We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Zomay Hotel Holbox

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Zomay Hotel Holbox
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Zomay after some noisy nights in a hostel. So lovely and authentic rooms, quiet, few steps from the beach and close to the Main Street. They cleaned our rooms every day, which we didn't expect - but very nice anyways :) Absolutely great and we can highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stine T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

an ideal place to relax and forget about the city style rooms comfortable cabins with air conditioning no tv just steps from the sea hotel, you can walk along the beach and has its own beach hotel very nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GastonGlz
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

The wifi in the room didn't work after the rain and nobody done anything to fix it even when we asked. In the room was a lizard that pooped on our bed, and also bugs and a lot of sand! The safe didn't work. The beach and the bar were closed. There were a lot of noise, even in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omer B
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel consists of different bungalows embedded in a quiet nice garden directly at the beach. We had a very lovely bungalow with a nice decorated bathroom(seashells, paintings). There are mosquito nets in the windows and when you turn on the AC one hour before you go to sleep you should have no problem with mosquitos(at least we had none)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ottibri
ZOMAYHOLBOX, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zomay Hotel Holbox, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. ¡ We just work like in paradise. ¡ Sounds great. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards Zomay Staff.

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I choose this hotel because had few bungalows, i think 12. After few hours i ask to change it because the AC wasn't performing and the staff have no problem change the room. The rooms are Mexican style , very clean. The water pressure it can be a problem for some but not for me. The picture is real what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paolokc
ZOMAYHOLBOX, Gerente at Zomay Hotel Holbox, responded to this review

Dear Paolokc, Thank you for your your comments. We hope to see you soon. Have a great day. Best regards

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 March 2016

If you want to stay here - call Miriam at hotel directly. Going through Getaroom/Orbitz was a nightmare. Lovely small hotel with caring guest service. Terrific organic soap, shampoo and lotion left daily for our use. Plenty of hot water - sometimes an issue on small islands! The on premises restaurant serves excellent food with reservations. Excellent wi-fi service. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Finnagainwinagain
ZOMAYHOLBOX, Gerente at Zomay Hotel Holbox, responded to this review

Dear Finnagainwinagain, Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you soon. Our phone number is +52 984 875 2090. Best regards Hotel Zomay Holbox zomayholbox.com

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Overall very disappointed in the hotel. We checked out two days early. The photos online are inviting and accurate from the angle they are taken, but they specifically avoid photos of the actual beach and "mud" (see my photos). The staff tried to explain that the beach conditions were due to weather, but there are hundreds of sandbags that are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
ZOMAYHOLBOX, Gerente at Zomay Hotel Holbox, responded to this review

Hello ! Just to be fair is not MUD. the name is sargasso, Our beaches were invaded last year of 2015, It is a naturally effect created for the niño! The sargasso is an organic nutrient That is a key to the preservation is of the sandbanks factor. sorry for the inconvenience that the Sargasso had to enjoy your vacations.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This is a really laid back place and the staff is really great. They made our stay really enjoyable. Its located at the far west end of the hotel zone on the beach, and there is a neat mix of very friendly people (expats and tourists) who gather at the beach bar there for amazing sunsets. Holbox at this point...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank am_burgher
ZOMAYHOLBOX, Propietario at Zomay Hotel Holbox, responded to this review

Hello, Good day¡ Thank you for your comments, hopping to see you soon. Best Regards Rosella

Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Reviewed 25 August 2015

The hotel is simple and at the same time inviting. I have rented a hut, very nice with two beds one located at a mezzanine (super cute!), very clean and comfortable with a small fridge, spacious, and a large bathroom. The room included daily continental breakfast, which could be improved .. however the fruit was fresh and very good organic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline M
Currumbin, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We booked Zomay over the phone with Sarah. Her English was excellent which was vital as we have no Spanish. We spent two nights there and she was a wonderful hostess. The day we arrived we had mojitos, guacamole and cerviche. They were all great and the Zomay bar is right on the beach and tiny with swings all around...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank michaelandsallykatta

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Holbox Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
Villas HM Paraiso del Mar
#8 of 17 in Holbox Island
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holbox Dream Beach Front Hotel by Xperience Hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
Beachfront Hotel La Palapa
#5 of 17 in Holbox Island
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Delfines
Hotel Villas Delfines
#7 of 17 in Holbox Island
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Xaloc Resort
Xaloc Resort
#14 of 17 in Holbox Island
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa BlatHa
Casa BlatHa
#10 of 17 in Holbox Island
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Zomay is a small and peacefull resort of 6 wooden bungalows and 3 apartments on the seashore in the wonderful Island of Holbox, decorated in a Caribean style, in the middle of our beautiful and big tropical garden, you will find privacy and personal attention are what make this place unique: you can relax watching the wildlife from your hammock, grill the fish you have just caught, or walk barefoot on white sands.a place to feel safe from the noise and the rush of a big city. Here, you can finally leave the hurry and anguish behind and rediscover that old-fashioned rhythm of life long forgotten, in the summer you can meet the amazing and beautiful whale shark and spend what will be the vacation of a lifetime. More than 40 km of virgin beaches, clean air, abundant wildlife, Holbox is still one of the few places left where life continues at a slow pace with no worries. Our beach is equipped with lounge chairs and hammocks that our customers can enjoy and each bungalow at this hotel features kitchenette facilities and safe box. Exclusive guest services: Free WiFi at the main lobbyFree Kayaks and bicycles for rent to our guestsTours and transfer services from Cancún or MéridaWe can rent our place for weddings or any other special events ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zomay Hotel Holbox

Address: Av. Pedro Joaquin Coldwell s/n, Holbox Island 77310, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Holbox Island
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zomay Hotel Holbox 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Zomay Hotel Holbox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Mapaches
Los Mapaches Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zomay Hotel Holbox staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another hotel.”
  • Cute sink, but no hot water. Single lever for cold water
  • No blankets provided
 of 5 bubbles X5285SMpeterm, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The hut close to the beach has only fans. There are rooms with AC though”
 of 5 bubbles CarolineM587, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Wifi only available from reception area and don't forget to pack your bug spray.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelandsallykatta, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't expect 5 star luxury - this is a proper hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 405christophera, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Sol y Mar is away from the main complex and not quiet (it is at the end of a lane that seems to be a bit of a thoroughfare), but the house itself is great and the fence provides some privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles DuncanNYC, 26 Mar 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay