We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1615)
Room & Suite (77)
Dining (39)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 9 resorts in Nungwi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Airport transportation
Spa
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Safe
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
517Reviews169Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 328
  • 116
  • 38
  • 13
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Erika F wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Loved being here. It is in the best location and I really enjoyed the food. Was our 2nd visit and we won't hesitate to visit again. Rooms are so clean as is the whole resort. Appreciated the kettle and mini fridge this time. Staff is always friendly. Such a relaxing atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Erika, We're delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us and that you found our resort to be in the best location! It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the food and that you appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the entire resort. We're glad you found the addition of a kettle and mini fridge to be convenient. Our team works hard to maintain a friendly and relaxing atmosphere, so we're thrilled that you found it to be so. Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon! Thank you very much with Warm regards Sandies Baobab Beach Resort Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kjentad2018 wrote a review Feb 2024
33 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Nice hotel, fresh made cocktails (after 4pm) and good food. Whe liked our room, it was cleaned every day. A little pool but big enough, but nog enough sunbeds with umbrella. There's a private beach with sunbeds and a little beach that isn't private but we liked it. If you go for your honeymoon and show the certificate they'll give you a honeymoon dinner at the beach. The ones who work there are friendly and really helpfull if you need anything (information, taxi, early breakfast,...). Only negative point is that the pool needs some freshing up, the lights in the pool are broken wich left a screw sticking out on the side and it could hurt someone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Dear Kjentad, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience, including the freshly made cocktails, good food, and the cleanliness of your room. It's great to know that our staff were friendly and helpful throughout your stay, assisting you with various needs and requests. We appreciate your constructive criticism regarding the pool area. Your safety and comfort are important to us, and we take your comments seriously. We will address the issues with the pool lights and ensure that any maintenance needs are promptly attended to. Your feedback helps us identify areas for improvement, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We're pleased to hear that you liked both the private beach with sunbeds and the smaller public beach. We strive to provide a variety of relaxing spaces for our guests to enjoy during their stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon celebration. We're thrilled that you had a memorable experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for another wonderful stay. If there's anything else we can do to enhance your experience, please don't hesitate to let us know. Warm regards Sandies Baobab Beach Resort Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paola G wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a great find! I loved the relaxed atmosfere, the spacious, very clean, and well furnished cottages, with great privacy ( we where on the first floor). I loved the lush gardens and the excellent food. The beach is just in front, but a about 3 meters below the gardens and private beach, so there is privacy from the people walking on the sea. Good massages and spa treatments. My friend got a beautiful dress made from the taylor on the resort shop. I will go back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great food! And special theme nights buffet. I would choose the same cathegory room on the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear Paola G, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you found our resort to be a great find and that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, spacious and clean cottages, lush gardens, and excellent food. It's fantastic to know that you appreciated the privacy of the beach area and the quality of the spa treatments. We're delighted that your friend had a positive experience with the tailor at our resort shop as well. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay in the near future! Thank you very much Sandies Baobab Beach Resort Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Giuliana M wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a great time at Baobab resort. The rooms are beautiful clean and with a fantastic view. The food is simply fantastic. The beach is one of the best in Zanzibar and there is a spa with Balinese massages.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 20 Jan 2024
Dear Giuliana, Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Baobab Resort! It's delightful to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful and clean rooms, the fantastic food, and the stunning beach. The mention of the spa with Balinese massages adds another attractive feature to the resort. If you have any more details you'd like to share or if there's anything specific you'd like me to include in a response to the review, please let me know. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Sandies Baobab Beach Resort Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gleadroid wrote a review Jan 2024
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom32 contributions10 helpful votes
We have just returned from Sandies Baobab on Monday of this week after spending two weeks at this fantastic hotel, including Christmas and both of our birthdays. The hotel isn't very big which is great. The rooms are like small bungalows and are spread around the the well kept gardens. The gardeners do a marvellous job, especially in the heat and the very high humidity. Our room was perfectly situated, close to the bar, restaurant and beach. The only down side to the room was that the air-conditioning didn't perform quite as well as it could have done. We had the temperature set as low as it could go at 17 degrees C but it still felt like the late to mid 30's. We did mention this a couple of times and maintenance did look at it. Thank you. The housemaids kept our room beautifully clean and we would often return to find our bed adorned with flower petals. This was a lovely touch especially on our birthdays. The Restaurant - the food is buffet style and was lovely and there was something for everyone. No complaints from us. We would like to say thank you to all of the really wonderful staff but in particular Anna and as we liked to call him the "Omelette Man" (sorry we can't remember your name}. We would also like to mention the Christmas Eve Gala Dinner around the swimming pool and the midweek BBQ on the beach. Both were fantastic and so much work was put into them. It was certainly a different Christmas Eve for us. The Bar (located by the pool) - all of the bar staff were lovely, but we would like to mention in particular Martin and Steve who were so friendly and amiable. They had much fun with my husband (Mr Paul) especially about my husbands dislike of the plastic glasses (we fully understand why they are plastic - near the pool). Pool, Beach and Animation Staff - what a wonderful group of people you have. Nothing was too much for these guys and girls. They were such all good all rounders and could turn their hand to almost anything. They were all very friendly and attentive to the guests and made our holiday extra special. We loved talking to and having a laugh with them. They also taught us how to play Bao which we quickly became addicted to (along with many other guests) so we purchased one and brought it home with us. We can't mention everyone as there are so many but would like to say a special thank you in particular to Saleh, Mussa and Rashid. You all made our holiday very special. Security - All very smart and professional and Mr Paul loved talking to them. Just one suggestion, the staff name tags could do with updating as some staff didn't have them and others were looking a little scruffy. It is nice to know what the staff are called as we like to call them all by their name. To the owners and managers of the hotel, you should be proud of all of your staff. Thank you from Mr & Mrs Paul
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 20 Jan 2024
Dear Gleadroid, Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and positive review of your experience at Sandies Baobab! It's wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic stay, including special occasions like Christmas and your birthdays. I'm sure your specific acknowledgments for staff members, from the omelets, man to the bar and animation teams, will be appreciated. Your compliments about the cleanliness, attention to detail, and the various events organized by the hotel are valuable insights for potential future guests. Your suggestion regarding the staff name tags is thoughtful and could enhance the personal touch in guest interactions. If you have any more details you'd like to share or if there's anything specific you'd like me to include in a response to the review, please let us know. Once again, thank you for sharing your positive experience! Sandies Baobab Beach Resort Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Isabelle F wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Returning and enthousiastic guest. We had the best time ever. Super welcomed by a warmful staff, amazing food, beautiful garden, astonishing view on a dreamy water. My room was perfectly clean, confortable, quiet. I would go back tomorrow!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Dear Isabelle, Thank you for your enthusiastic review! It's fantastic to hear that you had the best time ever at Sandies Baobab Beach. The warm welcome, amazing food, beautiful garden, and astonishing views all contributed to your memorable experience. Your appreciation for the clean and comfortable room is great to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you decide to return. Safe travels until then! Thank you very much Warmest regards Sandies Baobab Beach Resort Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul E wrote a review Dec 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom17 contributions19 helpful votes
Lovely hotel in a great location. The beach is excellent. Unfortunately the snorkelling wasn't as good as I had hoped - guess it was just bad timing as earlier in the year there were many colourful fish present according to a snorkelling website.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 16 Dec 2023
Dear Paul E, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel lovely and enjoyed the great location, as well as the excellent beach. We apologize if the snorkeling didn't meet your expectations during your stay. Conditions for snorkeling can vary, and we appreciate your understanding that it might have been influenced by the timing. We appreciate your valuable input and hope that, overall, you had a pleasant stay. If you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to share them with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Best regards, Sandies Baobab Beach Resort Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ghedion B wrote a review Sept 2023
Ethiopia2 contributions2 helpful votes
Was denied entrance to join a friend who was staying there for a drink. Received blatantly racist treatment from reception staff, security and management. If you have any morals avoid this place. It's a beautiful resort though.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Johan wrote a review Sept 2023
Germiston, South Africa9 contributions4 helpful votes
Beautiful setting and peaceful. However, there is room for improvement. The following things prevent it from getting 5 stars from me: (a) Only one sheet, no blankets. When we asked for one more sheet and two blankets, one extra sheet and one blanket was delivered. A day later it was back to only one sheet. (b) Only one TV for the whole complex. We wanted to watch a Rugby World Championship game on Sunday and arranged that beforehand with the staff at the pool area. When we arrived to watch the rugby, other people were watching the Formula One race. (c) Although everything seems to be ready before 07:30 at the breakfast buffet, the staff are rather pedantic and actually quite rude in sending people back to wait until 07:30. With early morning activities and subsequent early pick-ups, insisting on not allowing dishing up for breakfast before 07:30 seems to be harsh.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 24 Sept 2023
Dear Johan J, I would like to thank you to find the time to review us. We are much more than happy to know that you had a good time at the Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar appreciating in particularly our Teams Players . Your satisfaction with your important suggestion that we will take care , give us the power to do better and better every day to satisfy in all the aspect all our estimate Guest. With the whole Teams Players, we thank you once again hoping to welcome you personally with all my fellows in the next future. Kind regards . Sandies Baobab Beach Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lara D wrote a review Sept 2023
3 contributions5 helpful votes
My partner and I stayed for two nights and had a lovely time. The cocktails were lovely and the staff were amazing. Mussa was fantastic and ran a great activities at the hotel. Would definitely recommend !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Dear Lara D, I would like to thank you to find the time to review us. We are much more than happy and extremely thrilled to know that you had an amazing time at the Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar appreciating in particularly the great efficiency of our Team Players . Your great satisfaction with your important mention to the community, give us the power to do better and better every day to satisfy in all the aspect all our estimate Guest. With the whole Teams Players, we thank you once again hoping to welcome you personally with all my fellows in the next future. Kind regards . Sandies Baobab Beach Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nungwi area.
PRICE RANGE
£137 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandNungwi
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDIES BAOBAB BEACH ZANZIBAR - Updated 2024 (Nungwi, Tanzania)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar
Which popular attractions are close to Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Nearby attractions include Nungwi Beach (0.10 miles), CHE Rock Bar & Restaurant (0.1 miles), and Nana's Fashions (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sexy Fish, Cinnamon and Rooftops Restaurant, and Pizza Gourmet By Makofi Zanzibar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar have airport transportation?
Yes, Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fukuchani Ruins (3.0 miles).
Is Sandies Baobab Beach Zanzibar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.