We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Chalet La Maitreya

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chalet La Maitreya
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Booked two rooms, one of which was passable (room 3- kind of looked like the pictures) and the other one (room 7 - top floor, view of a road, single glazed, in the eaves, noisy, kept up by light coming through the curtains and the noise and the fact that I had to sleep diagonally on the bed because the... More 

Helpful?
Thank StuartDoverStreet
SmallWonders1, Responsable relations clients at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review

Dear Stuart, I am sorry to read that you had such an unpleasant experience upon your arrival at Chalet La Maitreya. This is due to bad luck and circumstances and this is very unfortunate that your stay had to suffer from it. We have been talking over the phone many times and I wish you would have stayed a bit... More 

1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Hosts Stijn en Natalja really do everything in their power to make your stay at Maitreya unforgettable. Breakfast and diner are the highlights of the day. Stijn is a real chef, he beats every restaurant in the area. And Natalja keeps the overview, she's a real host. During diner you share stories with the other guests because you're all at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank V
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

The Chalet was visited as part of a week's tough cycling up and across many of the nearby iconic Cols. I could not have been more satisfied with the accommodation and service. The chalet is not high end luxury but has alpine charm a plenty. We were looked after splendidly by Natalia and Steijn who cooked and looked after our... More 

Helpful?
Thank tonycall1
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2016

This was our second year with Small Wonders, and once again, we were not disappointed. There were 6 adults and 6 children, and we were lucky enough to have the chalet to ourselves. The welcome was friendly, and Sadie and Elenya were amazing throughout. Friendly, reliable and helpful. Although there was a bit of an end of the season feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
SmallWonders1, Responsable relations clients at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Thank you so much for your kind words and it great to read you enjoyed your ski holidays and had so much fun. As you mentioned, it was a long season and we were all really happy to welcome your group as our last guests in Chalet La Maitreya this winter. Your friendliness is always appreciated. Kind regards... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Very cosy, comfortable and charming chalet with nice food, great rooms, a good wine list and great, friendly and flexible service which included rides to and from the ski lifts on request, cakes, drinks and tasty local specialities in the afternoons and evening. The hot tub on the terrace overlooking the mountains was an extra treat after a good day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mistar3
SmallWonders1, Responsable relations clients at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feed-back. We are happy you had a nice stay in Chalet La Maitreya. We want to make every aspect of your stay as enjoyable as possible. It's very kind of you to appreciate the flexibility of our team and our chef's talent. We hope to see you again in one of our Small Wonders... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We have been skiing in Alpe d'Huez for the past six years and staying at the Chalet La Maitreya has been our favourite trip. This is mainly down to the great staff Sadie, Niels and Elenya who really made the efforts to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable. The Chalet is a great setting for and enjoyable friendly holiday.

Helpful?
Thank Ciaran M
SmallWonders1, Responsable relations clients at Chalet La Maitreya, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind message. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the company of our lovely team in Chalet La Maitreya. We hope to welcome you again during your next trips to Alpe d'Huez ski resort and that they will all be more enjoyable through the years. Best wishes, Alice. More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2016

This place gave me the true feeling of being in a traditional chalet during winter time. Cosy wooden rooms and furniture. Lovely view on the valley and first class food experience. Enjoy the sauna and the hot tub to counter the freezing temperatures! I spent nice enjoyable times with friends in the saloon around the open fire. I wanna thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phillios
Middelfart
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015

La Maitreya is a cosy and quiet situated chalet with a splendid view over the Alps. Especially the outdoor jacuzzi makes the place attractive. The breakfast is top notch with both eggs, cheese, sausage etc.,while dinner is just as good. It can be a little difficult to park close by the chalet as there is only one parking space but... More 

Helpful?
Thank JurMiddelfart
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a week whilst boyfriend partaking in Megavalanche and was a very nice chalet. We only rented a room so there were other guests there also. This was a bit of a problem for noise at times especially with the wood flooring and guests stomping up the stairs early morning! Think there should be more of an emphasis... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dizzy_blonde_chick
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Really nice place! Pleasant room, great breakfast and dinner, perfect location with stunning views and nice interaction with other guests. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. We come to cycle and the location is great for challenging rides. Bikes can be stalled in a separate garage. All in all a perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature and food.

Helpful?
Thank peterenrianne

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaujany
0.3 mi away
Chalet Solneige
Chalet Solneige
#1 of 5 in Vaujany
105 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
Hotel Le Pic Blanc
#5 of 33 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel l'Etendard de Vaujany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel  Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 33 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
221 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chalet Lingayoni
Chalet Lingayoni
#1 of 5 in Oz en Oisans
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Odalys La Cascade - Les Epinettes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Catered Chalet La Maitreya is a place of peace. The place is all about honest, unpretentious authenticity and will offer a space to breathe where one can enjoy nature in her pure unspoilt state.This stylish and charming Alpine retreat offers you a highly individual place, that make a holiday remarkable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet La Maitreya

Address: le Perrier, 38114 Vaujany, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Vaujany
Price Range: £79 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalet La Maitreya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalet La Maitreya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only accept a room not facing the road.”
 of 5 bubbles StuartDoverStreet, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“some rooms have view over the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles frankv151, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 at the top was particularly comfortable, but rooms were generally spacious, all were en-suite.”
 of 5 bubbles richardmM4079BJ, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 8 is fab, up in the eves, with double doors opening on to a huge balcony, looking straight down the valley. Glorious when it was sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles presidentuk, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“They are all amazing you will be spoilt for choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 802sarak, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay