We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hornsea Lakeside Lodges

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (808)
Room & Suite (186)
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Hornsea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room features
Seating area
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
504Reviews45Q+A58Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 287
  • 134
  • 36
  • 26
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
paul andrew c wrote a review Jan 2024
Leeds, United Kingdom24 contributions
Just back from Hornsea Lakeside lodges for a birthday treat for myself and the 3rd time we have come here in 16 months with our dog Bernard. The first 2 times we came we stayed both times in the Dovetail lodges. This time we decided to downsize and plumped for the Kingfisher Lodge and once again we were not disappointed. For a start the place is a haven for peace and tranquility. Once inside we were pleasantly suprised at the size of the lodge, the open plan living area was very spacious, the bedroom was huge and made a nice change to be able to leave your clothes and belongings in basically and area of the room without tripping over. The bathroom followed the rest of the lodge and too was very large with a toilet, shower and basin and to go along with this a modern free standing bath. As usual the hot tub was fantastic, very large and without doubt the best hot tub we have used. We read some recent comments regarding HLL and some not very complimentary ones which did have us worried for a while " had the lodges gone downhill"? We need not have worried the lodges were spotless and the bed was so comfy. Quite the opposite to resent reviews was that there is clear evidence that the lodges are getting a make over, with building work going on in one of the lodges, excellent news. Again we spent time in Hornsea just a 20 minute walk on the coastal bath, brilliant walks around the lodges for Bernard to explore and sniff. Thank you to the staff who were very attentive when required but were very respectful in leaving us in peace. We are already planning for our next trip and will not be long before we are contacting again to re-book.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Judith S wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
Our 4th weekend here and we have always enjoyed our stay but have to say what an improvement since February. Same lodge -no 2 Sandpiper. On entering the lodge it felt and looked much cleaner and sofas had been replaced. The hot tub smelt clean and was properly maintained, watched the emptying and cleaning process on departure morning and it was spot on . Helpful friendly team in the office and on site . Great value for money . Back again in Feb and also booked our November 24 weekend. Thankyou !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sofia R wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions
This is a beautiful idyllic spot, I'm not sure what all the bad reviews have been referring to, we had an issue with the hottub and management came that same day and sorted everything out for us. The area is sparse, but the kids l9ved the beach and rhe mere
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
madeline h wrote a review Oct 2023
hull11 contributions14 helpful votes
This was infact our second visit and you could see immediately that the whole site has gone down very neglected the cabins on the outside are looking very shabby and dirty , ours was covered in cobwebbs and just general dirt and to top it all off we stayed in number 22 and the previous occupants had been smoking in there so all in all not a pleasant experience so we will not be returning anytime soon
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: I think if the owners were to spend some money giving the whole place a refurb they will be able...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nicola F wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
The most relaxing peaceful place. A fantastic base for visiting the East Coast towns. The lodges are simply amazing...very spacious with everything you need. The fishing lakes are very beautiful and tranquill. Massive hot tub and spacious outdoor area. Will be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Simon W wrote a review Sept 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom41 contributions7 helpful votes
On first arriving the surroundings were very disappointing as a lot of work being done around the site but that can be put down to being towards the season end. The cabin itself was amazing in fact I would go as far to say absolutely fantastic lovely large bedrooms with on suit large seating lounge area and a bright we’ll equipped kitchen. BUT plenty of negatives. It was very very dirty not been cleaned very well there was dirty pots and pans that had been put away in the cupboards. Disgusting table and work tops sticky and unclean. No toilet roll and not drop of soap in any room in the lodge. One of the upstairs showers wasn’t sealed properly so when used it filled the bedroom floor with water. The hot tub smelt like cabbage and the bubbles didn’t work properly. And to top it off we weee watched loading our cars up by 2 of the cleaning staff from around 09:30
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take toilet rolls and soap and plenty of cleaning supplies
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Beth C wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here 7 years ago and these cabins once were luxury. However now, it’s not the case. Our stay was 8th September-11th September. We are still here now as I’m writing the review- check out is tomorrow morning but as Lee wouldn’t help rectify or accommodate anything I’ve been forced to write this now. The general state of the cabins now reflect this as we were the only people on site. We stayed in number 3 sandpiper lodge. The en-suite bathroom downstairs is grotty. The ceiling if full of black mould, the shower it’s self - grout, seal, tiles are black mould. Around the plug whole is all yellow and dirty. The mirror in the bottom corner is covered in rust and so is the toilet roll holder. In the master bedroom the drawer handle was broken on arrival which we took a photo of so we didn’t lose deposits. In the main bathroom the plug isn’t attached, there’s marks in the bath, tiles broken, mouldy grout and seals again. Taps covered in Limescale and the sink basin cabinet is all water damaged, paint peeling off and damaged. Wall paper in the bedroom is ripped and had a bad bodge it repair. All the curtain rails are covered in dust and cobwebs so when you shut the curtains it gets disturbed. This has not seen a decent clean/cleaner in a while. The furniture isn’t up to ‘luxury’ standard. It’s general wear and tear that’s not been replaced. Also the spiders/flies etc all in corners of the ceilings that’s not been cleaned round with a feather duster. The decking on the outside has had obvious repairs and not stained back over, however the places that need repairing haven’t been. There are planks that sink down and lift up when walking and a nail that sticks up half way off the fall. The general state of the cabins is so sad as this was the most beautiful place when we last came 7 years ago. Most definitely let down. The hot tub is a lovely bonus but unfortunately this is another grumble. It was lovely and clean on arrival but sadly it wasnt maintained during our stay. We own our own hot tub and I know what this involves, especially when so many people are using it. We did all the things we should have before using it, showering to remove cosmetics, foot bowl to avoid any dirt, no drinks but unfortunately due to it not being maintained regular the water quickly went cloudy and smelly which obviously resulted in us not wanting to use it. Disappointing. I reported all these issues to Lee (bold head) on reception on Sunday 10th September and he said ‘it’s because we’ve been drinking in it’ which we hadn’t and he had no evidence of this anyway. I told him we had a hot tub and his response was ‘well I’ve worked with them for 5 years’. Basic maintenance wasn’t carried out. On looking at other reviews on trip advisor Paul Sullivan the manager/owner has responded saying hot tubs are maintained every morning apart from a Sunday however this is simply not true. Our whole stay nobody maintained this. And it definitely wasn’t rectified after reporting it. I asked if there was a manager I could speak to and Lee told me he won’t give out the boss’ number. Unhelpful and difficult to work with to rectify anything. I was just handed a business card for the site and a piece of paper to write out reviews on which I’ve chosen not to use for obvious reasons. Pictures to follow
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ric wrote a review Sept 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom767 contributions205 helpful votes
+1
OK this review is going to be hyper critical but saying that these lodges are sold by both the park and Hoseasons, with whom we booked, as being luxury lodges, which they so easily could be but unfortunately are not at this time, and yes despite the problems we would more than likely return if they were revamped to a luxury state they are not only advertised as but also priced at. After paying for Wi-Fi it was all but useless at its peak it reached 2.2 mbps quite poor by any standard so bad in fact that my phone switched to 4G as it was was faster, (however on complaining I did get my £10 refunded) The furniture all really needs replacing. The webbing has lost all its strength on the Leatherette settees making them very uncomfortable and difficult to rise from, also the stuffing was showing on a number of the cushions, with one having an old boiled sweet caught in it, the gaps between the cushions on the settees had quite an amount of other peoples crumbs and obviously not been cleaned for some time. The wooden furniture in the living dining area was badly scratched and stained with the veneer bubbling and lifting in places. In the bedrooms a number of the mattress creaked badly making it difficult to sleep when sharing a room, also most of the drawers were difficult to open and close, in one case we were unable to open a particular draw during our stay, (an annoying problem that a bit of wax would have solved). Although outwardly the place seemed clean on close inspection it all really needed a deep clean and generally reflected a lack of attention, in fact most of the walls and upright surfaces needed a good clean and repainting. Also the blinds in the kitchen needed cleaning as the dead trapped fly indicated. A large crack in bedroom mirror was worrying with us having left £200 deposit, as was the fact we noticed an inventory on the kitchen wall showing what should be in the lodge after a quick count of a few items we realised the the inventory reflected nothing as to what was in the lodge and to be honest I didn’t want to spend a day of my holiday doing an inventory check. Some essential repairs had been carried out but to a low standard, if a repair is carried out it shouldn't be so obvious that your eyes are drawn to it as with the settees and door. The BBQ which again required extra payment, which did 4 bags of charcoal, wasn’t particularly clean with the grill rack being rusty and the inside being covered in the remains of previous cooking. However, to their credit, on the two occasions we did report problems both were attended quickly and dealt with, firstly presumably the previous guest had treated the back door as a duck feeding station with the inevitable result of duck dropping and seeds around the door mat and in the door runners which was added to by a pair of swifts nesting in the rafters above, and secondly the bath on the second floor drained very slowly. A major issue was the lack of hot water, we we were a party of three adults and two children and the hot water ran out after a couple of showers, not good if you’re all getting ready to go out. I did report the problem but it seemed nothing could be done. Outside we had two table benches which again showed their age and needed some sort of covering in order to use, however quite a number of new benches were on site presumably waiting to be distributed. The lack of a washing machine was also a problem with children coming back from the beach or out of the hot tub with clothes that needed rinsing and spinning. On the positive side some years ago these were probably luxury cabins however with little maintenance over the years they most definitely are not now, but if properly refurbished and maintained they could be again. The location is first class and the cabins are very well spaced out unlike the majority of lodges I have stayed in before. Also the hot tub in our Skylark cabin was very large and seemingly well maintained and well screened and was one of the few luxury items in the lodge. An unusual feature was that the lodges were a gated community with the gates being opened by number plate recognition cameras. The grounds were very well cared for keeping the area neat and tidy and there was refurbishment taking place on the outside of some the lodge’s. With Hornsea Lakeside Lodges there has obviously been a lack of maintenance in the past resulting in lodges that although outwardly clean are in fact grubby with furnishings that really need replacing. The lodges themselves could be fantastic the 4 bedroom 3 bathroom Skylark we stayed in being ideal for my family group at a fair price if they were as described. On leaving we discussed our concerns with the couple in reception and were told if we had made these complainant earlier they could have moved us, however spending a day repacking and unpacking to move to a lodge with similar problems was not an option for a weeks stay, alos during this conversation as the offer of a move was made they also stated their frustration, as they put it, about children jumping of furniture which made me believe that we were given poorer accommodation because we had children, who at 9 and 11 are well behaved. At the end of this long conversation it was explained that refurbishments were underway so we did asked to be informed if and when the lodge we stayed in was refurbished as when that was done we would definitely return as the location with refurbished lodges would be ideal for our party, we wait a response (but after this review I will be surprised if we will get one. The 25+photographs I have included with this review have attempted to offer fair views of the accommodation not only showing it idyllic location but also the poor state of the interior, with the shelf missing from the fridge to what seemed to be fruit pips on various walls, the poor state of the settee with very poor repairs an large amount of crumb's and food between the cushions including the boiled sweet trapped in the stuffing. To sum up great loges in fantastic surroundings in a good location but they really need to be fully refurbished and updated preferably with a washing machine fitted and little or no increase in price as you are already charged for a luxury lodge which at this time is far from value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: check if your lodge has had any recent refurbishment and don't bother with the WIFI.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from P S, General Manager at Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your review. We have taken on board what you had said on your day of check-out and we can only apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused you whilst you were staying with us. It's taking time but we are getting round to refurbishing the lodges. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adrian h wrote a review Jul 2023
Rotherham, United Kingdom5 contributions
Just back from 4 days staying in The Kingfisher Lodge . It's a lovely quiet site about 1.5 miles to the beach at Hornsea. They seem to be expanding the site making sites for Static Homes but at the rate they're working it will take forever, they worked a couple of days but didn't do anything from Wednesday onwards. It's a big site with massive potential but probably not in my lifetime ! Our Kingfisher Lodge needs a fair bit of TLC really. They class them as " luxury " but l wouldn't go that far. Issues that l saw , but didn't ruin our stay at all were : Loose Toilet Seat Rusty toilet roll holder Threadbare curtains No blind in the bedroom due to the failed fixings, why wasn't it replaced ? The curtain rail next to the TV is not even straight, embarrassingly so ! The ends missing on various curtain rails. Dishwasher dispenser not working The benches outside were not in good order with splinters showing. A repair just above the TV has been done but not painted over. The shower raiser has been replaced but the old holes just left and not filled in. The clock in the kitchen would state the correct time twice a day , get a new battery ! The stones in front of the patio door were full of weeds, took me ten minutes to sort. The shower tray had a fair of mould , a bit of bleach sorted that . I removed a few dust webs and cobwebs Some of the skirting boards need a good clean . I reported the above and as we were leaving they replaced the outside bench and said they would do what they could with the rest of my points. They should be proud of their product, if l was paying full whack in August, l wouldn't be impressed. It's attention to detail that is lacking. Walking round the rest of the lodges the vast majority had Green mould on the window surrounds , not a good look . First impressions count. Do they do regular inspections of their properties to spot these things ? Will they sort the issues, only the next occupants will know. !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Sullivan, General Manager at Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Responded 12 Jul 2023
Thank you for your review. We have taken everything you have said on board and are currently working on the issues you have raised. Please accept our apologies and for any inconvenience they may have caused you whilst staying with us. We do our best to keep on top of all maintenance jobs in the lodges and around the grounds. Kind Regards Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mobile308804 wrote a review Jun 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
As a family of four (2 adults and 2 teens) we stayed in Sandpiper Lodge Monday-Friday, from 29th May. Firstly i would like to say all staff were friendly and helpful and correspondence was good. The location is great, just on the edge of Hornsea and near to a large Tesco which was very convenient. The setting is pretty and the site itself feels safe. Unfortunately the website describes the lodges as 'Luxury' which they are not, our lodge could have done with lots of TLC. Very uncomfortable sofas, lumpy with springs poking up, nasty kitchen bin that didn't close, bathroom tired with cracks in bath and tiles and small details missed, caps on radiator missing and could do with a fresh coat of paint. Three of the internal doors were very difficult to open and close, and this had left big scratches in the wooden floors. On the Friday morning the bathroom door finally gave up and came off its hinges and fell on to me. Fortunately i managed to catch it as it fell and my husband and i struggled to get it back in to place, we propped it against the wall. Broken handle on chest of drawers, bedside drawer stayed permanently open as the floor is not level (just needs a wedge under!), and the large fridge/freezer in the kitchen area was making a very loud rumbling noise until my husband sorted it as is hadn't been levelled. Unfortunately it wasn't 'peaceful' as stated on website as immediately next to the cabins groundwork is currently in progress for new static accommodations. Machinery started from 8a.m, not horrendously loud but enough of a loud hum to really get on your nerves. I know these things need to take place but i think it should be stated when booking that this is happening, and your website should remove 'peaceful' from the description. I would definitely not describe the site as '5 Star', again as quoted on the website, in its current state. It has all the potential to be something very special but it needs care and attention to detail, and a true description on the website so people aren't left feeling disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paul Sullivan, General Manager at Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Responded 16 Jun 2023
Hello, Please accept our apologies regarding your recent stay with us, we're sorry for the inconvenience it may have caused you. We do try our best to keep on top of all maintenance jobs and if we are notified whilst you are staying with us we try to act as soon as we can to correct them. Regarding the groundwork which is happening on the site next door, it's hard to monitor their comings and goings but we do try to communicate with the worker if there has been any noise pollution reported to us, so again please accept our apologies. Hopefully, we will see you again in the near future. Thank you for your review we will pass on your comments to the staff. Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hornsea area.
PRICE RANGE
£74 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hornsea lakeside hotel hornsea
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireEast Riding of YorkshireHornsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HORNSEA LAKESIDE LODGES - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Hornsea Lakeside Lodges?
Nearby attractions include Honeysuckle Farm (2.3 miles), Hornsea Museum (1.4 miles), and Bugtopia Hornsea Zoo (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hornsea Lakeside Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a hot tub, and paid wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Hornsea Lakeside Lodges?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hornsea Lakeside Lodges?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hornsea Lakeside Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Falcon Inn, The Railway Inn Restaurant, and Mille Sapori.
Are pets allowed at Hornsea Lakeside Lodges?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hornsea Lakeside Lodges?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wassand Hall (2.5 miles) and Bettison's Folly (1.3 miles).
Is Hornsea Lakeside Lodges accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.