We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Newcastle Studios

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Newcastle Studios
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 54: English reviews
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

My friends and I went on a girls holiday to Malia 2 weeks ago and I think we are looking to stay here again! The family were so lovely to us and made us feel really welcome! As well as the lovely service, we also enjoyed the food that was super generous on portion size and tasty. The rooms were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hannah18may
Alexandra G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

Thank you girls for the nice rewiew! We would love to have you back again xx More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

My husband and I are in our mid 50's and have basically just arrived home a few hours ago. We did not take the transfer bus but opted to book a taxi for personal reasons which was 42 Euros going and 40 Euros back. We were greeted by the lovely Olga and shown to our room #209 which faced the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mazzababy
Alexandra G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

Thank you both so much it was lovely to have you over we really hope to see you again! All the family says hello xx More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

As the title says, bog standard, much nicer hotels and apartments around which I wish I'd gone to myself. Would not return here again. The owners were dismissive and did not seem to care. Personally a return trip to this hotel is not recommended.

Helpful?
Thank mjlackkk
Alexandra G, Owner at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

We are sorry and we apologize if your stay here with us was not pleasant. We would like to hear from you and all our customers so we can become better. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Olga Gavrilaki More 

Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

A lively and fun hotel! room 104 was spotless and so was the rest of the hotel, 10 mins walk from the nightlife strip and lots of places to eat close by. Friendly staff, cheap drinks and food due to it being self catering. Wouldn't recommend this hotel for those wishing for a quiet holiday as the pool area plays... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
Alexandra G, Owner at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review for us we hope to see you again some time xx More 

1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Had a great time at the Newcastle Studios. A welcoming family run hotel, who are very friendly and the hotel isn't far from nice restaurants and the clubs but the hotel also serves great food and cocktails near a pool area which is clean and well maintained. Overall it has a great atmosphere and would stay again and would recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christian D
Alexandra G, Owner at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review Christian we hope to see you again!!! Olga, Alex &Yolanda More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Can't believe the bad reviews this place is getting... Stayed here for a week in July and it was great! Rooms were clean and spotless so was the other areas of the apartments such as the pool/bar area! All members of staff were lovely and welcoming especially the maid!! Location is ideal quiet but not to far from the strip!

Helpful?
Thank Glasgowdonn
Alexandra G, Owner at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review we really appreciate it. Olga, Alex and Yolanda More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is average, however the owners are really unwelcoming and really really rude. The pool is nice. And the Malia town itself is very good about a 5 minute walk , but for our group the owners really spoilt it as they were so very rude. They refuse to give you your passport until the very end of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank xoxoehxoxo
Alexandra G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

Hello, we always try our best to welcome and be polite with all our customers here. I'm sorry if you found us rude but certain behaviours are not allowed here such us bringing your own drinks at the bar and stealing toilet roll from the pool area toilets daily. As for your passports we have a policy to keep them... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

we have just returned from a 14 night stay at newcastle studios the studios are spotlessley clean and have a very efficient maid service , they are perfectly situated in the old town so are suitable for people who like a bit of quiet and just wish to sit on the balcony and watch the lovely greek sunsets , but... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank alan mark d
Alexandra G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice words, we hope to see you again!!! Olga Alex xx More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We enjoyed two weeks at these apartments, a bit difficult to find as the coach drops you off with instructions to walk up the road, you will come to the apartments, we did not! You do walk up the road, until you reach Connections bar then turn left, it is 200 metres on the right. We were well looked after... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mikewolves2014
Alexandra G, Ιδιοκτήτης at Newcastle Studios, responded to this review

We hope to see you again! Sorry for the inconvenience not finding our location, planning to put some signs hopefully soon Olga & Alex More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We arrived at night and the transfer couldn't get up the small street in the old town. On arrival at the apartments it was dark and a bit off putting. As the sun came up the next day we were pleasantly surprised! The room is typical of Greek apartments, basic but very liveable. Balcony is large and plenty of room... More 

Helpful?
Thank lewisn003

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malia hotels
0.4 mi away
Danelis Apartments
Danelis Apartments
#12 of 95 in Malia
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aegean Sky Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Real Palace
Real Palace
#30 of 95 in Malia
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kastro Beach Apartments
0.9 mi away
Primavera Beach Studios & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Happy Days Studios
Happy Days Studios
#6 of 74 in Malia
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newcastle Studios is situated in Malia Old Town, a 10-minute walk from the Malia bar strip. All the rooms are self-catering and have balconies. There is a large swimming pool with bar on site. Rooms available are for groups of two or three. Each features a private bathroom and a TV. There is also the option of air conditioning and safe. The beach is about a 25-minute walk (1.5Km). Those wishing to just chill by the pool, can relax by the spacious sun terrace. Pool tables and a pool-side snack bar with satellite TV are featured. The modern, well-maintained Newcastle Studios are the perfect base for exploring the myriad of bars, restaurants and nightclubs lively Malia has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newcastle Studios

Address: 30 Omirou | Malia Old Village, Malia, Crete 700 07, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Malia
Price Range: £25 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newcastle Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Newcastle Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Studios Hotel Malia
Newcastle Studios Malia, Crete
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newcastle Studios staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Newcastle Studios staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back rooms offer a view of the greek mountains”
 of 5 bubbles alanmarkd, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors have enclosed balconies rather than, open terraces.”
 of 5 bubbles lewisn003, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Downstairs rooms have bigger balconies!”
 of 5 bubbles emmahW3407ND, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get air conditioning as it's hot at night ”
 of 5 bubbles PaulF973, 20 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a great view of crete!!”
 of 5 bubbles 949abigailc, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay