We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Anglesey Hotel

Save
Share
24 Crescent Road Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2DH England
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (80)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (12)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Gosport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in Alverstoke Village on the Gosport peninsular the Anglesey Hotel is an elegant Georgian Building dating back to the 1830’s. Recently improved with the addition of a further 8 en suited bedrooms and a lift to all floors, the hotel now has unparalleled views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight as well as Portsmouth, Gun Wharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
327Reviews4Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 96
  • 51
  • 21
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Glenn and Christine wrote a review 15 Apr
1 contribution
Wow, we’ve just finished a fantastic Cracked Pork Belly, mash and veg and BLT Burger. We were quite nervous having a ‘meal’ delivered but so pleased with the result. All arrived hot, fresh, well packaged and tasted fantastic. Would definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Joanna B wrote a review Sep 2020
Kent, United Kingdom383 contributions82 helpful votes
We were in a family room (104) which looks nice however if you look a little closer you start to spot things, drink spillages on nearby spaces, also found a dried up contact lens which I stepped on with bare feet. The old design of this building matches the cracked old windows which we had to prop open and then the room door kept banging through the night, managed to wedge it with something after it woke me up. The floorboards are easily the worst feature in our room and listening to the room above. The breakfast was lovely and the staff really quick. No parking/on street was an annoyance and whoever said there was lots of parking was lying because the road the hotel is on is chocker! I personally would have been happier paying £70pn for this room instead of £197 for 2 nights. Staff were fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ray bezani, Owner at The Anglesey Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear JoMoogie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to read about the issues you have raised. This is certainly not our usual standard and I have now followed up with our cleaning team to ensure all our rooms are up to standard regardless of the situation we are currently in. Unfortunately due to the building being so old we do get the occasional squeaky floorboard but I will be looking into the issue you have raised. I'm pleased you enjoyed breakfast and staff were quick and fantastic. I will pass this on to them. With regards to on street parking usually it is quiet but we do let guests know we can't predict if there will be parking spaces due to being so close to the beach as it is often used as parking for that plus the residents in properties along the Crescent. Apologies this was passed on to you differently. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards,
Read more
Maria B wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
First time travelling since lockdown, as busy working in healthcare.Travelling to visit hubby's family. Staff we met were lovely and helpful. Went to our superior double room with seaview, lovely views. But heavens above the room was not clean and furniture was in need of repair/replacement. There was coffee/tea drips down the furniture and dried milk, the cream leather sofa was filthy. Staff kindly moved us to another room in the newer part and this room was nice, but view was the local graveyard and not the lovely seaviews. We ordered room service as I'm still concerned about mixing with others...the evening meal was hot and tasted fabulous. However breakfast,which looked really nice and also room service was, 10 minutes late, not covered and cold, so not impressed.I must add the staff were polite, courteous and couldn't do enough, but were let down by the cleanliness. I understand its difficult for businesses at present however it is important to assure customers that cleanliness is the highest of their agendas, otherwise customers will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jean F wrote a review Sep 2020
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom41 contributions28 helpful votes
We came for lunch. It used to be very good value, a starter, main and desert, can't remember how much it was but it was good value. I have had a stroke so eating out is difficult for me. This time there was no starter, just a main and a desert. For the first time ever my husband sent his fish back as inedible He had a hug amount of batter filled with nothing ;but a grey very unappetizing piece of fish in it. My pork was OK if a bit dry but edible. We were very disappoiinted and it will be a while before we return. The deserts used to be a delight this time the chocolate brownie was quite dry and stuck to your teeth. No sign of the chocolate sauce that was supposed to come with it. . Sadly not like it was this time last year. The last time we came here was for my 70th birthday on lockdown day. There were about 10 of us that time and the meal was really nice. The desserts delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from ray bezani, Owner at The Anglesey Hotel
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear jeanF, I'm sorry to read your review! We had changed our offer to '2 dine for £19.99'during the summer months which was a main and dessert for 2 people which was extremely popular. Now the winter menu has started we have gone back to our old offer of 1, 2 or 3 courses for a set price. With regards to your fish, unfortunately our supplier sent us the wrong order on the day but this has now been rectified and have our usual supply back in. Apologies this was not up to standard on the day! We do hope you join us again for lunch. Kind regards,
Read more
Simone wrote a review Sep 2020
45 contributions24 helpful votes
We weren't expecting such an architectural jewel in such an obscure location. We walked to creek and could have walked to beach in 10 minutes. Clean, pleasant hotel with pleasant staff. Good Covid practices. We were in room 107 which was a standard double, overlooking carpark but clean & adequate, although the tap was loose. The noise carried from below. Breakfast was very good qualirty altho we weren't offered toast which was part of the meal. We came from Portchester and went on to Titchfield carboot sale the Titchfield Haven Nature reserve which we highly recommend. The hotel is well located for both these places and Portsmouth and Southampton
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
anglesey hotel gosport
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireGosport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Anglesey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Anglesey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Stokes Bay Beach (0.4 miles), Solent Springs Adventure Golf (0.5 miles), and The Park Tavern (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Anglesey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Anglesey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Anglesey Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Anglesey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fighting Cocks, Pebbles Fish & Wine Bar, and Village Fish Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to The Anglesey Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (2.0 miles), Little Woodham Living History Village (1.5 miles), and Portsdown Hill (4.8 miles).
Does The Anglesey Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.