Bahia Azul Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bahia Azul Hotel

Parque Nacional Ballena Bahía Ballena, Osa, Puntarenas, Uvita 60504 Costa Rica
desde vista al mar en casa de amigo 2
Traveller (38)
desde vista al mar en casa de amigo
Pool & Beach (12)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#10 of 14 hotels in Uvita
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value

Bahia Azul Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Uvita, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

The rooms offer air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Bahia Azul Hotel features room service. In addition, as a valued Bahia Azul Hotel guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you’re looking for a wine bar, consider a visit to Mosaic Wine Bar and Cafe or Maracuya Restaurante, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Bahia Azul Hotel.

Uvita is also home to Magic Ananda, a popular art gallery that is not too far from Bahia Azul Hotel.

Enjoy your stay in Uvita!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Fishing
Walking tours
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Clothes rack
Tile / marble floor
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Parque Nacional Ballena Bahía Ballena, Osa, Puntarenas, Uvita 60504 Costa Rica
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Palmur Sur Airport
23.3 mi
See all flights
Puerto Jimenez Airport
48.6 mi
See all flights
71Reviews1Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 15
  • 11
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ditte J wrote a review Mar 2020
26 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We didnt stay at the hotel but stopped for lunch - and we were glad we did. A wonderful tuna tatare and fish ceviche. Really great food and a affordable price. Homemade from scratch so you had to wait a while but is was worth it👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denyse H wrote a review Jul 2023
La Verne, California72 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If in the area, definitely stop and eat at the restaurant at Hotel Bahia Azul. The food is the best in all of Uvita. There is also a very nice selection of cocktails. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The portions are large. The staff is patient and happy to answer any questions. Tania, the owner, is outgoing and very welcoming. Your first stop won’t be your last!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alowery81 wrote a review Jan 2011
Fairlawn, Ohio14 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Bahia Azul hotel with a group of students from a university. We were doing community service in Bahia Ballena and also enjoying the site of the area. The staff at Bahia Azul were extremely accommodating to our students. We had a great rate that paid for our rooms and all our meals. The food was delicious and the staff was always ready to make changes to accommodate our needs including dietary restrictions and changing schedules. The rooms were basic but clean and the location of the hotel was great for really feeling immersed in the local community. It is within walking distance of two entrances to the beach and also has a small pool to cool off during the hot days.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leighannperdue wrote a review Mar 2022
Ray, North Dakota13 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is beyond awful. We were booked here with Gadventures. Upon entering our room, we found it had not been cleaned. Razor, mirror and toothpaste in bathroom, dirty bedding and floors. I told the front desk clerk. She looked at me skeptically. Didn't apologize or offer to do anything about it. I had to ask for the room to be cleaned or a different room. She said to get our stuff, come back and she would assign us a different room. She said she checked and the new room had been cleaned. Ugh. That room was also filthy. Dirty sheets and bedding and floors. The coffee pot had mold growing in it. Stay far away from this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
issy95_13 wrote a review Mar 2022
Helsinki, Finland39 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stained sheets, uncleaned rooms and bathrooms (when I complained our bathroom was dirty, the owner replied "Oh yes, that's the ants, they do that every day, somebody will clean your room tomorrow morning." No apology, and I had to wait for a full day for the ant debris to be cleared away. And in COVID too! Makes Super 8s look like the Ritz. Avoid it like the plague (or else you may catch it here)! Oh and in case they accuse this review of being a fake (as they have done on the previous ones, I've included a photo of the front of the "hotel".
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Things to avoid? The hotel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tania Calderon, Director General at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2022
Thank you for your comments all over the internet. I think one would be more that enough to know that you did not like my hotel. We are in the tropical and ants and bugs are all over the place. My housekeping works from 6 am to 2 pm, so that was why you have to wait until next day to clean the and dirt the the brought into your room, but we did clean that up the next morning. I let you know that we are doing rehaps all over the hotel, so you are more than welcome to come back and see it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark C wrote a review Jan 2012
Grayslake, Illinois75 contributions131 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to a transportation issue, we were unable to go to our reserved hotel in another town and needed to find a place in Uvita - this is the only one we could find at 8pm with a vacancy. When we found this place, we said 'thank goodness we dont have to sleep in the car tonight'. Well - that was until we actually tried to get situated. First off - the pool was FILTHY. It was funny that you could faintly see the hotels logo clouded at the bottom of the pool. Next - the beds. If you like sleeping on wood - then you will love this place. The mattresses were so thin, just sitting on the beds you felt like you were sitting on a wood board. We left the next morning (after 1 night) with major backaches, and a horrible nights sleep.

The pluses - the AC did work, and the wireless internet worked.

If the pool was clean and they invested in new beds with good mattresses and better linens (the transparent 30 thread count sheets didn't cut it) - I could probably give this place a 3-4 rating.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have to stay here, bring an air matress.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian W wrote a review Aug 2017
Napa Ca.23 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please do not get suckered into staying here based on internet Pics or "other" reviews. The place is hardly within walking distance to any water or business area in town- The very OLD worn out rooms were 14" X 14" square cinder-block painted blue walls with VERY DIM overhead light -.Toilets old- no drain covers in shower (Dead Man's Shower Head) - You know the ones.. 2 small wires going into the shower head which either heat a small coil for a little warm water or send you to your grave if they short out!! Restaurant food mediocre typical "Pinto Gallo" with little protein. Fortunately, it was only a travel stop-over on our way to Osa/Corcovado for 4 fabulous nights at the Iguana Lodge- I would rather have driven into the evening then wasted my $200.00 per night here- Think Mexicali border Notell/Motel- Locks on doors were the best part of the night. Came with Breakfast which was probably worth about 90 cents (Rice-Beans and one egg)- Trust me on this one- We stayed and 4 other REALLY nice locations on our two week visit- Don't do this disaster- BW
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Find another Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2017
SEÑORES TRIPADVISOR: Está opinión no corresponde a mi hotel, ni siquiera tenemos paredes de ladrillo y mucho menos paredes azules dentro de las habitaciones, mis habitaciones son muy amplias y espaciosas no 14"x14" como dice el comentario y en mis registros no tengo nadie recientemente que coincida con este señor, POR FAVOR REVISAR! Se qué hay 2 lugares más con un nombre similar en Jaco y Quepos, puede ser que el huésped se quedara en alguno de esos y no en el mío. Les agradezco revisen por qué una opinión cómo está puede traer muchos problemas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ecotravelerMA wrote a review Jul 2015
Melrose, Massachusetts7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My niece and I visited Costa Rica for the first time in June. This was our home base for a week and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Lovely family run hotel in a small town just a walk from the beach. The owners where super nice and the food was great. Great visit overall.
Christina
Melrose MA
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2015
Thank you for your visit Christina. I was a pleasure to have you and your nice in our hotel. I am so glad to know that you enjoyed our place and our food. I hope to see you back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DeMaiosVA wrote a review Jul 2015
3 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you would like to meet the real "Pura Vida" in Costa Rica this is the right place. I'm from Virginia and my wife is from Costa Rica. When we travel to visit definitely we have to go to Uvita beach (BTW my wife's favorite beach) and what better place to relax and enjoy an excellent stay than Hotel Bahía Azul. This hotel is managed by a nice and charismatic Costa Rican family which makes it more special. The location is perfect! prices are affordable, the staff is nice and the facilities are comfortable. It has a restaurant and serve local, delicious local food. They also have a nice, clean pool. We really recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 28 Jul 2015
It is a plasure to have you in our hotel everytime. Is nice to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our place, our food and our beatiful beach. I hope to see you soon,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura Chaves wrote a review Aug 2017
San Jose, Costa Rica16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the most important assets the hotel has is the restaurant, the food is amazing, they offer plenty of vegetarian options. Also they are environmentally conscious, they don't use straws and try to recycle as much as possible. I would say they should improve the showers, they don't have hot water and I think the rooms do need a mini-fridge.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Patry1, Gerente at Bahia Azul Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2017
Thank you for your comment, I am glad to know that you enjoy our food (so can you please write one comment in the restaurant side, you can find us like: Bahía Azul Restaurante?) Thank you for care About out enviromental conscious, we don't use any plástico in our hotel and also we have solar panels and we use the rain water to clean. We do have hot water, you should told me that yours was't workig to check it out.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Patry1
35 contributions
We have a Family room with four beds (2 dobles and 2 singles) So would be a pleasure to have your Family in our hotel, for more Info contacto us to our email hotelbahiaazul@yahoo
issy95_13 wrote a tip Mar 2022
Helsinki, Finland39 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Things to avoid? The hotel!"
Read full review
Brian W wrote a tip Aug 2017
Napa Ca.23 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another Hotel"
Read full review
Megan P wrote a tip Mar 2017
14 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay on the top floor as the bottom is extremely noisy"
Read full review
Peter H wrote a tip Jun 2014
Bergen, Norway247 contributions43 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a room away from the air conditioning machines which are old and very noise at night."
Read full review
Mark C wrote a tip Jan 2012
Grayslake, Illinois75 contributions131 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have to stay here, bring an air matress."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Uvita area.
PRICE RANGE
£46 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasUvita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAHIA AZUL HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Azul Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Azul Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Parque Nacional Marino Ballena (0.5 miles), Melissa Art Studio (0.5 miles), and Southern CR Picnic (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Azul Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bagel Time Bakery, Pizza Time, and Sabor Espanol.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Bahia Azul Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Uvita.
Are pets allowed at Bahia Azul Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Azul Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Is Bahia Azul Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Uvita HotelsUvita Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UvitaHotels near Bahia Azul Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire