W
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and comments. We are glad that you found several positive aspects of your stay. We thank you for comments and consider them for improvements as we go on our journey to provide the best customer experience!

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

The area was excellent, and the staff went above and beyond to supply us with everything we needed. Monkey running around the tents added to the fun of the stay, and the evening dinner around a big camp fire really made it memorable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petter S
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Looking at your brief review we are really glad to see that you had a great stay with us. thank you for writing and sharing your experience. We warmly welcome you back to stay with us!

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Having been to Africa on three separate safari trips one could say that I have some experience as far as safari camps are concerned. But never have I ever been ripped of more than here. For context I was with my mother and father. After travelling from Nuwara-Eliya to Uda-Walawe we arrived at the campsite, the staff showed us our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ties B
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and writing in detail. Having read your review we understand that there were not too many things that you liked about your stay . We are sincerely sorry for the same , as you can see even in other reviews , we have high level of satisfaction among our guest and it...

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (193)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yala National Park
11.8 mi away
Jetwing Yala
Jetwing Yala
#1 of 2 in Yala National Park
1,174 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cinnamon Wild Yala
Cinnamon Wild Yala
#1 of 2 in Kirinda
1,403 reviews
11.3 mi away
Big Game Camp
Big Game Camp
#1 of 3 in Katagamuwa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Yala Safari Camping
Yala Safari Camping
#6 of 35 in Yala National Park
66 reviews
11.9 mi away
Laya Safari
Laya Safari
#3 of 35 in Yala National Park
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
Kulu Safaris Sri Lanka
#4 of 35 in Yala National Park
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mahoora is a holistic experience from your arrival to the departure focused on living in the wild and wildlife viewing and not just an accommodation option only.All the Safaris are included in the price. Mahoora safaris include high quality Safari Jeep / all the entrance and permit fees, sumptuous picnic basket and an unlimited supply of chilled beverages and a Mahoora Naturalist to ensure the best animal sightings and interpretations. All of Mahoora elite tents are set-up just prior to your arrival, and are moved out after your departure, thereby minimizing impact on the environment. This "Pack in and Pack out" aspect combined with all other green initiatives; guarantee to make your stay with Mahoora the one of the most environmentally friendly accommodation in Sri Lanka.Mahoora is an all inclusive stay and Tea / coffee, Tropical Fresh Fruit Juices, Beer & Spirits, Wine, and Snacks all are included in to the price. Mahoora's Fine Dining Executive Chefs will prepare tantalizing meals to suit your personal tastes, whilst adding in a few culinary surprises. This is just one aspect of the unique Mahoora adventure which keeps clients returning to the wild, time and time again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala

Address: Yala National Park, Yala National Park 90714, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Yala National Park
Price Range: £448 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahoora Luxury Tented Safari Camp Yala Hotel Yala National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Yala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms looked similar and private.”
 of 5 bubbles haroldjohn, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for all inclusive”
 of 5 bubbles Kjt367, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Elite Tents have a lounge area with comfortable sofa seating.”
 of 5 bubbles 741martin1971, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Tents are spacious but don't expect a lot of lighting inside it, also run the hotwater tap for a long time otherwise it is a cold shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Flynn010, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Close to an extrance, Electricity, Wifi, Attached toilet and shower”
 of 5 bubbles sankathab, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay