We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stonecutters Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Stonecutters Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stopped here for just 1 night on our way to the JHB airport from the Kruger area. I wish we could have stayed longer. Fantastic property, top class service and a breakfast to match the best out there. We stayed in one of the cottages with our 2 friends, a 3 bedroom overlooking their small lake. What an idyllic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveW_MSP
Bremen, Germany
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We enjoyed 2 nights in the Stone Cottage in January. The cottage is well equipped and neatly kept. Unfortunately you can sill see and sometimes hear the cars and trucks from the main road but that does not necessarily diminish the beauty of the Scotland-like location. The Fishing was also a pleasure as the Lodge does not cater too many...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max7_vdH
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post this positive fedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Fishing in January is always challenging, however we are well stocked and would love to see you back here in the cooler months. Regards, Lesley

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The service was suitable The bedroom was comfortable but did have to use my own plug to use their hairdryer. Their spare plug was not correct for the hairdryer. They do not provide bubble bath but have a bath. The amenities are great overall but the braai facility on the front porch is right against the unit and front door....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gheard2017
MargiCB, Manager at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

We have attended to the problem of the hairdryer plug, thanks for bringing this to our attention! The braai on the front porch has a large built-in canopy/chimney so smoke should not be a problem. There are two braai facilities at Stone Cottage, one built in on the front porch and an open-air braai built-in on the rear porch where...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

The Stonecutters Lodge offers neat, clean and comfortable accommodation. Scenic views and very peaceful and tranquil location. Great for birdwatching. Can Fly fish at this establishment.... this is one of the main attractions for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive feedback! Lovely time of year in the gardens and bird-watching is most rewarding. So glad you enjoyed the fishing too, we try to be well-stocked throughout the year. Regards, Lesley

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Clean & neat facility with comfortable amenities.Perfect setting for a get away. Quiet & peaceful surrounding. Friendly hosts. Lots of activity nearby. The only issue was the roads are really bad with potholes in the area but it is so picturesque, it makes it worth it. Thanks.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F150RYjoea
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your most positive feedback. The roads department tell us they are attending to the problem....! Regards, Lesley

Komatipoort, South Africa
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We booked a quiet, romantic resort to spent chrismas weekend and it was indeed very relaxing and peacefull in the bush with the birds early morning. For us the bathroom was a bit small and we would like a bath aswell.,There were shower only. There were only hotel channels available on the TV and we wanted Kyknet, 144.Also missed Wi-Fi...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank roenelb
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to post this review. I must point out that we are very careful when sending out our accommodation info to state that the bathrooms are shower only and that on the TV we offer a guest-house selection of packages. This info is all on the website and all on-line agents sites as well. We encourage...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Cobbles are quite close to each other. If multiple rooms are available, try not to book different couples right next to each other for more privacy. The large dam full of grass, makes fly fishing virtually impossible.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank barnard_graeme
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for this review, perhaps next time choose Stone Cottage in a private setting on the hillside. The grass in the dam can be expected after a 2 year drought followed by a spring heat-wave and then lots of rain. All local lodges are battling the same problem!Our fishing is best in winter months, for river fishing too.... Regards, lesley

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Very nice and quiet place to stay when traveling around. Lovely surroundings to go for a walk. The staff is very friendly and home made dinner was perfect. Also for the vegetarians amongst us. They have a nice selection of wines. Perfect breakfast spot at the pond.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely comments, you were most appreciative guests and we enjoyed going the extra mile for you! Regards, Lesley

Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed there one night.. sorry we cannot be there more. we had one of the big cottage for 6.. very clean well organised..beautiful unit for a family.. also good for self-catering. lovely peaceful green area. we had excellent tasty dinner and also very good breakfast. very nice ladies running this lovely place. We will be there again for sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eyal S
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

Great comments, please tell your friends about Stonecutters! Regards, Lesley

Pretoria
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Had a lovely stay with great service and delicious food! We enjoyed our fly fishing very much. Situated close to Dullstroom for a day out. Staff was gave good advice about surrounding attractions and upcoming events.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 959henrietteh
MargiCB, Owner at Stonecutters Lodge, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your special stay with us! Regards, Lesley

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lydenburg
13.2 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
360 reviews
18.9 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
189 reviews
6.5 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in Dullstroom
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#5 of 28 in Dullstroom
207 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
11.9 mi away
Aqua Terra Guest House
Aqua Terra Guest House
#1 of 18 in Lydenburg
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stonecutters Lodge (graded 4 stars) is positioned in a beautiful setting between mountains and river between Dullstroom & Lydenburg in the highlands of Mpumalanga. Whether you are planning a holiday or weekend away, organising a small conference or looking for excellent trout fishing, Stonecutters will accommodate you in superlative style. All the accommodation is fully serviced and equipped including selected DSTV channels. The accommodation comprises family houses, Stone Cottage and the Trout House. The Cobbles studios are ideal for couples. Dinners and breakfasts are available and self-catering options are available. Stonecutters offers a base for well-known tourist attractions and is an ideal stopover for the Kruger National Park and other private game lodges. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stonecutters Lodge

Address: 35 Kms From Dullstroom, Lydenburg 1110, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Lydenburg
Price Range: £105 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonecutters Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Stonecutters Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stonecutters Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can't go wrong here but if more than 1 couple seek out one of the cottages”
 of 5 bubbles SteveW_MSP, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Trout house is a stand alone house for bigger groups”
 of 5 bubbles Hannelie2015, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Trout House - excellent self-catering accommodation with the option to dine at the main Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles Anthony-Aardvark, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had chalet no. 2 which was fabulous, but it looks like all the chalets are equally lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 402nickyh, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Quiet and peaceful. Beautiful views from Stone Cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretC976, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5