We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented

Save
Share
Avenida Morelos 231, Holbox Island 77310 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$124
View deal
TripadvisorUS$124
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Booking.comUS$127
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1121)
Pool & Beach (227)
Room & Suite (187)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Updated 24/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 39 hotels in Holbox Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Beachfront Hotel La Palapa is a romantic hotel for adults only that is located on Holbox Island in the Yucatan Peninsula, Gulf of Mexico. We offer an incomparable setting with 25 comfortable rooms at literally feet away from the white sandy beach and tourquoise water. The Beach Bar with lounge chairs and hammocks allows to relax on the quiet beach.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Beach
Horseback riding
Airport transportation
Spa
Adults only
Wifi
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Snorkelling
Fishing
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Solarium
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian
1,031Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 735
  • 205
  • 57
  • 22
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
KristinFilut wrote a review Yesterday
Minneapolis, Minnesota172 contributions13 helpful votes
My best friend and I had an amazing week at La Palapa! The hotel is small and quiet. It’s no frills, and it was exactly what we needed. The rooms are incredibly clean and comfortable, the beach was quiet, the staff was all very friendly, and the location is so convenient. It was so amazing to fall asleep every night to the sound of the waves lapping against the shore. Each day the housekeeping staff made adorable creations with the towels. The staff was always busy keeping the property in tip-top shape. We look forward to returning one day in the near future!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Lisa Mc wrote a review Mar 2021
Caribbean3 contributions1 helpful vote
I dislike writing bad reviews, however this was not the best experience! A group of us booked this place for my birthday. They got the bookings wrong and completely rude when we asked them to resolve the issue, which was never resolved nor were we able to get a refund. They said we were a “no show” when booking called to try and resolve. We certainly were a show, they had just messed up and didn’t want to own up to it nor find a solution. We ended up trekking up the road to Dreams, which is amazing and so are the staff. This could have certainly been an easy resolve, had they had good customer service. And still NO refund 🤷🏻‍♀️
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from POMPEO PASQUALE, Propietario at Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lisa, We appreciate the time you took to leave a comment, we hope you are well. Unfortunately you showed up without a reservation at our hotel. From the beginning we tried to explain to your friend that he was the one who made the mistake, he chose a room with a king size bed instead of two beds. We are very sorry that you had to go through this situation on your birthday, we know it was a special date for you, but I repeat, it was not our mistake that you booked a different room than the one you were looking for, but if you remember your friend mentioned ''I HAVE NEVER USED THE BOOKING.COM APPLICATION''. And as we mentioned to him, and stressed all the time, the rate he chose is non-refundable. We tried to give you a solution, but as you noticed, your friend was very upset and was even insulting, and we only ask for the same respect you were receiving from us. We hope this situation is clear. Best regards Hotel Management
Read more
Caleb wrote a review Mar 2021
Kansas City, Missouri11 contributions
+1
Beautiful property that is well maintained every day by an incredibly friendly team of people. In 7 nights and 8 days there in March 2021 my wife and I found every single employee to be friendly and helpful. We chose a 3rd floor room for the best ocean view and were very happy with our choice. The large windows slide open for fresh air and an indoor/outdoor feel. Rooms are very big, with adequate sized bathrooms. The bed was comfy, soft but very supportive. Decorations were modest but worked really well with the vibe of the island. 4th floor is a very large sundeck with chairs and a pergola that I worked at some days. Would be an incredible place for a small wedding reception! Sunset views from the rooftop and the beach are incredible. We only had one instance where we did not have enough hot water but remember that this is a tiny island with limited resources. I can tell you that I've stayed in Tulum spending more than $200 a night and had worse trouble with this than we did at La Palapa so just be prepared for the realities of the island. Love the location which is so close to the town so we could walk to nightlife and restaurants. Breakfast was made to order every morning and was really great - honestly probably some of the best we could hope for at any restaurant on Holbox. We literally sat 10 feet from the water for breakfast every morning... cannot beat that! Communication from management was fantastic including offers to arrange transportation and COVID testing. Air conditioning kept the room cold at night and there was a ceiling fan for added comfort. No refrigerators but you can buy a big bag of ice for $1.25USD at the tiny store 50feet away. Bring a cooler if you can. All in all, one my best all-around experiences and I travel a lot.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 3rd floor best views with large windows that open, but 1st and 2nd have balconies with chairs to...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from POMPEO PASQUALE, Propietario at Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Caleb! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay at Beachfront Hotel la Palapa. We are glad to know that you had an excellent stay, that you and your wife enjoyed our hotel and this beautiful island, thank you for all your words, comments like yours make all the hard work that each of the collaborators do worth it. We hope you visit us again in the future. Greetings from all the staff of Beachfront Hotel la palapa
Read more
Moe wrote a review Mar 2021
Niagara Falls, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
We were a group of 6 people. 2 of our friends were told their reservation was at the other property. They were fully refunded. I arrived with the other 4 people. One room was booked economy with one queen bed. For two grown men. The original booking was 2 beds. Booked through booking.com. The second room was not even booked (we called in gave cc 3 days before) We asked the staff to accommodate us they did nothing. We had to go to another hotel and my cc was STILL charged for the room we didn't want or book. Booking.com did not help me neither did the owner of this property. We ended up moving next door to celebrate my friends bday (Dreams) much better staff cleaner property and less cost. Never in my life have I written a review. However I feel the staff has ripped me off and nearly destroyed our weekend in Holbox. You cannot change people for something they don't want. Be careful with this place. I will never do business with them or booking.com again. $200 lesson.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from POMPEO PASQUALE, Propietario at Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mohamed, We hope you are well and happy to have given us feedback on Booking.com and Google. To clarify the situation definitively and make it clear that it was not our mistake: Starting with the amount charged, as you knew the policy of your reservation indicated that you had to pay 50% of the total balance at the time of booking, and that this amount is non-refundable. Now, you are the one who chose this room through the Booking.com site, and at the time of your arrival at the hotel you showed up with other people saying that you had booked a room with two beds, that you even called to make a direct reservation, which was never agreed upon. Given the ''inconvenience'' the receptionist supported you by offering you several options to solve this mistake that from the beginning was not ours, but on the contrary of receiving a positive response on your part you only got upset to such a degree that you started to say anti-sounding words (for which you were asked for respect, but continued in the same way) and did not want to listen to the options that were given to you at the time. In the end you and your friends decided to leave the hotel to stay in another one. For our part we did everything we could to make you happy and enjoy your vacation, but we cannot compete with your negative attitude and bad behavior. Just to make it clear that according to the reservation and cancellation policy you chose, there is no provision for a full or partial refund. Best regards Hotel Management
Read more
Patti C wrote a review Mar 2021
Tampa, Florida54 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
From the moment I arrived (celebrating my 60th) up until my departure, customer service was at its finest. Isis and Brian in the office, Sergio at the restaurant, grounds keepers & housekeeping could not have been more accommodating, friendly, Helpful and attentive! A “feel at home” atmosphere that inspires an energy that fills your heart up! This energy was contagious, as everyone staying at La Palapa (which I met most :), had this chill friendly vibe- content and comfortable! Thank you for making my stay a most memorable one! Seasoned Solo Traveler, Patti
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from POMPEO PASQUALE, Propietario at Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Patti! Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Beachfront Hotel la Palapa. We are very happy and pleased to know that you had a perfect 60th birthday, we love that you chose us to celebrate that important date with us and knowing that we lived up to it, makes it all worth it, we hope to see you again in June with your friends to continue to be amazed with this beautiful island. Greetings from the entire team at Beachfront Hotel la Palapa.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$96 - US$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la palapa ethno boutique hotel by xperience holbox island
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooHolbox Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented
Which popular attractions are close to Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented?
Nearby attractions include Refugio Holbox (0.2 miles), Holbox Island (0.2 miles), and Papa Rana Holbox Logo Shop (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arte Sano, Fresco Bar and Grill, and Casa Nostra Roof Restaurant.
Does Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Holbox Island.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.
Does Beachfront Hotel La Palapa Adult Oriented have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.