We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Te Wanaka Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Te Wanaka Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a lovely place to stay. Very convenient location and the facilities are excellent.....including a hot tub in the garden! Coffee and cake available all day plus an honesty bar and a great breakfast. Rooms are modern and spotless. Very helpful front desk staff......thankyou Hayley for your tips on places to visit.

Helpful?
Thank WAP1956
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in a self-contained cottage in a small well looked-after garden. Facilities in our cottage were excellent and if our schedule had allowed we would have liked to stay on as the lodge was well situated for walking into Wanaka.

Helpful?
Thank Anna-Alloway
Silkeborg, Danmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Centrally situated in Wanaka . Unfortunately no air-con and it was Hot. A small shady garden helped and the service in the wooden building was super. Breakfast in common gave lots of possibilities for meeting others and exchange tips about the region.

Helpful?
Thank Doris F
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
325 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

I found Wayne and Mandy very easy to deal with and very helpful. They gave us a property within easy walking distance of Wanaka township and just a couple of blocks from Paradiso Cinema. The place was immaculate, warm and very comfy. The bed was super comfortable. As I wanted to depart early morning after the last night, I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacob15
WEandME, Front Office Manager at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your fabulous feed back about our Wanaka Selection holiday houses. The property you stayed at is a popular house bookable through Te Wanaka. In fact we manage a number of centrally located properties, all within easy walking distance to the down town area. Te Wanaka Lodge is open from 7am through until 9pm so... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

I stayed at Te Wanaka lodge before and after joining a guided trek into Mt Aspiring National Park. I was able to leave me luggage while tramping, and the lodge is centrally located to Wanaka and the trekking company's HQ. The room was very cosy and well appointed, the bed very comfortable - especially after the trek! Delicious breakfast and... More 

Helpful?
Thank avventura2046
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Value for money! Great environment and decent rooms. We had a room right next to the common dining area. Only issue is that sound proofing isn't very good so I could hear almost everything happening and talking as I was a light sleeper. Cooked breakfast was nice with crispy pancakes served! Ski advice and decent discount vouchers were given to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
Mornington, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I are travel all the time, staying from the worst to the best. This is the most welcoming, most accommodating, best bed and breakfast/hotel we have ever stayed at. We were made welcome after a late arrival and the breakfast that was offered every morning was delicious. The room with an amazing view, was perfect with our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mariahrose4
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Had a great stay at Te Wanaka Lodge, 5 nights in the Cottage. The staff was very friendly and helpful, cooked us nice breakfast every morning that we ate at the communial table chatting to the other guests. The outdoor hottub was fantastic after a day on the slopes. Highly recommend and will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Christina K
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Wayne and his wife were very pleasant and helpful during our stay. Made us feel welcome and had some great suggestions for things to do and where to eat in Wanaka. The rooms are cozy and clean. They have a dining room, lounge and TV room that are all great. Their hot tub was perfect for an evening dip after... More 

Helpful?
Thank alalwilson
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Worst experience I have ever had dealing with the management of accommodation. Backpackers are better! They advertise a hot spa but it was not functioning when we were there. There was no hot shower on half of our time there. The general area is noisy. IF we had been offered a nice apology and a courtesy discount of 10% or... More 

Helpful?
Thank zeistar
WEandME, Owner at Te Wanaka Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt this way about the accommodation. You were offered an apology and all issue's (that were in our control) were resolved. I feel DIY work in a neighbouring property is hardly something we could control, but offered nonetheless to sort it, should this continue. Thanks for the input and we will take any suggestions you emailed... More 

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Te Wanaka Lodge is a contemporary European-style ski lodge and B&B, in the heart of Wanaka. The lodge has a great reputation as a fun and friendly place to stay. Te Wanaka is an easy stroll to the lakefront and village centre with restaurants, shops and cafes. On a hot summer day, guests can relax in the private courtyard garden with a local wine from the house-bar. In the winter skiers enjoy complimentary Apres-Ski, in the guest lounges, in front of the log-fire or a soak in the cedar garden hot-tub. Breakfast is served around a huge antique dining table and features a delicious continental and cooked selection. Then whether skiing, golfing, trout fishing in the crystal clear waters, hiking in the Mt Aspiring National Park, or visiting superb local wineries, you will enjoy a memorable day in our spectacular region. All bedrooms have en-suites, balconies and flat-screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Wanaka Lodge

Address: 23 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Price Range: £76 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Wanaka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Te Wanaka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Wanaka Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a room with a small balcony which was great to use after a long day.”
 of 5 bubbles WAP1956, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 9 - it was great.”
 of 5 bubbles alalwilson, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs might be a little more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 762avae, 7 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have a private lounge and reading room with a fire. Very cozy.”
 of 5 bubbles 323leannes, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“top floor rooms have views”
 of 5 bubbles 591DavidR591, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay