We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Lodge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Lodge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 215: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Lodge Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a Sunday roast 8 adults & 5 children. The food was delicious and service was very good, rib of beef, pork, chicken all served on large platters, looked very much like a media evil banquet. Will definitely be back and will definitely recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
hampshire uk
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

I booked a table for 20 for our Ruby (40th) Anniversary to surprise my wife who thought we were just having dinner for 2. I spoke to Mike at the hotel and he was very supportive. When my wife and I arrived on 30th Dec we were greeted at the door and shown to the bar, (our guests were already...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hildev
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Stayed here for one night 13/01/17. We found the hotel to be comfortable and really nice place to stay. The hotel is located in a nice quiet part of town. It is about a 5-7 minute drive into the town centre or a 20 minute walk. We had a double room with a foldaway bed and both gave a really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin H
Berkshire, UK
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Our second stay to visit friends nearby, rooms spotless, comfortable beds, friendly hosts and breakfast quality and quantity excellent and very pleasant waiting staff too. Can't understand the previous reviewer, we are fussy and think this place is super for the purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fussy
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Mike was a good host, however Tash was not meant to be in this role at all. When we asked for extra pillows, she was rude and defensive. We found her to be quite defensive and hostile during our entire stay. We felt most unwelcome and upset upon leaving due to our treatment.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Emmalizi
Michael P, Owner at The Old Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Emmalizi Sorry you had a bad experience, Natasha hasn't worked for me for over 20 months now ( trip advisor policy not to publish reviews over 12 months old very unprofessional of them) All I can say it seems a little strange you reviewed both myself and another venue over 200 miles apart on the same day, less than a...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We visited 28th December for a family meal. New head chef Andy has taken over the kitchen coming from the wheatsheaf and that is exactly why we went. Great menu and beautifully cooked food. The presentation is always good and the value for money is excellent. Big changes ahead for this restaurant with Andy now over the kitchen, cannot recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vicky m
uk
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

This restaurant has most definitely gone three steps up market. Sunday lunch was amazing, the bar staff, waitress, chef, were 1st class. Our only complaint would be more heating in the bar area, and clean the tables from the night before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevg
Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

There was due to be 8 of us, but in the end there was only 6. Reason picked was that 2 of us had been 2 out of 4 lassies who had pop in on a Saturday afternoon, we both thought we must return for food, which we did on a Sat night. They bring out the bread, olive oil...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Julie w
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

One of the most friendly hospitable hotels I have stayed in. Rooms were very comfortable food was brilliant and the staff were the highlight of the stay always friendly and willing to help you out. A very well stocked bar with some very nice drinks. Have to say Annie and Stacey were brilliant staff.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Al K
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch as a group of 12 yesterday . We had a brilliant time - the bar service - food - service for the lunch - all excellent . We had roast beef which was perfect and lovely vegetables too. Congrats to the new chef and all the staff . Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbjanec

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gosport
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
3.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,049 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
2.4 mi away
Leeward House B&B
Leeward House B&B
#3 of 8 in Lee-on-the-Solent
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
The Old Lodge Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The old Lodge in the heart of Alverstoke village in Gosport, is a beautiful Georgian house upgraded to 11 delightful rooms, a restaurant and bar serving the local community as well as guests from far and wide. Currently undergoing extensive refurbishment following its acquisition by local new owner Michael Pearce, it is due to open around December 2012 ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Lodge Hotel

Address: 81 The Avenue | Alverstoke, Gosport PO12 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Gosport
Price Range: £74 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Old Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hotel Gosport
The Old Lodge Hotel Gosport, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Lodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay, only had evening meal with friends from the area”
 of 5 bubbles juliewA8763AV, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Phone and ask”
 of 5 bubbles JonandJue, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The standard doubles are small old fashioned doubles so choose the exec doubles for comfort. book with the hotel to get breakfast included”
 of 5 bubbles 550adriand, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles trevoraustin250660, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask when booking for a large room”
 of 5 bubbles PaulaC75, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5