The Crask Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Crask Inn

The Crask Inn Crask, By Lairg, Lairg IV27 4AB Scotland
Log burner in the bar. Toasty and cosy!
Traveller (87)
Dining (7)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 inn in Lairg
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Crask Inn is a unique isolated Inn in a remote area of Scotland. We have 4 individual letting rooms, call us to check for availability. The Inn has been here since 1815. We offer a friendly service serving soup and toasties / sandwiches, tea , coffee and cakes during the day and pre-booked home cooked evening meals.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Chapel / shrine
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Romantic

Location

The Crask Inn Crask, By Lairg, Lairg IV27 4AB Scotland
Getting there
Inverness Airport
47.7 mi
See all flights
227Reviews4Q+A33Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 194
  • 24
  • 3
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ley-Anne F wrote a review Nov 2022
17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There aren’t enough adjectives which will ever give you a sense of how beautiful the location of the Crask Inn is - you’re just going to have to visit to see it yourself! Even then, the view is nothing in comparison to the incredible hosts Denise and Douglas (and Brandy the lovely dog)! You will feel like you’re at a family gathering because the welcome is so warm, and then there’s the home cooked to die for food which is incredible quality, value and extremely generous in portion! You will want to save room for Douglas’ delectable desserts. The bar - trust folk from Moray when it comes to stocking a bar with malt! Local delicious beer and gin is also well provided. A fire wns dog friendly tops off this highland idyll! Comfy, peaceful sleep is a guarantee and waking up to the views is just a wonderful cherry on the cake. Myself and my husband have been here on numerous occasions for food and events as well as having stayed a few times. I couldn’t give you a negative if I tried! There is no one I wouldn’t recommend The Crask Inn to.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen L wrote a review Nov 2020
Oyne109 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Crask Inn for two nights to walk the two local munros. We received a really warm welcome. Douglas does all the cooking and runs the bar and front of house, although due to COVID restrictions we were unable to enjoy a bevie in the bar or with our food. The other guests were really friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere in the dining room despite it being a little chilly.
The food was excellent with large portions in part I suspect because of the number of cyclists who stop here during their lands end to john o’groats rides.
I highly recommend this friendly guest house, it’s outstanding value for money. Thanks, guys!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Douglas Campbell, General Manager at The Crask Inn
Responded 19 May 2021
Thank you - we have recently been able to open the bar again with 1 metre social distancing
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernadette H wrote a review Sept 2021
Canterbury, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second visit to this unique inn set in the flow country. This was a family visit ( representing a number of generations ) to climb Ben Hope , the most northerly Munro in Scotland . The Crask is such a great place to stay for either climbing mountains or visiting the stunning North Coast of Scotland .Denise and Douglas serve just the kind of food to sustain you for such activities , ales to quench your thirst and the night sky can provide great sights of the Milky Way !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet and have great views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew H wrote a review Sept 2021
12 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I phoned a couple of weeks prior to arriving on a Saturday evening to book an meal for two and ask if it was OK to camp and have a shower. Positive response so no concerns. Arrived on bicycles 45 mins prior to the arranged sit down meal (£17 for three courses). So we set up our tents and went to the bar to have a beer and sit down for meal. We also asked when we could shower and were told it should be OK after the meal..... Food was good. We settled the bill after asking to pay for the camping, we were told no charge but any contribution would be welcomed, I added £13 to the bill for shower use etc as a contribution. After eating I was directed to another building where the shower was. All excellent after a long day cycling. I was also told it would be OK to use these facilities in the morning. In the morning whilst using the facilities I was abused by a member of the Crask Inn who made it very clear that I should not be using the facilities. Really bad experience and would not wish that on anyone. Not very Christian in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make it clear what your needs are
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Douglas Campbell, General Manager at The Crask Inn
Responded 13 Sept 2021
We are glad you enjoyed the meal. The cost of our 3 course dinner is £20 a head We are sorry that there was a misunderstanding probably related to the requirement for us to wear masks at all times . Our shower has not been available to those who chhose to camp on our lawn during Covid restrictions. We are not an official campsite so just ask for a donation. We require to limit the access to out building to keep our staff who work there safe during the day but allow access to the Inn toilets throughout your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren B wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After driving past a couple of times we thought we would nip in for a toastie, bacon rolls and some tea for takeaway before going off to do a hill walk. It was around £15 for 2 toasties, bacon roll and tea which seemed reasonable enough.

Once we got the food I was appalled. The toastie wasn’t toasted more like deep fried. Cheap white value bread and one cheap slice of cheese. Mine had a hair on it as well. I don’t mind paying £4 for a cheese toastie, but would prefer if it was toasted and had actually seen cheese...

Owner/bar manager was pretty rude and short. Not the friendly visit or atmosphere I’d expect.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Douglas Campbell, General Manager at The Crask Inn
Responded 19 May 2021
I am sorry you did not have a good expierence with us. I think we tried to serve you before we were officially open - our opening times are 10 - 5pm for food and snacks. We pride ourselves in only using know brands or home made products so I can only apologies if the products you received were not to our and the brands usual standard. Please get in touch and we would be happy to refund you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaurenceMacrae wrote a review Nov 2020
Doha, Qatar140 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Crask after climbing Ben Klibreck with friends. Great to get in from the cold and be greeted by a warm fire in the bar and Brandy the dog who is a real character. Food was really good , Tomato and coconut soup (excellent), Steak pie for the main and Ice cream and crumble for desert. Fantastic Scottish breakfast the next day as well. The room with En-suite bathroom was absolutely ideal. Douglas is a great host and I would recommend the Crask to anyone touring this beautiful part of the country.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Douglas Campbell, General Manager at The Crask Inn
Responded 19 May 2021
Glad you liked the home cooked food. We are continuing with this menu , usually on a Saturday night - we will prepare fresh food to suit those who are staying
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna R wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really quirky place in the middle of knowhere. We had a lovely evening by the fire. Dinner was served around a large dinning room table with other guests. The food was great although the fish pie was more potato than fish. Excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsty T wrote a review Sept 2022
Latheron, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Cask Inn is a gem - importantly dog friendly. We had lunch here soup sandwiches / Toasties finished off with jam and cream scones ( homemade jam and scones) and a steaming pot of tea. Some in the group took beer which was also very good. They also sell local craft items which I also purchased ( very well made)
Would we go again - definitely

Well done The Crask Inn
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cannicUk wrote a review May 2023
UK303 contributions185 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were getting desperate for a late lunch on this long stretch of road and The Crask Inn was more than timely when it appeared on the horizon. What a find! Warm and cosy after the pretty sharp wind outside, we found a friendly welcome and relaxed with generous plates of toasted sandwiches with trimmings, a good range of hot drinks and home made cakes. Could not praise the Crask Inn enough.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Douglas Campbell, General Manager at The Crask Inn
Responded 4 Jun 2023
Glad you enjoyed your lunch.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Choosy Traveller wrote a review Aug 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As usual the Crask Inn continues to enchant. Set in a stunning part of the Highlands it is a magical place. We only live 70 miles away, and we have only stopped for food so far on our road trips. But this time Douglas gave us a walk round. The rooms are excellent, sparkling clean, and comfortable. If you enjoy wide open spaces, superb roads, and simple pleasures. The Crask is the place to be. We had a lovely hour today, sat outside on a glorious sunny afternoon, with a gentle breeze. We'll be heading back again soon for a couple of nights. Thank you Douglas, superb as always.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just make sure you go.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Douglas Campbell, Innkeeper at The Crask Inn
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Thanks for your lovely comments - we look forward to you staying with us shortly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maggie tuck asked a question Apr 2024
Wisbech, United Kingdom13 contributions
Have you availability for 4 adults 11th June for one night
Answer from Shane S
2 contributions
Hello! Thanks for reaching out. For bookings, please see our business details for our phone number or email. We will be happy to help you from there.
genevdv asked a question Jul 2018
Invergordon, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have accomodations available for July 15, one night, for 2 people?
Answer from catch222015
Leicestershire, United Kingdom14 contributions18 helpful votes
you need to email the owner, Douglas; was a guest here.
Mark L asked a question Sept 2017
Tamworth, Australia3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi we are calling by on the 22nd of this month on the way to Lairg. Do you take reservations for lunch?
Answer from Douglas C
Lairg, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi The Crask Inn will be open then and usually you can just arrive and soup and a sandwich would be available. However it would be great if you could phone 01549 411241 to confirm your coming in a few days before. Regards Douglas at The Crask Inn
roypp123 asked a question Jun 2017
Birmingham, United Kingdom
How do I contact the Crask Inn?
Answer from Douglas C
Lairg, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Call us on 01549 411241, leave a message and we will get back to you as soon as we can. Also on Facebook.
Jean G wrote a tip Jun 2023
Edinburgh Scotland38 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a clean and simple 'home from home', offering a home-cooked evening meal at a set time (meat-based or veggie option). "
Read full review
Babs M wrote a tip Aug 2022
Athens, Georgia, United States45 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had lunch."
Read full review
StuartSussex wrote a tip Jun 2022
Crawley, United Kingdom385 contributions151 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t be put off driving here - roads are good."
Read full review
Jim B wrote a tip Sept 2021
Wirral, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy chatting to everyone"
Read full review
Andrew H wrote a tip Sept 2021
12 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make it clear what your needs are"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lairg area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
crask hotel caithness and sutherland
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandLairg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CRASK INN - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Crask Inn
What are some of the property amenities at Crask Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Crask Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crask Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crask Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Lairg HotelsLairg Hotel DealsHotels near Crask Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire