We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Verandah House

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“b b”(24 reviews)
“large ensuite”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Wheelchair access
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Verandah House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
89
15
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
15
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb blarge ensuitevisiting friendsguest housewonderful hostssuffolk breakfasttwin roomcooked to perfectionfamily weddinglovely atmospherewonderful staycomfortable bedone night stayshort staycar parktown centrelovely hotel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Found this hotel from friends in the area and wasnt dissapointed.. Very welcoming owners who showed us to our room,gave us our key and we could come and go as we please!! Unfortunately our 4 year old daughter was sick all night from something she...More

Thank Jason B
Response from VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah HouseResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Jason Thank you so much for your kind comments. I do hope your little girl is feeling a lot better now! We understand that children can get very sick when they have eaten something not good, and it happens, we have children ourselves!! We...More

Reviewed 6 September 2014

Theres not a huge choice of B& B in Stowmarket so we ended up trying Verandah house. It is a lovely building with gardens. Parking is a little 'tight' But I think they do their best with that. The owner was very thorough in showing...More

2  Thank Wayfarer834
Response from VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah HouseResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our house and rooms, this means alot to us. As you know it is a very old house and we have brought it back to the comfort with cleanliness you see today. Regarding the breakfasts, as...More

Reviewed 1 September 2014

My mother and I stayed here a few weeks ago whilst visiting family for her birthday. The room was a lovely size and was very clean and homely. We had a lovely walk in shower and big bathroom. The room was absolutely fantastic overall. The...More

Thank Emily B
Response from VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah HouseResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you very much for your review - we really appreciate it. It was lovely having you to stay with us . We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Stowmarket Gianfranco

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I've stayed at Verandah House a few times. It's a strange little place. Well situated for Stowmarket, and the (very) few restaurants in the town. But the owner is very cost-conscious, and clearly makes cuts wherever he can, and seems proud of it. The breakfasts...More

Thank Keef747
Response from VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah HouseResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Sir We have read your comments with great curiosity! We have looked back at our records over the last 6 months and unfortunately we do not appear to have had anyone staying with us from California!! Whilst we have been away ourselves for two...More

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed at the Verandah in the past but not for several years. Pleased to say that standards are still very high. Accomodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately owners were away so breakfast was taken at local Wetherspoons 5 minutes walk away....More

Thank JillMiltonKeynes
Response from VerandahHouse, Owner at Verandah HouseResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. Even though we were away we are so glad that you were looked after, and it was handy for us to have the Willow Tree so near to us to provide breakfast for you. I...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Verandah House staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Our room was ground floor and very quiet."
Read review
"ground floor has a spacious bedroom and shower room."
Read review
"All rooms very nice. Ground floor room for disabled access"
Read review
"We were very happy with our room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing