We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bleak House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bleak House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 158: English reviews
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had phoned up prior to visit to check we could look at Dicken's study. However, when we arrived we were told it wasn't open! The lady was very kind though and allowed us to see the room anyway (only because we arrived at a convenient time though) It was interesting as was the smugglers cellars

Helpful?
Thank Hazel J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A stunningly beautiful historic building i have had the pleasure of staying in several of the rooms/suites over the years and found them all spotlessly clean and very comfortable with all facilities needed for my stay,the staff are very friendly, helpful and pleasant and informative of all the local delights and must sees, the food-breakfast and afternoon tea was simply... More 

Helpful?
Thank jan t
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Bleak House. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's not often you get an opportunity to stay somewhere quite so stuffed with literary history. We splashed out and had the Dickens suite, which is essentially a large room, separate victorian style bathroom with amazing bath, and access to Dickens' writing room. You are sleeping in Queen Victoria's bed. Unpretentious staff and a beautiful hotel.

Helpful?
Thank RuthNolan
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Bleak House. More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We booked Bleak House for my 101 nanna's funeral wake having not seen it, but Nicola was brilliant on the phone, and helped us out with all the arrangements. The room was very well laid out and we had full use of the bar area and outside grounds. The sandwiches and cakes were plentiful and very fresh. The scones were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piers & Rebekah A
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We had a two night stay here on a b&b basis. When we arrived, despite following the signs for reception the front door was locked, the bell didn't work and there was not a soul insight. After a little investigation we were let in and shown up to our room. The room was spotlessly clean and nice and warm but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally A
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

What a great place to stay. We don't often stay in B&B - usually we stay in hotels when we go away, but this was an exception. We arrived late, and were made very welcome by the young lady that looked after us. Our room - the David Copperfield Suite - was large and beautiful and had a wonderful view... More 

Helpful?
Thank hamishcb
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive comments, we're very glad to hear you had such a nice stay at Bleak House and do hope you come back again to stay with us. Until then take care. Many Thanks Bleak House Team More 

Wilmington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stopped here for tea having previously visited the house... To say we were surprised that 1 pot of tea for 4 people cost £8.00 is an understatement!! The was just one young lady working serving cpafternoon teas to several tables, we just wanted a cup of tea,mew waited patiently until she was free... Never again

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thanks for taking the time to review Bleak House. It was me that served you that day and I remember exactly what happened. That day I took the time to explain to you that there had been a family emergency and that was the reason for being at the establishment on my own. I also explained to you... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Parking a little retricted but we found and were fine. It as others have said is a little wierd that you walk through the entrance and cafe area to get in - the main entrance is lovely and grand and perhaps could be used more to impress visitors . Your rooms can be reached by the public - so make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tkdreje
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review Bleak House. Were pleased you had a pleasurable experience and hope to see you again soon. All of your comments have been logged and taken in to consideration. Kind Regards More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Very friendly welcome and attentive staff , if you want peace and quiet it is the perfect place to be . We stayed in the copperfield suite and it had magnificent views over Viking bay and the old town . A little hard to find by car but walking distance from eateries and pubs.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald P
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Bleak House. Were pleased you enjoyed your stay in the spectacular Copperfield's Suite and hope to see you again soon. Unfortunately Bleak House is situated on the top of a cliff and some people do have difficulty finding occasionally, however on the confirmation email we sent to you, there are... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Although Bleak House has an interesting history, the hotel itself feels tired and does not feel like a 5 star hotel. We stayed in the Fagin suite at £155 which had a very large and I must say very comfortable bed so no complaints there. The views were pretty good of the bay from the bathroom but of an area... More 

Helpful?
Thank SUSAN M
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review Bleak House. Were pleased you had a nice stay in the Fagins Suite and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards More 

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
77 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
526 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 25 in Broadstairs
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set above the English Channel overlooking Broadstairs and Viking Bay, Bleak House was the summer home of arguably Britain's greatest author, Charles Dickens, from where he wrote "David Copperfield". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bleak House

Address: Bleak House Fort Road | Kent, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Price Range: £131 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bleak House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Bleak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleak House Broadstairs, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bleak House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bleak House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are different but unique and fit in with the over all theme of this historic hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 734jant, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no lifts - stairs to go up.”
 of 5 bubbles Tkdreje, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we did not stay in a room.”
 of 5 bubbles 952suf, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a sea view, but the Charles Dickens room is not ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsquick123, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Jeff is a great asset to the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MareeR977, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay