We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hosteria Itapoa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hosteria Itapoa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Montpellier, France
Reviewed 25 September 2016

A magical place where we stayed for a few days, and where we wish we had stayed much longer! The hosts are very kind and attentive, and the place really beautiful. We’ve enjoyed everything: the delicious breakfast that we could eat watching the ocean, the good mood of André at the bar, the peaceful hammocks to take a nap, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Quaint beachy cottages paired with outstanding hospitality made this the perfect place to stay in Puerto Lopez. We loved the short walk to the beach along with the great breakfast. Make sure you try the organic Ecuadorian chocolate when you're there. It's amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel P
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stayed here for a couple of nights. The hostel is ok, but don't expect anything special. The garden and the dorm was very messy, everything seems old and it lacks atmosphere. The owner, however was really nice and I enjoyed my staying

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorena M
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We stayed in one of the cabinas here for two days. Arriving earlier than anticipated, the staff brought us in and let us check in early, gave us breakfast, made sure we were comfortable while we waited for the room. The breakfast was simple but good fare. The views from the restaurant lovely - from the room not so much,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamila F
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I loved our stay at Hosteria Itapoa. There was some drawbacks but not everything can be perfect all the time. Positives: Beautiful ocean view, great service (Maria is very helpful), close to the beach/restaurants/stores, good breakfast (bread, eggs, juice,coffee, and fruit), cool hangout area with hammocks and upstairs view of the ocean, clean rooms and bathrooms, A/C...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
Ruedesheim am Rhein, Germany
Reviewed 20 March 2016

Pretty and spacious "lodge" with bamboo cabanas with hammocks on your private terrace in shady garden next to the beach. Clean rooms and baths, various categories (main difference with or w-out air condition), good and friendly service (depending on ever changing staff - volonteers), good standard breakfast in a special bamboo building at the entrance where you could spend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gartennatur
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Room was clean, and good location. Breakfast was good. But very expensive for what it is. Stayed 3 nights. Wouldn't stay again because of the price. It seemed cheap when we booked it from the UK, but having spent time in Ecuador now, I'm disappointed we paid so much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn C
Itteville, France
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We loved it. It was across the beach with a beautiful view on the beach while having a very good included breakfast or sipping a beer. The room was beautiful with a terrace and a hammock. It is shaded under trees. It was very clean and the beds were made every day, the towels changed every 2 days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvaine S
anonimo1216, Propietario at Hosteria Itapoa, responded to this review

We really aprecciate your comments. It was a pleasure t o us to have you both here. Hope everthing will be fine with you. Enjoy your stay in Ecuador, and take care, have a nice and safe trip back to your country. Warm regards, Maria

Vacaville, California
Reviewed 5 January 2016

My wife and I stayed here while visiting Puerto Lopez during carnival in 2012 and when we were planning our trip this year we had good memories of Itapoa so we scheduled with Maria this time as well. The dog that lived there in 2012 has passed away and there's a new dog that allows cats free run of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Maria N, Owner at Hosteria Itapoa, responded to this review

thanks John for your great review. We are so gratefull and happy to have you here as our guest. This is your home you are welcome any time. Say hello to your beatifull wife, and we wish you both a happy holiday. warm regards, Maria and staff from Itapoa

Arizona
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We had a cabana and decided just to stay one night as wi-fi didn't work well and not sure what happened with breakfast but we sat waiting for a long while, they may have ran out of gas or something but no one said anything and we were never asked what we wanted for breakfast just bought stuff and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UKVISIT

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.3 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#1 of 5 in Puerto Lopez
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 5 in Puerto Lopez
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Monte Libano
Hostal Monte Libano
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maremonti B&B
Maremonti B&B
#6 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#3 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hosteria Itapoa in Puerto Lopez, Ecuador is in the center of Machalilla National Park, and only lies 20 meters (65 feet) from the beach. The hostel set in a charming area surrounded by lush grounds. Our hotel is family run and much of the proceeds fund the Itapoa Reserve Rainforest Project, paying for conservation efforts and programs to protect the rainforest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hosteria Itapoa

Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta y Abdon Calderon, Puerto Lopez 131950, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Price Range: £30 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Itapoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hosteria Itapoa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria Itapoa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a cabin near the common space if you want wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles pamilaf2016, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we liked 16”
 of 5 bubbles judyaa2015, 18 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Ask for one of the front cabins if you are a couple.”
 of 5 bubbles DortyE, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
“I'm in cabana #16 and it looks like one of the newer, larger ones.”
 of 5 bubbles hal2711, 5 Aug 2014 | Read review
“maybe bring ear plugs, especially if you want to leave windows open at night. The neighbourhood dogs just don't stop barking.”
 of 5 bubbles Nat2001, 7 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay