The Loop Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Loop Beach Resort

Traveller (852)
The rooms and spectacular view of the pool and beach.
Pool & Beach (225)
Dining (56)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 19 small hotels in Jambiani
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
We are a small resort located in the center of the Jambiani village on the east coast of Zanzibar, Tanzania. The village of Jambiani is considered the most fascinating and exciting village of Zanzibar, because, it has remained unchanged despite the development of tourism over time, with fishermen leaving the sea every morning with their dhow boats and women who grow seaweed in their seaside gardens. Our resort is designed by an Italian designer in an architectural style inspired by the Arabian homes of Stone Town and completed with an African inspired interior design, made of recycled items and paintings by young Tanzanian artists. Everything was built ecologically, thanks to the use of natural lime, an environmentally friendly material, and wood, with very low environmental impact,. A lot of nature, zero reinforced concrete. During a vacation at The Loop guests can experience activities at our Water Sports Center, including kite surfing, sailing and wind surfing school. The latest generation of equipment is available, and renewed every year, to offer the most, or to accommodate guests’ equipment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Massage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Concierge
Mosquito net
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, German and 2 more

Location

Jambiani 1000 Tanzania
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Kisauni Airport
23.5 mi
See all flights
Dar Es Salaam Intl Airport
45.1 mi
See all flights
384Reviews22Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 333
  • 36
  • 5
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
G.Bogdan wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Went there in our honeymoon.
All we can say (me and my wife) is that we felt like home during our stay at The Loop!
The staff is simply "Wow" , always there ready to help you with whatever your wish is , not to mention the cleanliness we saw every day in the restaurant, during our breakfast, lunch or dinner , the food was delicious .
The room's were cleaned 3 times daily ,as the stunning pool every morning .
We used their taxi service's , and catamaran cruise on the reef .
As for the beach , in front of The Loop , there are amazing, crystal water sand banks , on low tide .
Overall , there is nothing we could complain about the Staff nor the Resort itself !
Definitely will recommend to friends and family!
Too bad i can't attach photos ... 5mb size or less ... .
Thanks again The Loop Staff , for making our stay unforgettable!
King regards from room no.14 🤗
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Care, Revenue Management at The Loop Beach Resort
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination and for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be pleasure to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NkheNsaNie wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa256 contributions155 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has been on top of my list for the longest time! My friends and I were meant to stay here 2 years ago and….. the pandemic happened!

2 years later when making the booking the place was sold out for our dates, but there was just no way we’d visit Zanzibar and not get to spend a few nights here so we changed our itinerary and saved the best for last :-) and it was definitely worth it!

Being at The Loop was a dream come true, the staff is super friendly, welcoming and helpful. This beach resort is absolutely beautiful!!! Has a lot of days beds and direct access to the beach. Loved the meals and cocktails! All reasonably priced.

The resort is covered in sand right from reception to the rooms, pools and ultimately leading to the beach. As someone whose not really a fan of stepping on sand after bathing I really appreciated that there was a small built in ‘dish’ to rinse the sand off before stepping into the room.

A few things to note for improvement:

Zanzibar is extremely hot so, I was a bit disappointed that there was no AC in our room. There are only two rooms with AC (these are situated by reception in the front)

No bar fridges in the rooms. You can imagine, with the heat, one would need to store water and stuff.

The above was a slight inconvenience although the staff was more than happy to store the water for us in the resort fridge as well as offered to bring us a fan in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eddy Xuzzo wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent one week in this little paradise.
The stunning pool and the clean beach! The hotel is taking care of the environment, they have a collaboration with guys from the village that clean the beach every day, all the north area of Jambiani. Then the hotel collects the rubbish to give it to who recycle the plastic. They have the table and chairs made by that plastic recycled. Amazing project! Keep going on! #savetheenviorment #future #paradiseonearth
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephanie wrote a review Jun 2022
Munich, Germany41 contributions45 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In May 2022 we stayed at The Loop for 8 nights. Unfortunately we have been very disappointed due to many things, that haven't been like our experience before and also compared to our experience in Hotels and Guesthouses in the quite same category as it was not a "budget" style.
 
So for us it was very disappointing because of:
- On the day of our arrival we both had our birthday, even round birthday for one of us. We already informed The Loop in advance by email. On the day of our birthday we arrived, nothing was specially done nor nobody even just congratulated us. Also we gave the passports to the staff for checking in, also this didn't made them recognise this special day to both of us.
Two nights before we stayed for just one night in a same priced Hotel in Dar es Salaam and the owner gave us a present and offered even breakfast for free to us, although we didn't have birthday at that day nor we have stayed that long in his accommodation like we did at The Loop.
- We payed quite a lot money each night that was not really that worth due to a construction site right behind our room where working started the most of the week at 6 a.m. in the morning with very loud noise! So no holiday feeling / needed quite time to rest could show up.
It made it even worse when friends joined for 1 night the room next to us paying a lot less for their room in the same category. When we told all these things to the staff no reaction have been made.
- The staff itself were quite friendly and talkative. But the service in total was not very attentive like it is the minimum of a must in that kind of accommodation 'The Loop' seems to be.
They never filled up drinking water or gave us water when we ate in the own Loop restaurant we all had to ask about. We came in the morning with empty bottle to have breakfast, nobody saw the empty bottle on our table. We believe a server should be foresighted. Furthermore in really every kind of food order there was something done wrong or even forgotten to manage, although we really weren't that extraordinary guests as we ordered every time the exact same dish.
 
The only plus I would like to say is, beside that the architecture & design of the accommodation is really nice, it was very clean and the cleaning staff did a really good job and we gave them tips from heart as they really have earned it. They also were very attentive and nice to all of the guests, not just about the way to talk with, but also with their job they did!
 
So all in all it was sadly not that birthday week we expected in advance.
 
This text we wrote to the hotel in email right after our stay to propose a solution on our unhappy experience but nobody even dare to replay (this was 3 weeks ago). Also another disappointment for us !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Office, Revenue Management at The Loop Beach Resort
Responded 27 Jul 2022
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination and for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry that you had some negative experience, regarding the contraction from our neighbors we did try our best to stop them but its was unfortunately, Hope everything will be better next time and It will be pleasured to welcoming you back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SweetP424 wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was recommended to myself and my friends while we were staying in Stone Town. I wish we had known about this hotel prior because we could have stayed here for our entire Zanzibar visit. The food and drinks are great, the staff is friendly, the pool is also very nice. There was low tide when we visited so where the water was nice, there was a lot of rocks and seaweed. The rooms are nice but not contemporary, if that's what you're looking for. There are no TV's or phones, but it is very airy. The rooms by the pool have no AC but it is designed where there is cross ventilation from the bathroom to the front doors. You can also sleep with the screen doors uncovered, so this along with the ceiling fan that is directly over the bed makes for a comfortable sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want AC rooms you won't have front door pool access.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emily993 wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom291 contributions101 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the most wonderful stay at The Loop for a few days. We were so well looked after by the staff and loved every minute of our stay. The rooms were perfect and right by the pool and beach. An amazing pool with views of the ocean and it was so nice to stay somewhere with a sufficient supply of sun beds and seating for all guests! We enjoyed the food there but also enjoyed visiting other local places to eat (Bahari Pizza next door and Fadhils). The Loop organised a trip out on their catamaran and another on a smaller dhow boat for a bit of snorkelling - although these are not the most exciting reefs I’ve visited. Also enjoyed having a great massage.

Just to note that the rooms are fitted with European plugs so if you are from the mainland or rest of the world, bring an adaptor! The staff did kindly lend us one for the week!

Thank you Monica and the team for an amazing stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Care, Revenue Management at The Loop Beach Resort
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, and taking time to review our property, We are glad that your stay with us was a memorable one! We are very happy that our staff and services meet your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John435 wrote a review Apr 2021
Normandy, France541 contributions146 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing stay in one of the best resort of the island, correct prices for room and restaurant. The pool is beautiful with direct sea view and nice restaurants around. A special thanks to Monica for making my birthday dinner so special. She is one of the asset of the resort, always smiling, speaking with guests. The ambiance in the resort is nice, small but cute. Thanks to housekeeping for always spraying every night anti-mosquitoes and preparing the bed to sleep. The breakfast was very correct for the price with fresh fruits/juices everyday and they even went to purchase avocados to make us this beautiful avocado toast with eggs. Thank you for everything and I recommend to everyone to stay at the Loop.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Office, Revenue Management at The Loop Beach Resort
Responded 28 Jun 2021
Hi John Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so glad you found our hotel a good place to stay and you enjoyed everything. It would be pleasure to welcome you back ANY TIME SOON :-) A very best wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Klp wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I never write reviews (just read them) but had to take some time out to write about The Loop.

We arrived from Dubai in the evening and were greeted by the lovely, cheerful Monica who checked us in very quickly so we could shower and eat. The Bar / Restaurant area is impressive and great for relaxing. The food is amazing (best we had in Zanzibar) and we tried everything on the Swahili menu and it was all so delicious and fresh, they also offer a more western menu such if thats what you prefer. Breakfast is simple, tasty and again, SO fresh. Every morning I had fruit, yogurt and honey! You must try the pancakes also. The location of the loop is perfect and on our first morning we were so taken back by the beautiful beach right on the door step. The rooms are spacious, simple, clean and the decor is very well suited to the sustainable, african, beachy theme. We did lots of snorkeling trips but make sure you spend the day in the hotel on a Sunday as they have a pool party, live dj, an acrobatic show, lots of dancing and cocktails. We ate at the bhari beach restaurant next door a few times, the food is really good and on a Friday / Saturday evening they have a live music evening which is so fun! The staff at the loop are wonderful and they make your stay so special, THANK you the loop, have have fallen in love with this hotel and Zanzibar, we will be back x
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Office, Revenue Management at The Loop Beach Resort
Responded 25 Jul 2021
Hi friends!! Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be pleasure to welcome you back.......ANY TIME SOON :-) a VERY BEST WISHES
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DorDor wrote a review Feb 2020
Ewell, United Kingdom15 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we arrived at this amazing hotel we felt at home. Nothing is to much trouble for all the wonderful staff. Our room was perfect and kept in pristine condition by the traditionally dressed house keepers. The breakfasts are substantial and always served by happy smiling staff. I can’t praise this hotel enough. The village of Jambiani is worth visiting we were taken to the school and were treated to a charming reception by pupils in the top class of primary. The working beach was a joy to behold there is always something exciting going on be it a herd of cows strolling along it or the ladies collecting the seaweed to export to Japan. Fishermen bringing in their catch of octopus then prepping them on the beach. There are a number of small hotels along the beach where you can get a refreshing drink or delicious meal. Bahari Pizzeria next door is great. I just can’t praise the Loop enough it was wonderful. The Manager Enzo was charming as was Charles Fifi and Monica they run the hotel in a very professional but approachable manner. You can tell that they respect their staff and it shows in the way the staff carry out their day to day job. Captain Abu is such fun. Amor and Lucia were so helpful and obliging and not to forget the singing waiter he was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ruru wrote a review May 2021
19 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It all started with a 3night trip there and we ended up staying for more than a month at The Loop because of a problem we faced in our trip. During this time we have never seen anything wrong at this hotel. The rooms are beautifully arranged, there are small details at each step and their food in the restaurant is ah-ma-zing. Tip: try their homemade jam during breakfast. But what makes The Loop truly the best place to stay at in Zanzibar is its people. They all have such a beautiful personality, they are all so caring, starting with their owner. Staying there was the best decision we took as we felt so supported, just like in a family. BIG THANKS TO EVERYONE and we hope you are all well! Ruxandra & Bogdan
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try their homemade jam, kayak out in the ocean to find turquoise blue water pools ❣️
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Office, Revenue Management at The Loop Beach Resort
Responded 28 Jun 2021
Dear Ruxandra & Bogdan Thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination and for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it would be pleasure to welcome you back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fionamaissa asked a question Jul 2022
Marseille, France15 contributions2 helpful votes
Bonjour y’a t’il un restaurant pour le repas du soir et midi à l’hôtel ou à proximité ?
Answer from Tom K
Palo Alto, California16 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes. The hotel has a restaurant which is quite good. Open until 2200. Next door is an Italian restaurant that has good pizza and pasta.
Louise asked a question Jan 2021
Belfort, France3 contributions
Hello is the meet halal ? And is it possible to swim with a burkini ? Thanks
Answer from KING JAY ONE
Accra, Ghana34 contributions2 helpful votes
yes
Jessica F wrote a tip Dec 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tanzania has two different types of power points… one is the British style and the other is the Indian style. Pack both!"
Read full review
said m wrote a tip Jun 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food is amazing"
Read full review
Rob M wrote a tip Jun 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to verify your reservation multiple times as the confirmation of reservation was not enough for hotel to assist"
Read full review
Tom K wrote a tip Jul 2022
Palo Alto, California16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beach front rooms are wither the extra cost but all of the rooms are lovely."
Read full review
Alexander wrote a tip Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Most rooms are around the pool. Very convenient! Determine preference and check whether correct room is booked."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jambiani area.
PRICE RANGE
£104 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandJambiani
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LOOP BEACH RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Loop Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Loop Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Jambiani Beach (0.06 miles) and Novtox Tailor & Designer (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Loop Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Loop Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a mosquito net, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at The Loop Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Loop Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Loop Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lost Soles Bar, Gadea Garden Italian Restaurant, and Fadhil Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Loop Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Loop Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, The Loop Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Loop Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Loop Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Arabic, and Swahili.
Does The Loop Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Jambiani HotelsJambiani Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JambianiHotels near The Loop Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire