We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arches

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Arches
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Arches
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Biggest tell is how many locals use this for honeymoons and special events. Breakfast means you don't need to eat all day! But the rooms are as fabulous as the views, service is perfect. Parking is tricky, but otherwise best place to stay on the fabulous Isle of Man

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 898greg
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

Thank you for your very generous comments - especially ' service is perfect' ! Glad you enjoyed your stay, Phil

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

First impression of the room: WOW! Everything was push-button: lighting options, shower, curtains, blinds ... you name it. Bed was honeymoon delight (we've been married over 30 years!) If you want a very relaxed romantic place to stay - go. The public areas are ultra-modern and again: WOW! Mike was general factotum and couldn't have been more helpful. (Oh, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonywoodtw
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

Well of course, The Isle of Man is now the 'South of France ' of the British Isles ! Glad the weather was good for you, and I will pass your kind comments about MIke onto him Regards, Phil

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Truly blissful experience. Jill & Phill are great people, very welcoming. Room's are divine. The infinity pool and jacuzzi are brilliant with the best views on the isle of man! Look forward to returning in July with my finance. See you soon. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManxMel24
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Lovely comments, much appreciated.

Chester
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Was REALLY looking forward to this weekend, awful day in work on Friday, awful time in Liverpool airport (nothing to eat there on a Friday evening!?) but arriving at this lovely B & B was a treat - after just a 10 min taxi ride from Airport. After a mix up with the booking (I'd 'secretly' booked a great room,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Moira A
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

I felt like I turned up to a teenage party when the parents are away. Perhaps that's what was going on. We arrived about 15 mins earlier then antisipated to find no one at home, wandered around half cleaned rooms and messy kitchen for half an hour. Then sat looking at the most beautiful view while we waited for someone...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jackie E
JRoutledge, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

The Isle of Man appointed government hotel inspector undertook his inspection on Thursday 5th May. Our B & B has a Gold Award, and five star rating. His comment was that if there was a higher award available he would give it. We have checked our records and you have not stayed at our establishment .

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2016

If you are looking for luxury accommodation in probably the most beautiful location on the Island this is it. The views are to die for, the rooms are sumptuous and the breakfasts delicious, professionally presented using quality ingredients sourced locally. There is also a fantastic heated indoor pool and jaquzi surrounded by glass with views over the bay. After 45...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackthornsnhl
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

Thanks for your very kind comments. it's good to hear that you have found your Shangri-La ! Regards, Phil and Jill

Reviewed 1 May 2016

Really enjoyed our stay, weekend off work and wanted a proper break away from family lol. First class in every way, couldn't fault the place or staff. Stunning views, we stayed in brown room, home from home. Breakfast was delicious tried both the full breakfast and eggs benedict. Didn't try the pool but we will definitely be booking again and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Myself and my partner stayed here over the Easter break and had a lovely time. We are both from the Isle of Man and wanted to get away for the long weekend but by the time you fly out somewhere and back you've almost lost 2 days. Well, this was the perfect alternative! We were made to feel very welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zitaokelly
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

" Couldn't fault the place " ( ! ) Thanks for such high praise. It can be hard going sometimes to please all the people, all of the time, and comments such as yours help us a great deal. Cheers, and thanks again, Phil & Jill

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful location with breathtaking views. Friendly relaxed place to stay with great infinity pool and hot tub. Great breakfast, comfortable room with balcony to make the most of the views. The isle of man is a beautiful island with lots to see and do. We visit each year and would definitely go back to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KimandTrevor
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, and for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the sea views , pool and hot tub. As I look out of the window this November afternoon, a full gale is brewing up and the bay is full of big waves driven in by the wind. It's nice...

shenzhen china
Reviewed 18 September 2015

20 years ago the Isle of Man was my home for about 5 years and this month was the first time I've been back since. Reassuringly little has changed on the Island from what I saw- and the Arches is one of the welcome additions. While we were there the owners were away getting some sun and the place was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foreverbrightchina
Philip R, Owner at The Arches, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review - love the title. Quite approriate to an island where people race around the roads at speeds approaching two hundred miles an hour.

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Erin
0.7 mi away
Falcon's Nest Hotel
Falcon's Nest Hotel
#1 of 3 in Port Erin
234 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherry Orchard Apartments
Cherry Orchard Apartments
#2 of 3 in Port Erin
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
286 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#9 of 22 in Douglas
590 reviews
8.4 mi away
Knockaloe Beg Farm
Knockaloe Beg Farm
#1 of 1 in Patrick
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Arches is a boutique B & B that enjoys wonderful views and faciities. It is a B & B rather than a Hotel because it is our home as opposed to the mass produced places where a guest can sleep , as opposed to a place that is worth visiting in it's own right. The indoor heated swimming pool , guest lounge and guest terraces and balconies give plenty of scope for a romantic break or simply an oportunity to rest and relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Arches

Address: The Arches Tower Road, Isle of Man, Port Erin IM9 6PP
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Port Erin
Price Range: £130 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arches Port Erin, Isle Of Man
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arches staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Arches staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in the twin room, which was a little small but with a fantastic ensuite and big tv. It was very comfortable.”
417vincel, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic views & superb facilities”
I5246HKdianes, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had the Lavender Room for the private balcony view, which is stunning!”
Noname72, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Each room has a unique to it”
Ollygunner20, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Both our rooms were lovely”
lindaW955XA, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5