The Anglesey Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Anglesey Hotel

24 Crescent Road Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2DH England
Anglesey hotel
Traveller (132)
Restaurant
Dining (22)
Room 305
Room & Suite (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 4 hotels in Gosport
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in Alverstoke Village on the Gosport peninsular the Anglesey Hotel is an elegant Georgian Building dating back to the 1830’s. Recently improved with the addition of a further 8 en suited bedrooms and a lift to all floors, the hotel now has unparalleled views of the Solent and the Isle of Wight as well as Portsmouth, Gun Wharf Quays and the Spinnaker Tower.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Business

Location

24 Crescent Road Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2DH England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Eastleigh Airport
14.8 mi
See all flights
Bournebouth Intl Airport
30.3 mi
See all flights
381Reviews5Q+A79Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 108
  • 57
  • 28
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sarah C wrote a review Feb 2022
Gloucester, United Kingdom875 contributions289 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay here.
The positives: great view from the room to the sea and Isle of Wight, recently refurbished bathroom, everything very clean, helpful staff, good restaurant and bar (will review separately). Included cooked breakfast dishes using quality ingredients in (over) generous portions.
We had booked a non-refundable rate, but the hotel kindly allowed us to change the date and add a further night at the same rate, when the severe weather warnings prevented us from travelling.
Sorry, but there are negatives: we had a "large room" but only a standard double bed. Room was really quite small with rather too much furniture for the space.
Hangers in the wardrobe were a mixed collection of wire and plastic from clothing purchases. Bathroom lacked a towel rail and anywhere to put soap or shampoo in the shower.
At breakfast, bread for the toaster, fruit juice and coffee were of low standard.
On arrival, the room was freezing, window open (wedged with old beer mats) and heating switched off, a light bulb missing, and a couple of items left in the room by previous occupants which suggest the check by housekeeping was less than rigorous. Where appropriate, these issues were quickly solved by staff.
None of these were deal breakers, but do not match the aspirations (nor the rates
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea on 3rd (and 2nd?) floor have great views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HankyCam_Dursley wrote a review Jul 2021
Cam , Dursley7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful spacious room over looking the crescent gardens , extremely clean . Bed comfortable but the most important point was the staff although busy were genuinely interested if everything was ok and couldn’t do enough for you . As this hotel includes breakfast was cheaper than staying at a Premier Inn , nearer to sea front , cold see ships passing through Solent from bedroom window . A nice airy bar or garden to sit in and have a pint. Will be back .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Delia P wrote a review Oct 2022
Ipswich, United Kingdom614 contributions317 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a beautiful location in the sort after area of Alverstoke. The hotel is Regency and although she is quite an old lady, the upkeep of the hotel must be a constant struggle. The rooms are tastefully decorated and all of them seem large and come with all the usual things like toiletries, hair drier, iron and shared ironing board and decent large bath towels. We stayed in 308 and I unfortunately almost flooded the bathroom (complete w jacuzzi bath). The shower curtain was broken. Once reported, it was replaced with a new curtain and the staff were very happy to help. The bar and restaurant have extremely good custom and it comes as no surprise because it isn’t too expensive, the meals are a good size and they are very well cooked & presented. The menu is unusually different with some of the staple menu specials you’d expect to find. The location is amazing with views of the Spinnaker Tower, the crescent gardens and the sea and pebble beach is literally one road over. The village is very quant and there are lovely shops, a decent pub and a restaurant. There is also an amazing chippy if you fancy a takeaway which you can eat on the beach which is a stones throw away . If you are fairly fit you can walk to the town of Gosport and jump on the ferry to old Portsmouth. So much to do and so little time to see it all. We came home exhausted but happy.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough and have already booked another stay although it won’t be the deluxe room because that was booked as a treat for a special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria B wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First time travelling since lockdown, as busy working in healthcare.Travelling to visit hubby's family. Staff we met were lovely and helpful. Went to our superior double room with seaview, lovely views. But heavens above the room was not clean and furniture was in need of repair/replacement. There was coffee/tea drips down the furniture and dried milk, the cream leather sofa was filthy. Staff kindly moved us to another room in the newer part and this room was nice, but view was the local graveyard and not the lovely seaviews. We ordered room service as I'm still concerned about mixing with others...the evening meal was hot and tasted fabulous. However breakfast,which looked really nice and also room service was, 10 minutes late, not covered and cold, so not impressed.I must add the staff were polite, courteous and couldn't do enough, but were let down by the cleanliness. I understand its difficult for businesses at present however it is important to assure customers that cleanliness is the highest of their agendas, otherwise customers will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benjamin N wrote a review Jun 2023
Havant, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My mum and dad booked the honeymoon suite for the night after the weeding and they also booked other standard rooms for family(me). Before the whole wedding started me and some other members of my family dropped of our night bags and collected the keys before it’s too late into the night of the wedding. We put our bags into our rooms and then put the bride and grooms bags into their rooms too. (Considering this was about 8pm) we went into the honeymoon suite and it hadn’t been cleaned at all. Absolute mess with bed not maid and towels and rubbish everywhere. My and my family went to reception to bring this to someone’s attention and we waited about 10 mins for someone to come from reception who was the bar maid to deal with this. After that the bar maid got someone else who looked like the chef and he said he would try to get it cleaned AFTER his shift but it’s not guaranteed. This really annoyed me that they where paying so much for a room that might not even get cleaned. When the weeding was over and we got to the hotel it was midnight and luckily it was cleaned. But overall it was a nice stay and a nice hotel but they just need to ensure that the cleaners have actually cleaned every room especially when if it’s way after check in time. The breakfast was nice but could have done with a bigger selection of continental. Except the minor issue it was a nice stay with a comfortable bed for one night. Would recommend it as a place to spend a long time in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ensure you check in as soon as possible so if there is an issue there will be lots of staff to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anglesey Hotel, General Manager at The Anglesey Hotel
Responded 6 Jun 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We apologies that the room was not cleaned and ready upon arrival. We usually do a daily check to ensure this does not happen but its seems it got missed on this day. I am pleased that the issue got resolved before the bride and groom arrived. Apologies again, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay overall. Kind Regards The Anglesey Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karamusic wrote a review Feb 2020
12 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for an overnight business trip, the room was as expected clean and comfortable. It’s an old building with lots of charm, presented in a modern decor. Staff were attentive and polite. The food was exceptional really good flavours and a huge selection of vegetarian/ vegan food (not that I am either but it’s always good to have to option). The bar area was more like your local pub with a nice warm and welcoming vibe which I really enjoyed as most hotel bars can be a bit stuffy. The restaurant is very elegant and well spaced out. Again the waiting staff were very attentive and friendly. The owner made his presence known and spoke to all the guests both in the evening and at breakfast which was gratefully received, when you stay away for work as often as I do mostly staying in budget chain hotels, it makes a pleasant change to get a proper welcome from a business that clearly appreciates your custom. I would highly recommend staying here be it for pleasure or business. The seafront is a short walk from the hotel, I didn’t get the opportunity to appreciate this as storm Dennis had ascended upon us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trishalowe1, Manager at The Anglesey Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Karamusic, Thank you for leaving such a lovely, positive review. We are pleased everything was good with your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again (hopefully without a storm so you are able to get down to the beach) Your comments will be passed on to the staff. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy Nanny wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I found this first class accommodation at the last minute - our stay was for 4 nights. We stayed in the studio room behind the main hotel and were amazed at the tasteful decor and self-catering facilities - over and above what we had expected!
The served to table breakfasts were of a good standard. We would certainly recommend the recently refurbished bar and the excellent Sunday roast.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and we would certainly consider staying again in this peaceful location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dpetrie wrote a review Mar 2022
Donaghadee, United Kingdom204 contributions58 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the first time stayed at the hotel. The staff were friendly on arrival and I was showed where the lift was to the floors.
The hotel and the rooms were tired looking but it was in keeping with the building. I wouldn’t expect super modern double glazed windows!!
My room was clean and warm but as I am a light sleeper the floorboards from the room above did keep me awake. But again it’s a Georgian building so that’s only to be expected.
I have dinner one evening and it was reasonably priced and very quick service
Breakfast was freshly cooked for you each morning and again the staff were friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Worldtravellerxyz wrote a review Jan 2020
UK157 contributions191 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I know we we were in a large group, and there was another large group, and the staff worked really hard, but I was disappointed with my meal. THe chicken was dry, and the bacon and mushrooms completely dried out and shrivelled up as if the meal had been kept hot for far too long. And I deliberately avoided the chips, as last time I came they were overcooked and dark brown, but the problem with them hadn't been rectified. People who had them were not impressed. On the other hand, I heard very favourable comments about the mushroom soup, the whitebait and the pasta dishes. It's a shame, when the staff in the restaurant were so helpful, and worked so hard, that some of the food left much to be desired. So please don't keep things hot until they are all dried out, and please, please do something about those dark brown, overcooked chips.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trishalowe1, Manager at The Anglesey Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2020
Dear Worldtravellerrxyz, We're sorry to read you did not enjoy your meal with us but pleased everyone else did. We can only apologise for your meal and wish you had mentioned this when check backs were made to make sure everything was ok with your food. Had you mentioned it at the time we would have happily replaced your meal. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen and hope you come back again so we can show you it is not our usual standard.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher L wrote a review Apr 2022
Alton, United Kingdom22 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Four of us had lunch there last week. The food was fine and the staff were very helpful. However the hotel is badly let down by the state of the toilets. Both men's and ladies toilets stank to high heaven of stale urine which seemed embedded in the flooring. The toilet bowls and wash basins were clean but the rest was not. The toilet flooring etc. need a deep clean.
We telephoned the hotel the following day to let them know what we thought and be helpful but the lady who answered was very defensive and maintained that the toilets were cleaned every day and that there was no smell. I would not recommend anyone visit until the toilets are sorted out.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wilson240 asked a question Apr 2023
Limassol City, Cyprus10 contributions2 helpful votes
What time is breakfast on a sunday
Answer from Trisha Lowe
There is no extra charge, they are included within the price of the room.
P W asked a question Mar 2016
London, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
What are the parking arrangements for the hotel?
Answer from angleseyhotel
Gosport, United Kingdom
Apologies in the delayed reply. We do not have our own car park it is all n-street parking. However there is plenty of it and there are no restrictions or payment needed. Kind Regards
Answer from Trisha Lowe
I do apologize I missed the question. Yes we do serve gluten free foods and our chefs are more than likely to ask your preference.
Ruth G asked a question Jul 2015
United Kingdom37 contributions16 helpful votes
What time is breakfast served during weekdays?
Answer from Trisha Lowe
Sorry I missed this question until now. 0715 till 0845 are our standard times,however when guests need to leave early some arrangement is normally made for something to be available. Regards Ray
Ron M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Exeter, United Kingdom30 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth arriving early as parking is limited. Very quiet location and a short stroll to village and sea."
Read full review
Barbz60 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Gosport, United Kingdom3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I can't even say confirm any bookings with them before the day as an email was received reminding my daughter she had a booking the day before."
Read full review
JulesF28 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Gosport, United Kingdom88 contributions55 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is a nightmare, and for price, you're barely getting a 2 star experience. "
Read full review
Grace M wrote a tip Jul 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try get a room on the first or second floor not the top "
Read full review
Titanic wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the weather was good,try for a sea view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gosport area.
PRICE RANGE
£90 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
anglesey hotel gosport
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireGosport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ANGLESEY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Anglesey Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Anglesey Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Solent Springs Adventure Golf (0.5 miles), Stokes Bay Beach (0.4 miles), and The Park Tavern (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Anglesey Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Anglesey Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Anglesey Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Anglesey Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Fighting Cocks, Pebbles Fish & Wine Bar, and Anglesey Hotel Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to The Anglesey Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard (2.0 miles), Little Woodham Living History Village (1.5 miles), and Dockyard Apprentice (2.0 miles).
Does The Anglesey Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Gosport HotelsGosport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GosportHotels near The Anglesey Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire