Rhydspence Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rhydspence Inn

Traveller (55)
This was the tiny bowl which the vegetables to share with a table of people. Some others arrived after I’d finished my main course about 30 minutes later.
Dining (8)
Our room
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Whitney-on-Wye
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Whitney-on-Wye, Rhydspence Inn is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its romantic environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Rhydspence Inn makes it easy to enjoy the best of Whitney-on-Wye.

Rhydspence Hotel is a romantic hotel offering a flat screen TV and a seating area in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free internet access is offered to guests.

The hotel features room service and a sun terrace. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Whitney-on-Wye. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

If you are looking for a good pub, you may want to check out The Boat Inn while staying at Rhydspence Hotel.

Whitney-on-Wye is also home to Church of St Peter and St Paul, a popular historic site that is not too far from Rhydspence Inn.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Rhydspence Inn is sure to make your visit to Whitney-on-Wye one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
257Reviews2Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 178
  • 36
  • 17
  • 11
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris C wrote a review Feb 2020
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom43 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A warm welcome awaited at this picture perfect historical inn I booked 24 hours before travelling. A deluxe double room, with ensuite and all the accessories we've become used, to was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast served on time with a variety of cereals and fresh fruit, full English with alternative choices, including vegetarian, toast with jams, marmalades and honey, various teas and coffee, was freshly prepared and tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily D wrote a review Aug 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom20 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were holidaying nearby and came here for dinner one night, we enjoyed it so much we came back another 2 times. All 3 visits were fab, they have great hosts, Mark and Lowry went out of their way to make our visits great, including fining us a table inside on a busy night when a rain storm came in.
Food was excellent, one night we had all meals brought out before the cutlery so food was getting chilly but the next night it was out before so this was just a glitch as they were absolutely packed. All the staff were doing a great job, we’ll be back!
Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K25 wrote a review Jun 2021
Hereford, United Kingdom20 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Food is delicious. However, our party were left disappointed and hungry with the quantity. This is ‘pub grub’ after all. Paying £25 for a steak and chips but being expected to share a bowl of chips between 3 people is unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
B W wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to a surprise birthday for a friend and have to say I am totally stunned by what happened.
We arrived as planned but unfortunately due to no fault of the organisers a few members of the party did not turn up, instead of having a quiet word the owner thought that it was fair to come to our table and have a moan at us despite half of us not even being imvolved in it. We brushed it off as wanted to celebrate and have a nice time. It took 40 minutes just for our food order to be taken, when the food arrived it came in stages so some of us had our food a good 7 minutes before the others. We ate our food and then had to wait ages for our table to be cleared which meant we weren't even sure we had time for puddings. However, we did eventually order puddings which was yet another disappointment as one was ordered with custard and came with approximately a tablespoon of custard rather than the jug that another member of the group had despite them both ordering the same thing! We then asked for the bill which came to aroud £30 per head (2 drinks, 1 main and 1 dessert) so proceeded to sort it out between us then made our way to the bar to pay as instruced.
We stood and waited for ages just to pay and finally someone arrived, we were treated very badly while going through the process and as such a member of the group mentioned to the front of house staff member that the service hadn't been great. She didn't say anything in response and we headed outside to our cars.
However, just as we were wishing our friend a happy birthday and going our seperate ways a lady (presumably the owner) ran out behind us and proceeded to scream at us! I have to say I have never been so shocked by another persons behaviour. She proceeded to shout at us, try to intimidate the youngest female in our group by directing her insults at her far more than the older members of our party and making us all feel very uncomfortable with her aggression and lack of professionalism. I stood completely silent the entire time as would not lower myself to screaming in a carpark with a very aggressive individual. What made it even worse was that she was incredibly threatening and told us "Don't you dare make a bad review...."
I have never done a bad review for an establishment on here before but following the horrendous screaming and disgraceful behaviour I feel it is only fair to warn anyone who may be considering a visit! I had been told it was a "locals only pub" and in hind sight we should have avoided the place. AVOID AT ALL COST! There are far more welcoming, nicer, reasonably priced, cleaner establishments within 10 minutes of this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victoria P wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We came here as a family for an evening meal and we left disappointed. The owner shouted at us in the dining room in a very aggressive manner as if we were school children. We were totally at fault, don’t get me wrong, but she just launched a verbal attack at us all and left with a sweep of her hand. We were all rather stunned and embarrassed. Anyway, we ordered and had our food. The food was fine overall but we had the smallest bowl of new potatoes to share between 4 adults. We had 3 small halves each. The bowl of veg was very small too. We asked for more veg and potatoes only to find we were charged an extra £6 for this. Couldn’t believe that! I left hungry as I didn’t have a dessert. They desserts were on the small side too and we asked for some cream on a cheesecake only to be told that would cost extra! I have never known a pub to charge extra for some cream, how ridiculous. We had to ask for drink refills, the waitresses should be asking frequently as you can’t go to the bar. They even sneak in extra costs here, a dash of lime in a lemonade was another 50p. It just all felt very mean spirited and unprofessional in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lowri Price, General Manager at Rhydspence Inn
Responded 20 Aug 2020
We have had to work very hard with very strict new regulations to be abe to re-open our family run business and get our staff back into work. When you rang and asked if you could add another to the group you were bringing, and hour before your booking, you were politley told that unforunately this was not possible. To then arrive with the extra guest anyway, I believe was very irresponsible of yourselves, putting us and others at risk. The new potatoes were for 2 people as others were having either chips or mash potato. the 50p for the dash, was not for a splash of lime but for the lemonade in an orange juice and lemonade. In our opinion the cheesecake contains enough cream, so yes, unsurprisingly as a business trying to survive in these trying times, a charge was added. I refute yoour allegation that our puddings are small, we have never had this complaint before. Due to the covid 19 restrictions (i dont know whether you've heard of the rather nasty bug), it is table service only at the moment, which I think you would find is similar in many establishments trying to abide by the rules. I would say bringing an extra guest, when expressly told you could not, is very mean spirited! I hope people using this review site will spend more time reading the many positive reviews rather than your mean spirited one. Please do not darken our door again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah wrote a review Aug 2020
Amble, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unless your a local person this pub doesn’t treat you with respect, little do they know my family live here and come here weekly..we came here today with friends drank and ate with a bill of over £100. Ordered desserts the Pavlova came and the cream was most definitely gone off, I didn’t eat the dessert so I just said to the waitress that it was off and I hadn’t ate it and straight away she said it would be taken off the bill. We came up to pay we were met by the most aggressive man later told it was the owner almost shouting at me telling me he’s not taking it off and the cream was absolutely fine..I just politely said it’s fine he didn’t have to take it off, he proceeded to aggressively tell me 3 more times the cream was fine and then his wife also came and told me the cream was fine I felt verbally attacked by these people as a young women the experience has left me shook up and all our party have agreed they would never return two of which are very local to the area and one is a head chef of another local pub( who also agreed the cream was off)..
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma M wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I arranged to meet friends from Wales for a social evening before their Lockdown. My 2 companions and I arrived there before them and were pleased to hear the pub had two of our favourite local Real Ales on. We ordered two and a half pints but when they arrived they were off. The waitress told us there was nothing wrong with the beer and that everyone else was drinking it but we know the beer well enough to know how good it usually is. She refused to exchange it and said we could have the other one but would have to pay for that as well and refused to give us our money back. We asked to talk to the Landlady who was rude and said' there's the door' As locals we have frequently enjoyed evenings at the pub but won't return. I also appreciate the effort it is to keep pubs open at the moment but this behaviour was totally unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elaine W wrote a review Aug 2021
Riseley5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked dinner last night and despite having checked the menu by phone( as we are aware that they often change due to covid) it was not as per the call or the website . We did mention this to the waitress who said that no one remembered the call despite them accepting that they had a booking.
I had just a bowl of chips -the portion was small and the bottom third of the bowl of chips was burnt and greasy.
On the positive side the desserts were both good.
Finally on the bill we were overcharged for the curry and when this was pointed out at the bar, the lady just said "oh yeah"- no further comment or apology given.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Quiller810 wrote a review 6 May
London, United Kingdom147 contributions121 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This acommodation was not really up to the standard of the other places we stayed on our trip. For some reason we got this tiny room No. 8, there was nowhere to put anything, no bedside tables, nowhere for a suitcase and it was above the kitchen! The bathroom was modern but smelt of Roast Dinners and Cooking oil most of the time we were there, an issue with the extractor fan maybe? There was also quite a bit of banging and clanking between 10-11pm while they cleared up the kitchen. I did take a peek in another couple of empty rooms nearby and they were palatial in comparison!! We were pre-booked for dinner at 7.30pm and in fact were a little early, sitting down at 7.20pm. We waited such a long time, the starters arrived at 8.20 pm, about an hour later. The mains at 8.43pm. My husband ate his dinner in 4 minutes flat, he was so hungry by then! We ate elsewhere on our second night. Like a rainy day, we felt a little disappointed all in all. To their credit, they didn't charge us for the starters on checkout and did apologise for the delay at the time.
So, my advice is to check the room you are going into and also have a good look at the Sample Menu on their website because this IS the menu, it's quite limited and it may not be to everyone's taste. (Be aware that this is not a Burger and chips kind of place1). We came back with a heap of books from Hay on Wye though!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Craig Howlett, Owner at Rhydspence Inn
Responded 2 days ago
Hello there, Thank you for leaving us a review and I’m sad to see it’s not a better one as we never want our customers to leave feeling this way. The room that you stayed in is our basic standard double which is the cheapest of the rooms, due to the smaller size bed, amenities and also being above the kitchen. The others rooms are all priced at a higher rate due to them being larger with more amenities. I can’t apologies enough about the smell of the room, I do wish you would have brought this to our staffs attention during your 2 night stay and we would have happily upgraded your room free of charge. I have spoken to all my staff and they have all said that no issues were raised about the room during your stay or on checkout. In regards to dinner that evening we apologise for the wait on the starters, it is not the standard that we are looking for our customers to receive. I hope that the complimentary drinks and us comping the starters made this up in some way. Our staff understood the wait you had with your meal and so when your starters were cleared we made sure your mains were out within 15 minutes and your puddings within 10 minutes. I’m sorry you felt our menu limited. The menu has 5/6 starters and 6/7 mains which for a restaurant serving fresh local produce with everything prepared in-house, is on par with other establishments in the surrounding area. I hope this clears a few things up but I understand that this doesn’t fix the disappointment you had during your stay with us. We hope you can forgive us and would love to have you back one day in a nicer room and a drink on us. Warm regards, The Rhydspence Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine wrote a review Sept 2022
33 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sunday dinner was delicious. Great portions and home cooked, added bonus was the leak and cheese side.
Would suggest adding extras for a cost; i.e. Yorkshire pudding, more roasties for example. Another way to make more money and allow guests to indulge.
Beautiful setting inside and out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
862jackie asked a question Aug 2017
Wales, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
How far away are you from Drovers rest please
Answer from JvNieuw
Brussels, Belgium65 contributions14 helpful votes
20 minutes drive at the most
Annemieke V asked a question Jul 2017
The Hague, The Netherlands29 contributions13 helpful votes
Are you accepging smal, petss. I have a Jack Russel. Thanks annemieke van Nieuwenhuimzd
Answer from Snodi
Reading, United Kingdom48 contributions23 helpful votes
Not sure that dogs are allowed in the rooms but check on the website.
alysonBromsgrove wrote a tip 6 May
bromsgrove444 contributions177 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 7 has stunning views, and is very spacious"
Read full review
SerenaElizG wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cheltenham, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early because this place is already popular and will only get more so."
Read full review
Mary S wrote a tip Dec 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bar meals looked good "
Read full review
David wrote a tip Dec 2023
Hereford, United Kingdom17 contributions42 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all costs, go to the nearby Boat Inn instead."
Read full review
Samuel C wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early for Sunday lunch- the menu is top quality at a very reasonable price."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitney-on-Wye area.
PRICE RANGE
£112 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rhydspence hotel whitney-on-wye
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHerefordshireWhitney-on-Wye
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RHYDSPENCE INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Rhydspence Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Rhydspence Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Warren (3.4 miles), Eirian Studio Glass (3.3 miles), and Booth's Bookshop & Cinema (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rhydspence Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Rhydspence Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rhydspence Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rhydspence Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chapters Restaurant, Tomatitos Tapas Bar, and Off Grid Gourmet.
Are there any historical sites close to Rhydspence Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hay Castle (3.2 miles), Church of St Peter and St Paul (1.5 miles), and Clifford Castle (1.1 miles).
Is Rhydspence Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire