We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

L'Escale

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 16: English reviews
Start your review of L'Escale
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at your campsite for 2 nights, but were planning to stay longer and also for a family holiday next month. The staff were very pleasant, and we enjoyed the bar and pizzeria. However, we found the poor maintenance with regard to the ice too much. It was like parking our motor home on an ice rink. Even going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jules C
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review

Thanks for your email and your good comment about the staff. We are also disapointed because you don't speak about your problems when you are on the site.Our staff could break the ice or/and put more salt (because they have salt!) if you said us.Why don't you come to complain at The office? We are open every day and our...

Henlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We visited recently with our touring caravan and enjoyed a fabulous few days. OK this is only a 3 star site, which accurately reflects the facilities on site. The toilets were modern and clean and the site itself was tidy. Some of the pitches were very large delineated only by white oaint on the kerbs, which was a little confusing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Unox85
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your congratulations about our site. Yes, you are right: we are lucky to live in this lovely village: Le Grand Bornand. Hope to see you again in winter or summer! Best regards

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Great campsite- new shower and toilet block from the last time we were here 2 years ago. The pool was fantastic, really warm and more like a spa with the variety of water jets. Well worth the ~30 euros per night for camper van, 2 people and our dog.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne M
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review

Good evening, Thanks to share your great experience online. We appreciated it. Perhaps, we will welcome you for an other stay.

Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the third time last week. Once again .we had a brilliant time.we stayed in one of the cottages .it was very good accommodation. And had all that we needed for a great ski trip.lescale is a real gem .all the staff and Catherine are realy helpfull. Can't wait to return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bcoy2para
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review

Good morning, Thanks for your comment. We are happy that you have appreciated your accomodation and services. We keep snow for you! See you soon.

London
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This provided a good base to stay with our boys 6 & 9. There were few English children, but they soon managed to join in with the nightly football match on the field. The pool was rather cold (as was the week we picked) and not for lengths, so w tended to use the one in the village in full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HApple
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review

Good afternoon. Thank you very much for your comments. We will congratulate our staff. We are happy you enjoy your week. Best regards

Europe
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom Gentiane mobile home with a total of 3 adults and 2 children. The location is great, the mobile home was clean and relatively spacious. The staff was correct and helpful. The pool was fun to play for the kids but it is not for adults who want to swim laps. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci pour votre commentaire. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez profiter de nos services: piscine, accueil... lors de votre court...

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

I have been staying in various types of accommodation at L'Escale for 8 years, and having just returned from my 15th visit, I thought it time to write a review. We stayed in Chalet Snowbaur, in the first floor apartment and it was absolutely beautiful. It was equipped with everything that you could possibly need, including a dishwasher which was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swisscrazy65
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. It is always a pleasure to welcome you. We hope to see you next year or this summer.

Zabbar, Malta
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We visited by motorhome. The actual camping site is a bit messy, but it might be because of the weather. Showers and toilets are common for females and males. The site offers facilities such as an indoor pool which is quite nice. One can also avail of the free transportation around the area using a free card from the complex.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gordonpace
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in a 3 bedroom Gentiane cottage with a total of 3 adults and 2 children. Great location: easy access to the start of the cross country trails, bus stop out the front for the gondola, very close to day care and kids ski lessons. Short 5 min walk into town for pretty much everything. Cottage is small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdamJohn863
Beds, UK.
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Had prompt replies when booking site for our first ever motorhome skiing trip, on arrival was shown to pitch - put very close to each other in winter but its not as if anyone is having awnings up! Toilets and showers are unisex, there are not many showers but surprisingly very little waiting for one - excellent water pressure and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LavvieBeds_UK_
157catherineb157, Gérant at L'Escale, responded to this review

We are happy that you kept a nice memory from your first experience in motorhome for ski holidays! Hope to welcome you the next year.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Grand-Bornand hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chalet Les Saytels
BEST WESTERN Chalet Les Saytels
#9 of 9 in Le Grand-Bornand
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Logis La Croix Saint-Maurice Hotel
Logis La Croix Saint-Maurice Hot...
#3 of 9 in Le Grand-Bornand
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Delta
Hotel Le Delta
#7 of 9 in Le Grand-Bornand
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel La Pointe Percee
Hotel La Pointe Percee
#8 of 9 in Le Grand-Bornand
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Vermont
Hotel Le Vermont
#6 of 9 in Le Grand-Bornand
88 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant l'Alpage
Hotel Restaurant l'Alpage
#2 of 9 in Le Grand-Bornand
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about L'Escale

Address: 33 Chemin du Plein Air, 74450 Le Grand-Bornand, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Le Grand-Bornand
Price Range: £59 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escale 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from L'Escale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lock your motorhomes as one of our motorhomes had it's chains stolen. Free wifi is available in the reception area. The restaurant close to the camping site is slightly expensive and you should checkout the options for kids before entering the restaurant. Other restaurants can be found 5 minutes away.”
 of 5 bubbles gordonpace, 10 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a superior pitch (a few Euro more)”
 of 5 bubbles enakrev, 29 Aug 2011 | Read review
2 of 2